Encompass Health RN Staff Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for RN Staff Nurse

Encompass Health RN Staff Nurse Reviews

Updated 5 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
44%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Encompass Health President and CEO Mark Tarr
Mark Tarr
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Once upon a time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - STaff Registered Nurse 

    I worked at Encompass Health full-time

    Pros

    Good hourly pay plus lots of overtime

    Cons

    Large pt load and sometimes understaffed

    Encompass Health2020-03-06
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Help me, Jesus!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN, Staff Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Encompass Health part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers. Local management tries to do the right thing, I think. New and clean facility. They will try to work around your personal schedule.

    Cons

    Confusion, disorganization, overwork. The staff/patient ratios are excessive given the acuity level of our patients. Some of our patients were in an ICU only 2-3 days before! As a very good rule I'll have 8 pts on my team (though sometimes 10) when 6 would be busy. It's not like your average rehab hospital either - it's more like an LTAC or a med/surg floor - or maybe a confused hurricane - only with 8 patients. The patients see less of their nurses and techs as a result and aren't happy with the wait. Whoever designed our facility hadn't a clue as to how build a proper hospital. The halls are REAL long. In an average shift we walk about 12 miles... pushing a 200 lb computer on wheels. But there are plenty of shifts where we break 14 miles. After 12-13+ hours of that you're left wondering if you made a very bad career choice. I could go on a bit longer but let me just say the pay isn't all that great. Benefits are OK but they're scaling back on them too. Accounting for inflation I'm not making that much more than I did as a new grad in 1994!

    Continue reading
    Encompass Health2019-07-02

    Encompass Health Response

    July 9, 2019Recruitment Strategy Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and encourage you to send additional details to feedback@encompasshealth.com so we can work to make improvements.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stephanie Bridges - CEO Valued Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Encompass Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stephanie Bridges was truly a valued commodity that was thought provoking, inspiring, and led by example which made a positive impact on the culture of this facility. She was one of the best leaders we have seen & been mentored by in the past few years.

    Cons

    Frequent changes in leadership.

    Continue reading
    Encompass Health2019-06-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "TOP NOTCH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Edgewood, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Encompass Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for! They truly value their employees!

    Cons

    As a RN , I dislike the ACE IT program for documentation. Not easy to follow or navigate. Makes communication between staff difficult.

    Continue reading
    Encompass Health2019-02-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "All about the money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Evansville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Encompass Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people I work WITH are great

    Cons

    CEO is only worried about numbers, puts staff and patients at risk nurse to patient ratios, ALWAYS understaffed. Does not keep up with current pay in the area, does not always hire reliable staff. DON micromanages, and not well. Inappropriate patients, and whenever staff are injured the answer is always, well what were YOU doing wrong.

    Continue reading
    Encompass Health2018-11-24

    Encompass Health Response

    December 4, 2018Recruitment Strategy Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to review our hospital in Evansville, IN. We encourage you to send additional details about your experience to feedback@encompasshealth.com so we can work on making improvements.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Encompass Health full-time

    Pros

    Sometimes there is teamwork, but not really.

    Cons

    The schedule is that you have to work the same three days every week all year long. Sound not that bad? Well if your days fall on a holiday or a personal day you need off GOOD LUCK getting coverage you are basically SOL, and that's how upper management handles it anyway. Also some nurses just got lucky basically never having to work a weekend ever!! Then others have to work every single weekend!! Even the PRNs are forced to sign a contract stating they will work 2 major holidays and 4 minor ones. I have never worked in a hospital where they don't rotate weekends and holidays. Get yourself together admin!! Also they will over staff nurses to prophylactically cover for call ins thus creating A LOT of cancelations - especially after you forced yourself to sleep all day to have rest for a night shift then you are canceled!! Such terrible turn over!!!

    Continue reading
    Encompass Health2018-10-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "from a nurses standpoint"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Johnson City, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Encompass Health full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and insurance. Smaller hospitals with highly trained nurses and therapists.

    Cons

    Nurse/patient ratios are unsafe. Frequently work without lunches. Administration stays behind closed doors.

    Continue reading
    Encompass Health2016-11-18
  8. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RN Staff Nurse in Texarkana, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Encompass Health for more than a year

    Pros

    This was a great experience, I learned a lot.

    Cons

    I do not have a lot of cons to write about.

    Encompass Health2016-08-28
  9. "Horrible management and patient ratio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - RN Staff Nurse in Ocala, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Encompass Health for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, clean environment, great therapy department. Many success stories of patients recovery.

    Cons

    Racial bias, terrible management at Ocala Healthsouth, very high unsafe patient ratio, no consistency, very high acuity patient not suitable for rehab...tremendous pressure and burn out on the nurses, horrible charting system

    Continue reading
    Encompass Health2016-06-20
  10. Helpful (3)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Encompass Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -12 hour shift means 4 days off per week. -Less acuity than medical- surgical nursing. (Though plenty of patients go critical requiring emergent care.)

    Cons

    -12 hours shifts can be brutal. -Workload is unmanageable and at times unsafe. -No time for bathroom or 15 min breaks. -Expect to stand for most of 12 hour shift. -Frequent policy / procedural changes that are neither well communicated nor clear. -CNA staff has some good members but many unqualified. -CNA staff doesn't acknowledge that they work under RN's license. -Though they try, culture is not a team environment. -Frequent procedural changes that are impractical, time consuming, not thought out, and implemented with no RN input.

    Continue reading
    Encompass Health2016-05-09
Found 17 reviews