E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

E. & J. Gallo Winery Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 756 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery CEO Joe Gallo
Joe Gallo
531 Ratings
Pros
  • "The discounted wine is also a great perk(in 80 reviews)

  • "Solid stance on work/life balance(in 79 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Possibilities are endless at E&J Gallo Winery!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture at Gallo is extremely warm and welcoming- it FEELS like a family owned company (because it is!) It is amazing to work alongside like minded, driven and talented individuals who constantly challenge, coach and motivate you to do your best every day. There is also incredible room for growth since Gallo promotes entirely from within. I will do big things with this company and am so excited to be apart of it all...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sales Representative role has some challenges so you must be committed, but VERY rewarding and one of my favorite positions I have held.

    Advice to Management

    Management is extremely encouraging, motivating and caring!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-20

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 21, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have no doubt that you will continue to do great things! Cheers to you!

  2. "Excellent company that cares about employees as well as success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Incredibly smart, driven, serious but fun people; welcoming and supportive culture; great salary and benefits; interesting work; exciting industry.

    Cons

    Commuting from the Bay Area is long but at least it's a reverse commute and free shuttle bus is available.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! This is a special company with a fantastic culture and I hope it always remains that way.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-19

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 19, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you so much for your amazing feedback and for all you do to make Gallo such a great place to work. Cheers to you!!

  3. "Best Decision I Made After College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The sales program was the perfect job to step into as a recent college grad with limited work experience. Through my different positions at Gallo, I know I've been given opportunities/responsibilities that my peers at other companies don't get. Gallo and the leadership really trusts us to try new things and be innovative! On a personal note, I've grown a lot thanks to these experiences.

    Cons

    The sales position is not for the faint of heart. You deal with really tough customers on a daily basis and experience rejection regularly. It is not for everyone, especially if you're looking for a job where you just show up and coast by!

    Advice to Management

    Survey your fellow managers and direct reports for feedback before making major decisions. You are not an island when you have so many capable people around you!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-19

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 19, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your thoughtful feedback ( we especially appreciate your your Advice to Management). We will definitely be sharing your review with our Sr. Leaders. Thanks for all you do!

  4. "A Family Away From Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. The Culture- a group of driven, supportive, and competitive leaders that are constantly looking for innovations and developments to be the best in the beverage industry. 2. Career Advancement Opportunity- ample opportunity to grow your career and achieve success in multiple facets of the wine and spirit industry 3. Diversity- Supportive and invested in all different types of peoples, from different walks of life...

    Show More

    Cons

    Genuinely have a hard time identifying cons

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-19

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 19, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Your review made our day! Thank you for all you do to make Gallo such a great place to work!

  5. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SYSTEMS ENG-ASSOC-MONITR_WF in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    E. & J. Gallo Winery is a family oriented company that treated their employees like family members. Safety, work life balance and employees growth are very important to this company and they go to the extra miles to make sure their employees are well taken care off.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any "Cons" with E. & J. Gallo Winery.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-19

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 19, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback . You made our day!

  6. "Well ran family owned business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Individual Contributor in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A family owned company that runs its business with a long-term focus. Gallo understands that its employees are an important component to their success and compensates accordingly. A lot of effort has been placed in improving the organizational culture and it is working; I feel like I am part of a large family. Between the culture, job security, and compensation; it is hard to convince yourself to leave for another...

    Show More

    Cons

    Gallo functions like any large corporation with rivalries, cliques, and empire building. But if I were to identify one major opportunity it is: Gallo is conservative and is indecisive with slow bureaucratic processes impeding action, until something goes wrong. When something goes wrong, anxiety rises and the answer is to try to do everything now without really fully understanding the problem we are trying to solve....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Failure is essential to learning. It should be embraced when practiced within a controlled environment. When we bet big, expect to succeed but prepare for the worse. Planning for failure is not being negative; it is essential to executing a successful project.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-20

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 20, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you so much for your articulate and thoughtful review. We will be sharing it with our Executive and HR Leadership teams. Thanks for all you do and for your 8+ years at Gallo!

  7. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible Culture that fosters creativity and hard work!

    Cons

    There is no cons with this company!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-16

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 18, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your amazing feedback! Cheers to you!

  8. "Awesome company and even better people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDM 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are benefits to working for a large publicly traded large company and there are benefits to working for a family own company. Gallo is the best of both worlds having the power to make moves of a large publicly traded company while still holding the values of a family owned business.

    Cons

    Nothing bad enough to make a con list.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-13

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 14, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks so much for the feedback, we appreciate you!

  9. "Multiple Avenues for Professional Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Ambassador in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Being the largest winery, the brands that you're able to work with are endless.

    Cons

    With this rapid growth, they're constantly looking to better their organizational structure in which you need to be flexible and go with the flow.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-12

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 14, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your insight!

  10. "Dynamic Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    In the adult beverage industry CHANGE is happening at an historic pace and Gallo is leading the charge with portfolio innovation, systems upgrades, and investing in people. Exciting time to be with an amazing, family owned company.

    Cons

    Must be a self starter capable of working independently. If you need constant direction and motivation Gallo may not be the best fit for you.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in people of all experience levels. From year 1 to, in some cases, year 40 or more people feel the investment Gallo makes in training, incentives, and job security and give back to their job an incredible level of engagement.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery2019-06-11

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    June 14, 2019Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoy working at Gallo and will pass your "Advice to Management" along to leadership. Cheers!

Found 756 reviews