Dunnes Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Dunnes Stores Reviews

Updated 16 de Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 345 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Frank Dunne
91 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, overall nice staff and management(in 47 reviews)

  • "flexible hours, time & half on sundays(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very long hours and early shifts 7am start in bakery(in 21 reviews)

  • "poor management no matter how you do(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Money - Desperate Work Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Assistant in Dungarvan, Waterford
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dunnes Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary, know hours well in advance, left to work on own initiative.

    Cons

    Understaffed, inexperienced, operating to huge scale which staff devoid of retail experience are no good for. Dreary atmosphere.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people with retail backgrounds and those looking to progress in the work industry,

    Dunnes Stores2019-08-15
  2. "Grim outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dunnes Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Healthy income , staff discounts , always occupied

    Cons

    Over worked , understaffed , unappreciative

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff with more respect and dignity

    Dunnes Stores2019-08-15
  3. "Deli assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli in Naas
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dunnes Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have done a culinary course and haccp training.

    Cons

    I am a great help

    Advice to Management

    Very well

    Dunnes Stores2019-08-06
  4. "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Staff 

    I worked at Dunnes Stores full-time

    Pros

    good wages, fridenly staff, nice envirment.

    Cons

    poor managment, no fixed kichen porter

    Dunnes Stores2019-08-08
  5. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Cashier in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dunnes Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good basic training customer service

    Cons

    None that comes to mind!!

    Advice to Management

    Take time to complete training

    Dunnes Stores2019-08-05
  6. "Good pay for what the job was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dunnes Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The hourly rate was quite good and went up the longer you worked. Good entitlements to holidays made it a great part time job for evenings and weekends.

    Cons

    Rigid hours with not much wiggle room for part time staff who are also in college. Very difficult to request time off

    Dunnes Stores2019-08-04
  7. "Just an average company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dunnes Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good colleagues ,no micro management

    Cons

    Not enough workforce ,work process not well organised ,quite bad communication between staff and management ,workforce don't stay for long so lot of newbies which reduces quality of customer support ,management pretty stern when it comes to workers needs ,HR boxed minds .No team building ,no appreciation of good workforce .

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what employees are suggesting when it comes to improvement of business processes ,award those more 4who work harder ,who are willing to stretch more .

    Dunnes Stores2019-08-16
  8. "Part-time floor staff for 3 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Floor Assistant in Rathfarnham
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dunnes Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours suited my study commitments - evenings and weekends

    Cons

    The work could be a bit boring but it suited what I wanted - only worked there while studying.

    Dunnes Stores2019-07-30
  9. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dunnes Stores part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, many hours

    Cons

    Bad management, too many hours for students

    Advice to Management

    More training staff

    Dunnes Stores2019-08-08
  10. "Good pay, not so nice working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deli Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dunnes Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good pay rate; - Benefits as discounts to employees; - Nice customers;

    Cons

    - It can be really stressful at times; - Some managers can be really rude; - Customers expect you to do things you were not meant to do; - It can get tiring and exhausting.

    Dunnes Stores2019-07-11
Found 345 reviews