E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated Nov 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
557 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work Life Balance with many resources available(in 95 reviews)

  • "Great people and products (extensive portfolio) with a strong consumer focus(in 60 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great training and strong leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Marketing in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Stable, long term vision of senior leadership

    Cons

    Modesto HQ can feel isolated

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-11-10
  2. "Great Place to Work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tasting Room Associate in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits for me and i

    Cons

    very corporate, not too loose

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-11-04
  3. "Professional, warm and welcoming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Warm, welcoming, professional and supportive. Encourages mobility and rotations.

    Cons

    Location, incentive compensation program and high degree of movement makes it hard to maintain expert knowledge in some areas.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-10-23
  4. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gallo has one of the best company cultures that I have ever experienced. Work/life balanced is highly encouraged and valued, teamwork is exemplified on a day-to-day basis, we are highly innovative and there is so much opportunity for growth. Great pay and benefits! It's fun!

    Cons

    Management can sometimes be far removed from the day to day - you have to be able to work well independently and drive career advancement conversations.

    Advice to Management

    Be present. Continue to listen to your employees.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-10-22
  5. "Professional People, Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salary with great pay

    Cons

    Modesto isnt the nicest location to be. However, Gallo creates a great/safe working environment.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-10-13
  6. "Gallo is Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineering 

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great family life balance, stable

    Cons

    Opportunity for advancement, slow to change

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-10-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Gallo is a fantastic place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Statistician in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture at Gallo is unmatched. It is by far the most collaborative and supportive environment I have ever worked in. The career opportunities are always there with managers ready to support you in any way. The leadership has the goal to be innovative and are ready to grow and expand quickly.

    Cons

    The city of Modesto lacks a little, but there are plenty of things to do within the Valley and it's a short drive to the bay.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-10-03
  8. "Burnout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Competitive atmosphere and nice employees

    Cons

    Too much burnout and long commute

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-10-21
  9. "Great company to build a career and a community."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Two key reasons I have built a 10+ year career with Gallo. First, the people. The Gallo family and senior leadership have done a tremendous job attracting the best and brightest in the industry. I get to work with smart, talented, thoughtful people every day. Second, the work. The company’s career philosophy allows for movement between jobs and provides the right amount of autonomy and support.

    Cons

    There is a lot to do. It can be difficult to prioritize.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your people. Stay family owned.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-10-03
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gallo really treats their employees as if they are part of an extended family and there are many opportunities for career development. The salaries and benefits are competitive and the wine perks are a nice bonus as well!

    Cons

    Can't think of any Cons

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-10-01
Found 801 reviews