E. & J. Gallo Winery Employee Reviews about "family owned"

Updated Oct 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 83 of over 1,441 reviews

4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery President and CEO Ernest Gallo (no image)
Ernest Gallo
275 Ratings
Pros
  • "Incredible company culture with great work life balance(in 133 reviews)

  • "Family company, great benefits, WINE(in 120 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I struggle to find many cons to working at Gallo(in 101 reviews)

  • "Location (Modesto) can be difficult for people(in 99 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "family owned"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for!

      Oct 25, 2021 - Business Development Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great family owned company to work for!

      Cons

      No cons to speak of!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

      Human Resources Leadership

      Thank you for taking the time to share your Gallo experience with us. It made our day! Cheers to you!

    2. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Great Intern program

      Sep 8, 2021 - Grower Outreach Research in Lodi, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well organized program run by a great private, family owned company. Intern program allowed for flexibility, broad learning goals and a variety of experiences.

      Cons

      Crazy summer schedule, as was expected with harvest.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Laid Off

      Sep 15, 2021 - Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family owned but corporately ran

      Cons

      Laid off employees with decades of loyalty.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

      Human Resources Leadership

      Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. Although tough to hear, I would welcome the opportunity to connect with you directly regarding your review. Please reach out via feedback@ejgallo.com and we can schedule some time that works for your schedule. I hope to hear from you soon. Best Regards, Michelle Lewis Vice President, Global Human Resources

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Gallo Winery Employee

      Aug 16, 2021 - Sales & Technology Manager in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family Owned. Quick advancement. Industry Leader.

      Cons

      Long Hours. Hard Work. Pressure to perform.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

      Human Resources Leadership

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your 10+ years with Gallo. We will be sharing your feedback with our Sr. Leaders. Cheers to you!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Jul 21, 2021 - Business Development Manager in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive , family owned, great leadership

      Cons

      In my 10 years there are none

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

      Human Resources Leadership

      Thank you for your review and for your 10+ years with Gallo. We are so thankful to have you as part of the Gallo family!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      May 17, 2021 - Sales BDM in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities, pay, family owned business

      Cons

      Sometimes unrealistic expectations for sales numbers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

      Human Resources Leadership

      Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will be sending your review to our Sales Leadership team and we appreciate all of your hard work and dedication. Cheers to you!

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great family-owned company to work for

      May 8, 2021 - On-Premise Sales Representative in Newton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family-owned winery that treats their employees like family. Union security, great benefits, focused on training and development

      Cons

      Now only recruit from college into a management development program, so there is a lack of growth opportunities for existing employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Family Owned Company

      Apr 6, 2021 - Data Analytics Manager in Modesto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Valued work Great people Family owned

      Cons

      I can not think of a con

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

      Human Resources Leadership

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you are here!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Real Appreciation

      Jan 22, 2021 - Key Account Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Always feels like a family owned company.

      Cons

      Desire to work hard and go above and beyond is high.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

      Human Resources Leadership

      Thank you for your review and we truly appreciate the 8+ years you have spent with us. Cheers!

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Company

      Jan 8, 2021 - Security Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent culture, renowned employer, family owned company, generous PTO plan, good benefits, good middle management team, dedicated employees with longevity, great town hall meeting, employee gifts around the holidays (wine cases)

      Cons

      Upper management sometimes pushed down strategies that seemed unrealistic or out of touch

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

      Human Resources Leadership

      Thanks for your feedback and for your 5+ years with Gallo. We will pass your review along to our Sr. leadership team and wish you the best of luck with wherever your career takes you.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 83 Reviews

    Popular Careers with E. & J. Gallo Winery Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at E. & J. Gallo Winery? Share Your Experiences

    E. & J. Gallo Winery logo
    or