EF Education First "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

EF Education First Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1721 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
EF Education First CEO Dr. Edward Hult
Dr. Edward Hult
579 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment where workers are really valued(in 144 reviews)

  • "Free travel opportunities (get to go on the tours they sell for free, either once a year or every other year depending on your position)(in 83 reviews)

Cons
  • "Depending on your role, expect to work long hours during "busy season"(in 94 reviews)

  • "Low salary especially in city like shanghai(in 86 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore

      I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      good company, good work environment.

      Cons

      the only issue is the micromanagement

      EF Education First2018-04-23
    • "interview"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Coordinator in Milan
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at EF Education First full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Youth work environment, free cofee and fruits

      Cons

      rivalry in the team, they check everything you do

      EF Education First2019-06-14
    • "Lovely place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at EF Education First full-time

      Pros

      Comfortable working environment Lovely coworkers Weekly pay Pay isn’t bad

      Cons

      Long hours Have to work some weekends

      EF Education First2019-05-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Work here if you want a stable job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Friendly working environment - Nice office

      Cons

      - Low salary - No HR support, you do an exit interview with the manager of your direct manager - Lack of internal promotion, no career path whatsoever - No budget for you to join business trip, resources are reserved for management levels only - No overtime pay

      EF Education First2019-05-28
    • "Best education products"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at EF Education First full-time

      Pros

      Lots of benefits and perks for international teachers Continuous training to keep career development Professional teams for sales, service, academia and marketing Relaxing working environment

      Cons

      There could be a more fair system to treat the local teachers

      Advice to Management

      Academia team plays the key role in the company’s development, so please make sure that they are well-recognised.

      EF Education First2019-04-10

      EF Education First Response

      April 14, 2019Vice President

      Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience working at EF. We are thrilled by your enthusiasm about our products as we aim to offer the best possible learning experience for our students. We are pleased to know that you value the training programs that we put in place ...

      Show More
    • "Local Leader position"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at EF Education First part-time

      Pros

      It was a relatively free working environment where we were allowed to manage our own schedule to maximise the students' experience in Singapore. I liked how there were minimal micro-management in the work environment, and the flexibility to the schedule allowed us to better plan the activities for the students.

      Cons

      Administrative works could be a hassle, especially when it comes to the finances and itinerary to tourist attractions. Dealing with parents (only if you get groups with parents) were tough at times, so a concrete 2-way communication is important in ensuring things go smoothly without any hard feelings within the group.

      Advice to Management

      It would be better if Local Leaders can be briefed better on what's going to happen, especially for the first-timers, as it was a steep learning curve. I do understand those working in the office have rare chances to deal with the groups, so they might be at loss of what's happening, but it would be great to have an experienced Local Leader to brief newcomers.

      EF Education First2019-03-15
    • "Hourly wage, a lot of paperwork without pay, good atmosphere, fun place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - EFL Teacher 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Good atmosphere - Fun place to work - I like my bosses - Media in most rooms - Room for progress - Exciting working environment - Development workshops

      Cons

      - Low salary - Contract hours are bad - No sick leave - Feel overworked - Too much paperwork - Must do a lot of work for free i.e. correcting tests, correcting homework, writing lesson plans for every lesson - Some rooms do not have a media

      Advice to Management

      - Please pay us more, we can't afford health insurance or rent - We feel overworked and underappreciated. Please pay us for non-teaching hours. - Please give us sick pay

      EF Education First2019-03-06
    • "GOOD"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - English Teacher 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at EF Education First full-time

      Pros

      Very good working environment Clear development

      Cons

      Work life balance Management style

      EF Education First2019-02-15

      EF Education First Response

      March 5, 2019Engagement and Retention Specialist

      Thanks very much for sharing your experience. It’s always great to learn that employees enjoy the working environment and felt that they had clear development throughout their careers with us. I’m sorry to hear that there was not as high of satisfaction with creating work-life balance ...

      Show More
    • "Established Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Manager in Chelsea, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at EF Education First full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great work environment where workers are really valued. A company that always wants to innovate and grow in the educational field

      Cons

      It is not a perfect company, but I can not say that there really is a cons.

      EF Education First2019-02-14
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Student Leader 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at EF Education First part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great work environment for me to work in

      Cons

      Long hours for me to work

      EF Education First2018-12-18
    Found 1721 reviews