Ellucian Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Ellucian Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Brian Bledsoe
9 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collaborative Team! Great insight into customers needs.

    Cons

    No real room for advancement.

    Ellucian2019-05-15
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Analyst in Cholula, Puebla
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of benefits, perks and flexibility.

    Cons

    You don't usually work with the latest technologies.

    Ellucian2019-05-15
  3. "Right Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Developer in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company is heading in the right direction. The CEO is the best the company has had in the last 13 years. There is significant investment in improving the software and services. The talent pool is good with a many years of experience in higher education as the company's sole focus. There is also a strong community of end users. The schedule is very flexible, at least for developers. You can work from home...

    Show More

    Cons

    Carrying around legacy software of a 30+ year old company. Supporting many different deployment configurations for on-premises clients. Higher Ed, in general, is slow to adopt new technology.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in product improvements. The SaaS offerings are the future of the company.

    Ellucian2019-05-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work for work/life balance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Malvern, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ellucian is a great place to work because the culture is one of empowering employees to do their best and go beyond their expectations. The ability to manage the schedule of a busy family with a rewarding career is priceless. The executive team and people leaders at Ellucian understand that employees are committed to their work as well as their family. There are opportunities for everyone to grow and learn.

    Cons

    Ellucian is a good size company (just over 3000 employees). It can be easy to get lost in the shuffle.

    Ellucian2019-04-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Best employer I have worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been employed by Ellucian for 20 years in three different organizations, so I have a broad perspective. Over the years I have experienced many of the pros and cons other reviewers have mentioned. To be fair, I have worked at several other companies, large and small, and Ellucian is still the best employer I have worked for. The benefits and pay are at least comparable to, if not better than, other companies....

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the workload is heavy, but it is not constant. There is not a consistent experience across organizations. I have found that the Technology Management/Managed Services organization seems to be somewhat disconnected from the rest of the company because those employees are located at a customer site, and it is difficult to feel connected to the company when university management is front and center.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in improving the quality and features of your existing products. This will help keep customers happy with their decision to invest in us. And invest in your people – turnover costs you more than you think.

    Ellucian2019-04-17
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Ellucian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility to work from home. Good working conditions/facilities. Open to using new technologies. Products are selling very well and strong company outlook.

    Cons

    Dublin office very isolated from rest of company. Product roadmaps change frequently. Some departments are understaffed (seems to be changing slowly). Pay increases are modest and can be less than cost of living increases year on year.

    Ellucian2019-04-23
  7. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Consultant in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pace of Innovation; Solely Focused on Higher Education; Supports a health work/life balance for employees; Supports employees gaining new skillsets and exploring new positions within the company.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any cons at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    Kaizen is a Japanese business philosophy of continuous improvement of working practices, personal efficiency, etc. We can continue to lead the marketplace by keeping this concept at the forefront. Overall, I love working for Ellucian!!

    Ellucian2019-04-15
  8. Helpful (7)

    "It's just "ok"."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Functional Consultant in Reston, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's great to be able to work from home.

    Cons

    Management turnover is worse than a fast food chain.

    Ellucian2019-04-19
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Desktop Support Technician in Lake Mary, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good training and knowledge base

    Cons

    Employees are treated as their expendable

    Ellucian2019-04-12
  10. Helpful (3)

    "A challenging and rewarding position leading a team to make an impact in Higher Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director Inside Sales in Reston, VA

    I worked at Ellucian full-time

    Pros

    Growth and visible impact in the team, community, and industry

    Cons

    Cutthroat approach to leadership. Lack of recognition and share of mission and vision of the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Live your values

    Ellucian2019-04-07
Found 46 reviews