Ellucian Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 918 reviews

4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Ellucian Vice President and Country Head, India Rishi Nayar
Rishi Nayar
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-Life Balance has kept me here(in 77 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance with work from home options available(in 53 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Perhaps needing to be diligent to achieve work/life balance when working from home(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just HQ upper management doesnt know the importance of remote offices(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good Place

      Dec 22, 2020 - Cloud Transformation & Migration Manager in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a super manager

      Cons

      Upper management has a serious disconnect.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Current State

      Aug 5, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CEO is one of the best I've worked under: she truly cares about the employees, the customers, the industry.

      Cons

      Early '20 completed staffing the upper management tier with outside people. This team needs to ripen. And, in light of Covid, this will be a huge challenge. While the product works, it is very old and clunky. And, have yet to get their stories right with their multiple product lines even though the merger of the two companies happened 7 yrs ago. They are struggling to get into the Cloud; too many internal executive politics significantly slowing progress.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Tech India

      Join the conversation on

      Tech India

      5.9K Members 

      Ask candid career questions

      -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/tech-india/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.in&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-integrated-Reviews&utm_term=Ellucian~529143
      Join the conversation on
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Good place to work for

      Nov 2, 2019 - Senior Consultant in Malvern, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of learning opportunities about working in the Higher Ed industry

      Cons

      Too many managers, upper management not stable, meaning lots of change in short periods

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Place to Start a Career...

      Apr 8, 2018 - Principal Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ability to work remotely, competitive base salaries, good and fairly priced benefits, excellent lower level managers. Great place to start a career, gain experience for 3-5 years, then move on.

      Cons

      RIFs are a normal part of the company's financial strategy and creates an atmosphere of constant insecurity across all levels. Company tries to force the desired culture rather than creating an environment where it develops naturally. Constant changes in upper management lead to frequent changes in direction that make it very difficult to have a cohesive long-term strategy (Laura Ipsen is the 3rd CEO since the formation of Ellucian in 2012). Company constantly under-staffs project to overcome pricing objections in the sales cycle, then expect consultants assigned to the project to work long hours to make up for the shortfall in staffing. Decades old ERP technology that does not adapt easily to today's market requirements. Span of control for lower level managers is much too large for them to effectively manage their staff.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      CHASE Consultant

      Oct 13, 2017 - Associate Consultant in Maitland, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with. Opportunities to travel. Great benefits and perks.

      Cons

      Lots of changes in upper management resulting in some turnover.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Solid Goals, No Focus

      May 31, 2017 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility to work remotely and great professional development opportunities. Wonderful clients.

      Cons

      Upper management needs to rein in lower mgmt expectations; salaried consultants pushed beyond capacity; work/life balance non-existent.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Not a stable company

      Mar 22, 2017 - Sales in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits start from day one. 3 weeks vacation.

      Cons

      Too many really great people have left, many more are leaving. Turnover among senior leadership is appalling. Poor mid-level and upper management, poor sales management. Health benefits getting worse each year.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Ellucian never learns

      Feb 26, 2016 - Principal Architect in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Have some good products and great potential Pay was decent, not great Decent benefits

      Cons

      Lots of cons, unfortunately. I spent 10 years working for Ellucian and when I left I never received an exit interview. My manager never called to thank me for my years of service, in fact no one called me on my last day. No one explained the exiting process so I had to dig it out of HR. Management could care less when quality people leave. Very short sighted. It takes years to train technical people and Ellucian just lets them walk out the door. Policies and procedures are more important than people. I left for this reason. I also left for better pay (I received a 15% pay increase by leaving), better work environment, and a better company. Direct line managers are so swamped with other things that they never contact you but during evals they suddenly know everything about you. Upper management speaks the speak but doesn't walk the walk. They say we were doing great but our division was failing and no one would intervene. Sad experience but it paid the bills.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The Expendables

      Sep 3, 2015 - Director of Continuing Education & Workforce Development in Sterling, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A market leader with a large and fairly loyal customer base. The environment was positive and the people were great to work with. Many have been there 15-20 years. The pay was commensurate with market values.

      Cons

      Poor sales forecasting due to continual missed product development deadlines. Very little accountability when it comes to new product delivery. Rifts and reorganizations were needed to cover the failures of upper management.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    11. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      No work life balance

      Sep 12, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people, there are many very smart people working there. The pay is adequate.

      Cons

      Upper Management failures are pushed down to the employees and we are expected to work tons of extra hours to cover them and if we don't do it we are not being team players. Management and Upper Management get bonuses but normal employees have this weird points reward program that you can get stuff with (not money) and the rewards are just awful. Employees are not valued, there is a lot of discontent among the employees.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ellucian Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ellucian? Share Your Experiences

    or