Ellucian Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Ellucian Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Brian Bledsoe
9 Ratings
  1. "Very Good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist - Product Development in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will get lot of good people to work with. Good technical people are present in US and India. You will get a chance to interact with all clients across the globe.

    Cons

    Very less onsite opportunities. Don't expect it all.

    Advice to Management

    Good management, no advice for them

    Ellucian2013-07-22
  2. "One of the best places to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist - Product Development in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Develop the best product with the latest technology. Empowered workforce, anyone can contribute in making the product a great success

    Cons

    Lenient towards the non performers

    Ellucian2013-02-25
  3. "transparent and respectable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer II in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to choose your work, set yourself goals

    Cons

    Stable work, not much challenges

    Advice to Management

    Explore more, take greater risks

    Ellucian2012-10-17
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Just OK place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Leader in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Absolutely no pressure of any sought 2. Flexi working hours 3. Work from home 4. Good and warm managers (no politics at all)

    Cons

    1. The domain (unknown and never heard of domain) 2. Very sluggish work culture (juz come and go attitude with most ppl) 3. Nothing much to learn technically 4. Worst food on earth + worst office facility on earth - still a MNC

    Advice to Management

    1. Build brand image and awareness

    Ellucian2012-08-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Overall is was terrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Administrator in Lake Mary, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay Good benefits Good HR team

    Cons

    Was harassed mid meeting and he went basically unpunished. Was actually promoted recently after it. No HR rep in their Lake Mary office. Went through 3 managers while there. Interviewed for a completely different job than I ended up doing. Felt like management did not care about the employees at all.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like people and not numbers.

    Ellucian2019-06-10
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Analyst in Cholula, Puebla
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of benefits, perks and flexibility.

    Cons

    You don't usually work with the latest technologies.

    Ellucian2019-05-15
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collaborative Team! Great insight into customers needs.

    Cons

    No real room for advancement.

    Ellucian2019-05-15
  8. "Right Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Developer in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company is heading in the right direction. The CEO is the best the company has had in the last 13 years. There is significant investment in improving the software and services. The talent pool is good with a many years of experience in higher education as the company's sole focus. There is also a strong community of end users. The schedule is very flexible, at least for developers. You can work from home...

    Show More

    Cons

    Carrying around legacy software of a 30+ year old company. Supporting many different deployment configurations for on-premises clients. Higher Ed, in general, is slow to adopt new technology.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in product improvements. The SaaS offerings are the future of the company.

    Ellucian2019-05-12
  9. "Great place to work for work/life balance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Malvern, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ellucian is a great place to work because the culture is one of empowering employees to do their best and go beyond their expectations. The ability to manage the schedule of a busy family with a rewarding career is priceless. The executive team and people leaders at Ellucian understand that employees are committed to their work as well as their family. There are opportunities for everyone to grow and learn.

    Cons

    Ellucian is a good size company (just over 3000 employees). It can be easy to get lost in the shuffle.

    Ellucian2019-04-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Best employer I have worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been employed by Ellucian for 20 years in three different organizations, so I have a broad perspective. Over the years I have experienced many of the pros and cons other reviewers have mentioned. To be fair, I have worked at several other companies, large and small, and Ellucian is still the best employer I have worked for. The benefits and pay are at least comparable to, if not better than, other companies....

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the workload is heavy, but it is not constant. There is not a consistent experience across organizations. I have found that the Technology Management/Managed Services organization seems to be somewhat disconnected from the rest of the company because those employees are located at a customer site, and it is difficult to feel connected to the company when university management is front and center.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in improving the quality and features of your existing products. This will help keep customers happy with their decision to invest in us. And invest in your people – turnover costs you more than you think.

    Ellucian2019-04-17
Found 44 reviews