Eastman Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Engineer

Eastman Engineer Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Eastman Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Mark J. Costa
Mark J. Costa
89 Ratings
  1. "Eastman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Engineering Co-Op 

    I have been working at Eastman

    Pros

    Great people, great work environment, a lot of areas and opportunities

    Cons

    Poor communication at times from HR

    Eastman2019-10-19
  2. "Great place to have a Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Mechanical Engineering Co-Op in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, mentorship program, 401(k) benefits, great work schedule

    Cons

    Tough financial position due to the global economic situation, should improve in time

    Eastman2019-09-01
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Do more with less and you dont get any more."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    For this area, it's one of the only option if you're wanting to work at a large company and have flexibility to switch roles/jobs without switching company.

    Cons

    Employees are constantly asked to do more and more. Most employees felt like that's ok to be asked to be more efficient and work smarter, but there is no system in place to reward those that do outperform or perform well. Always asked to do better and soon as we don't, there are cuts and actions taken. If we do perform better and exceed expectation, no recognition other than "great job and here's next one that we need to do even better!" This is not sustainable...

    Continue reading
    Eastman2019-08-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best coworkers in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The area is beautiful. The coworkers are friendly and helpful. Teamwork is valued and rewarded.

    Cons

    The culture can be stodgy.

    Continue reading
    Eastman2019-07-29
  5. "Chemical engineer in the process safety design team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Chemical Engineer 

    I worked at Eastman full-time

    Pros

    Great work culture Flexible Timings Lots of things to learn

    Cons

    I didn't find any cons in this company.

    Eastman2019-06-22
  6. "Chemical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical Engineer in Kingsport, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of independence, guidance from senior engineers, good compensation and work life balance. It has been a very fulfilling experience so far

    Cons

    There are some issues with integrating small sites to work fully with the larger main manufacturing site

    Continue reading
    Eastman2019-06-17
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Great company, but too many changes in too short of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Improvement Engineer in Kingsport, TN
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eastman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large company with a lot of different processes. Enough work to keep someone busy for an entire career. Plenty of advancement opportunities. Comparable compensation. Collaborative work environment.

    Cons

    Shifted from commodity chemical company to specialty chemical company resulted in successive rounds of layoffs to hit specialty "growth rate". Company became more corporate like after Costa took over, less about the people that make it happen and more about just money. Only way to move out of a bad fitting job is to over perform, but you are more likely to be discouraged and underperform in that situation.

    Eastman2019-04-18
  8. Helpful (6)

    "The Culture Has Shifted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Chemical Engineer in Longview, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eastman for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay and people who aren’t management.

    Cons

    I interned at Eastman twice and then got hired on straight out of college. Eastman likes to market itself as a Specialty Chemical Company, which it’s not. During my time at Eastman, I experienced favoritism, namecalling (especially in the cracking plants), a bias towards outsiders who don’t agree with managerial styles, discrimination towards those who value family over work, and many more things I can’t say on here.

    Continue reading
    Eastman2019-05-22
  9. "Great Emphasis on Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical Engineer in Longview, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay and work-life balance. They tell you to go home if you are working too much.

    Cons

    A lot of people feel that they are underpaid, but I am not sure. Benefits are nice, but the deductibles are high on health insurance. The bonus is good, but the company bases it on its own performance. They have some measures, but a lot of it feels arbitrary.

    Continue reading
    Eastman2019-02-22
  10. "Great Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good work environment,

    Cons

    Satellite plants are sometimes underappreciated

    Eastman2019-03-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 201 reviews