E. & J. Gallo Winery Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 1 Dec 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
E. & J. Gallo Winery President and CEO Ernest Gallo (no image)
Ernest Gallo
141 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent work-life balance; Great corporate culture(in 114 reviews)

  • "Family owned and the most integrity I've seen in a wine company(in 73 reviews)

Cons
  • "Modesto is a bit far from cities and its benefits(in 85 reviews)

  • "At times work life balance can be a challenge to balance against those high expectations(in 82 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. Strongest training in the industry

    Cons

    Moving required for most promotions

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 2, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. Cheers to you!

  2. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Winemaking Intern (Biological Technician) in Fresno, CA

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery part-time

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, good pay

    Cons

    Six day work weeks during harvest

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    December 1, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for the feedback on your Internship and we hope you consider Gallo again in the future. Cheers!


  3. "A Great Family Owned Company that cares about its employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cares about employees, Family Owned, Great Portfolio, Great Training, Lots of Advancement Opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours, and difficult to maintain work/life balance.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    November 12, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Work-life balance is very important to us and we would appreciate the opportunity to connect with you to learn more about how we can help. If you are open to a conversation, please reach out to feedback@ejgallo.com. Thanks for all you do. It does not go unnoticed!

  4. "Amazing organization to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MDM in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, innovative and progressive values, amazing co workers

    Cons

    More $$ can be made elsewhere

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    November 11, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so lucky to have you. Keep up the great work!

  5. "Family Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate - Bioinformatics in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Excellent benefits. Work with lots of groups at different stages of winemaking process. Hands-on training opportunities as well as sponsored higher education/certification for some.

    Cons

    Work-life balance heavily skewed. Growth for non-manager paths limited.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    November 16, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Work-life balance is very important to us and we would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your concerns. If you are open to a confidential conversation, please email us at feedback@ejgallo.com. Thanks for all of your hard work and dedication. It does not go unnoticed.

  6. "Best place to work in the Central Valley"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safety Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company Culture- The people are great!

    Cons

    Operations can be demanding and work life balance can be hard to manage at times.

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    November 3, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your review and detailed feedback. We really appreciate it and will be sharing your review with our Operations Leadership team. If you are open to continuing the conversation, we highly encourage you to reach out to your HR Business Partner. Thanks for all you do!

  7. "Great People + Opportunities!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -The people are awesome -Opportunities for upward mobility -Wine & Spirits industry -Work/life balance exists -You control your career -Many roles are filled with internal talent (career development) -Leaders care about your happiness and well-being

    Cons

    -As the company continues to grow, employees are expected to do more and more to keep up

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    October 13, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so glad to hear you are happy at Gallo! We will be sharing your thoughtful review with our Sr. Leadership team. Cheers!

  8. "Best Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Candidate Experience Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, compensation, work-life balance, protecting employees safety, and flexibility

    Cons

    Deadlines, training has improved, can get over whelming,

    Continue reading

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    October 8, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback! We appreciate your passion towards providing our candidates a top-notch experience. Cheers to you!

  9. "Family owned"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time

    Pros

    Access to family members. Great educational programs. Work/life balance. Family friendly events throughout the year. One of the best places to work if you want to live in/around Modesto

    Cons

    Some levels of leadership can be self-serving, covering up for their mistakes by re-organizing their department. Some projects can be all-consuming and require long hours in order to hit certain deadlines that are built into Sr. Leadership bonus structure. Located in Modesto...

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    October 7, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Glassdoor. If you are open to a confidential conversation, I would appreciate the opportunity to better understand your feedback. Thanks for all you do and I hope to hear from you soon. Best Regards, Susan Hensley Vice President, Human Resources

  10. "Best Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at E. & J. Gallo Winery full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, Growth Opportunities, Family Owned, Good benefits. Gallo is very good about work life balance.

    Cons

    tasks coming from others than direct boss.

    E. & J. Gallo Winery Response

    August 27, 2020Human Resources Leadership

    Thanks for your feedback and for your 5+ years at Gallo. We appreciate you!!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 192 English Reviews