E. & J. Gallo Winery Employee Reviews about "family owned"

Updated 12 Nov 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery President and CEO Ernest Gallo (no image)
Ernest Gallo
141 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent work-life balance; Great corporate culture(in 114 reviews)

  • "Family owned and the most integrity I've seen in a wine company(in 73 reviews)

Cons
  • "Modesto is a bit far from cities and its benefits(in 85 reviews)

  • "At times work life balance can be a challenge to balance against those high expectations(in 82 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "family owned"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A Great Family Owned Company that cares about its employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cares about employees, Family Owned, Great Portfolio, Great Training, Lots of Advancement Opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours, and difficult to maintain work/life balance.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    November 12, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Work-life balance is very important to us and we would appreciate the opportunity to connect with you to learn more about how we can help. If you are open to a conversation, please reach out to feedback@ejgallo.com. Thanks for all you do. It does not go unnoticed!

  2. "Best Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, Growth Opportunities, Family Owned, Good benefits. Gallo is very good about work life balance.

    Cons

    tasks coming from others than direct boss.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 27, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback and for your 5+ years at Gallo. We appreciate you!!


  3. "Awesome family owned company!"

    5.0
    Current Contractor - Temp in Modesto, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery for less than a year

    Pros

    Gallo is largest family-owned wine company in the world and having the opportunity to work here has been such a great experience so far! keep up the great work!

    Cons

    No cons at this time

  4. "Great Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Family owned and they respect and value employees.

    Cons

    Nothing really. Work hard and you will be rewarded with a great career !

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 16, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so glad you are here. Cheers!

  5. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Family owned, room for growth

    Cons

    The location of the main facility is not great, Modesto isn’t the wine country of the coast of California.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 16, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review and we certainly appreciate your "Advice to Management." We will be sharing your feedback with Sr. Leadership. Thanks for all you do!

  6. "Best Place to Work in the Central Valley"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Brand Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Constant employee learning opportunities and trainings, quick advancement, great employee benefits, strong culture, friendly and helpful coworkers. Gallo is a family-owned company that truly makes everyone feel like they are part of the family.

    Cons

    None, I'm an extremely happy employee

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 6, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks you for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to hear you are happy. Thanks for all you do!

  7. "The Best!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consumer Engagement in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, diversity, family owned and the endless opportunities.

    Cons

    A bit difficult to understand what department or job functionalities entail when looking for opportunity to grow.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 31, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    We're so happy to hear it. Thanks for sharing!

  8. "Work hard play hard!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A fun, family owned company to work for. It is always clear that even the highest level corporate managers at the company truly care for their employees. Gallo has a fun, family culture and the importance they place on the well-being of their employees never goes unnoticed. They offer stellar training programs to develop employee skills and have great opportunity for growth and career advancement.

    Cons

    Slightly less competitive pay at entry level.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 27, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all you do! Cheers!

  9. "Best Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales BDM 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I absolutely love working for the E&J Gallo Winery. Being family owned, this is a large company that has a small company feel.

    Cons

    The only downside would be having to move every few years to advance your career (in most cases)

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 26, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all you do! Cheers!

  10. "Great company culture...even in the challenging times!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Training Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Gallo is family owned and that culture transcends throughout every level of the organization. Additionally, throughout CV19 and BLM our leadership (led by family members) welcomed feedback, ideas, and embraced positive culture changes to make our company more inclusive/diverse while still focusing on results. The focus was on leading with EMPATHY, which will ultimately lead to increased sales. Also, I want to mention that Gallo takes care of their own and does what is right by employees. Last year we updated one of our systems which created a lag in product delivery. We missed some of our sales targets as a result, and the family stepped up and increased our bonuses. Overall, Gallo is a fantastic place to work and is full of competitive/driven people who bring the best out of each other. We. Are. Family.

    Cons

    At times the hours are long and travel can be challenging with family. One positive with this is that your schedule is flexible. I hope our company continues to create opportunities for people even outside of our biggest markets. We are all about family and many people would like to live closer to their own families when possible. I think our company is moving in a better direction here vs. years past.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    July 24, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for your thoughtful review. We will be sharing your feedback with our Sr. Leaders. Thanks for all of your hard work and dedication over the past 10 years. It does not go unnoticed. Cheers!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 73 English Reviews