Ellucian "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Ellucian Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Brian Bledsoe
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Worked at Ellucian for 13 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hybrid Data Developer/Data Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance if you are a remote employee, if you can find the right department and manager it's not a bad place to work

    Cons

    No strategy to speak of, outdated technology, most managers are incompetent, no coherent strategy when it comes to data

    Advice to Management

    None: A leopard can't change their spots

    Ellucian2016-09-05
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Architect in Malvern, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the folks I work with, they are passionate and truly dig what they do and it shows. I have a nice work-life balance and the overall compensation package is good with a very solid base pay. Make sure you come in where you want to be from a salary standpoint because the supporting benefits are just average. I feel challenged which is huge for me and working with such sharp folks (I can only speak for my team) is...

    Show More

    Cons

    Despite the many pros, there are entire divisions that are bottlenecked by old-guard who have simply lost their fire, become antiquated, and only care about keeping their job because no successful company would bring them on at the level they are at now. Unfortunately this is the case nearly all of the way up to the top so I fear some are here to stay for awhile.

    Advice to Management

    Stay out of the weeds and have faith in your team(s). If you aren't genuinely passionate about your job, do all of us a favor and find a position either internally or elsewhere that re-kindles your fire. The landscape is far too competitive and we have way too many talented lower level folks for you to get away with being average, we need you to be rock-stars so everyone can perform at their full potential.

    Ellucian2016-07-15
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Sweat shop environment in Managed Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maitland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Co-workers are great people. Opportunity to work from home.

    Cons

    No investment in people. Training never happens. In-person meetings for remote staff is non-existent. Salaries don't keep pace. Work-life balance is not good. Managed Services staff average 50+ hours per week and 70 is not unheard of. Senior management is either unaware or doesn't care. Not properly staffed because of pinching pennies.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your people. Get engaged.

    Ellucian2016-07-18
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Worst Company to Work With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Test Engineer in Kung-mal, Kyonggi

    I have been working at Ellucian

    Pros

    Good Pay, good work life Balance.

    Cons

    Micro Managment,No Ethics,Technically Growth is zero. Employees are working from 8 years in the company and the team is lead by those members. Dull environment. You dont feel like working,No freshers at all.More like a old age Home.

    Advice to Management

    Worst company, try to bring in some engaging activities,make the environment more fun to work in.

    Ellucian2016-03-24
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Still not stable!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Malvern, PA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Flexible work hours and reasonable benefits. Great place to grow.

    Cons

    Management wouldn't even care what we did and what we worked on..don't even try to find the value of your role. They simply let us go.

    Advice to Management

    Employees don't feel valued, especially when you let them go without a single review. Company values suffer when you cut staff and expect no change in productivity.

    Ellucian2016-02-17
  6. "Supportive Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Smyrna, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian for less than a year

    Pros

    Ellucian has supportive upper management that seem to genuinely care for the employees and employees' career advancement. Working at Ellucian also provides nice work/life balance- at least for me.

    Cons

    HR is not readily accessible. I needed to check with HR on some issues but HR was not very responsive. It took multiple emails and an email from my supervisor to get them to respond.

    Advice to Management

    Make HR more accessible.

    Ellucian2015-12-26
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Not a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant - Remote in Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ellucian

    Pros

    It was a paycheck, but in the end I found a better paying position with better work-life balance elsewhere.

    Cons

    So I don't really have bad things to say about any of my other past employers but my experience at Ellucian was exceptionally bad. By the end I couldn't wait to get out, and I am so glad I left. The culture at this corporation is especially poisonous and it really takes a toll over time. I worked with some good people in the past, but sadly the attrition among those folks was highest.

    Advice to Management

    I don't think management at this company cares what advice I would offer. It's a shame for the clients; it should be about knowing them and their needs. That's why I left.

    Ellucian2015-10-13
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Loveland, CO

    I worked at Ellucian for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance was achieved by being able to work remotely, salary was comparable to the work that was being done.

    Cons

    Very limited access to upper management, no formal training, restructuring within the company with a new CEO

    Ellucian2015-07-24
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Malvern, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance Culture/Co-workers Management wants you to succeed Room for growth if you are willing to stick around long enough

    Cons

    Compensation/Raises Raises are not assigned fairly. Bonus/increase pool allocated amongst the team, nothing more

    Advice to Management

    Start compensating your team better to retain quality talent and people who sincerely want to be there. Stop pricing talent out

    Ellucian2015-06-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Improve morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Fairfax, VA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ellucian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility, great collaboration with coworkers, ability to telework, good camaraderie with coworkers,

    Cons

    No clear career development, don't promote training or certification, no clear rewards program, bad work/life balance, constant org change/realignments

    Advice to Management

    Disseminate and review goals to employees regularly, increase morale by saying thank you for a job well done, spread out work load among team

    Ellucian2015-04-30
Found 46 reviews