Encore Capital Group Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 4 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Encore Capital Group CEO and President Ashish Masih
Ashish Masih
151 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of learning,healthy environment work life balance(in 52 reviews)

  • "Nice work environment and fellow employees(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Strategic Direction is short sighted and really focused on giving senior management the largest bonuses even at cost to employees mental health(in 12 reviews)

  • "The upper management are pompous arrogant fools that could care less about any of their employees(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company

      24 Oct 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company everything is good management ... team leaders .... learning oprtunities are also good ....

      Cons

      Upper management is not good

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Toxic Atmosphere run by greed

      4 Jan 2021 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The minions are all really wonderful to work with

      Cons

      The upper management are pompous arrogant fools that could care less about any of their employees

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Encore Capital Group Response

      Recruitment Marketing Specialist

      Hello, Thank you for our feedback. At Encore/MCM, we put a strong emphasis on being inclusive and valuing everyone’s ideas and wellbeing. In 2020 we ramped up our internal communications as well as resources available to employees to ensure everyone was connected, in the loop and had a space to give their feedback during the year of unprecedented change. We made sure to keep our employee’s best interests in mind by avoiding any layoffs and increasing Employee Assistance Programs and mental health resources. As a result, our 2020 Employee Engagement Survey showed positive improvements on our inclusive culture, and our scores also increased from the previous year. We take all employee feedback very seriously, and we hope that you have shared yours via our Open-Door policy, Employee Engagement Survey, or with your local HR Business Partner. By doing so, we can work together towards a more positive experience for you and for others at Encore/MCM.

    3. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Extremely high turnover, uncaring management

      19 Dec 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. They like to tell you how exciting they are when you interview but reality quickly sets in. Only a few people at the top reaping all the rewards.

      Cons

      Everything. The HR department only exists for legal reasons but it’s a complete front. They don’t actually have a functional HR department but it’s not the HR people’s fault. It’s made of 1-2 people and they are instructed from upper management not to actually get too involved or help employees. They also use your name to promote legislation in the country and they just about force you to sign it. Real scumbags.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Encore Capital Group Response

      Recruitment Marketing Specialist

      Hello,Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear this has been your experience. At MCM we have an open-door policy and encourage employees to give feedback through a variety of channels. We take all employee feedback very seriously, and we work to ensure everyone feels they have a happy and healthy work environment where they are treated with respect. We strongly encourage you to reach out to your local HR Business Partner, a Corporate HR Leader, or the Business Leader at your site to further express your concerns and frustrations so we can work together to improve your experience. We are all here to help and can confidently say that we work diligently to address all issues brought forth by our employees.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Only apply here if your desperate!!!

      3 Jan 2020 - Account Manager in Troy, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Co workers one of the reasons I stayed as long as I did

      Cons

      High turnover rate No diversity in management Upper Management does not treat employees well No room for growth The employees make the Company a lot of money but it does not show in the employees pay checks There is a lot of favoritism especially with males in the company The health insurance is horrible

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Encore Capital Group Response

      Recruitment Marketing Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback. We know that having strong leaders who are trusted and respected by their employees can make a significant difference in someone’s career. This is why we recently launched a comprehensive Manager Development program. Since the program’s launch last year, our internal survey scores are showing a significant increase in trust and respect between managers and employees. We will continue to implement programs and practices with our employees’ well-being in mind.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible Company

      16 Mar 2020 - Legal Specialist in Saint Cloud, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not much, good people work there.

      Cons

      Very underhanded, shady, upper management turns a blind eye to many of the issues, and then when you want to help solve the issues you aren't heard.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Undervalues employees

      14 Nov 2019 - Project Manager III in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had some really solid co-workers that helped me grow my career

      Cons

      Upper Management is tone deaf and disconnected. Employees, particularly women are underpaid, especially when compared to male counterparts in comparable positions.

      5 people found this review helpful

      Encore Capital Group Response

      Recruitment Marketing Specialist

      Hello,Thank you for your feedback. As an organization we strive to create a fair and equal opportunity for everyone, including compensation. Our Compensation team works diligently to maintain a pay structure that is competitive with the markets we operate in and partners with hiring managers to ensure that employment offers appropriately consider a candidate%E2%80%99s relevant experience, education and qualifications.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Do Not Work Here

      20 Mar 2019 - Legal Specialist in Saint Cloud, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company provided me with skills to transition to a new position outside of MCM. Flexibility used to be a plus but applying elsewhere has shown that most other companies have great flexibility too.

      Cons

      Someone once called the St Cloud site the "trailer park" of Encore; somehow it's worse now. This site recently went through a remodel and now the site looks like it's ready for lining up milk cattle into their designated shoots for milking. With this "remodel", the goal was to have the team more productive but it did just the opposite. Before the walls were higher and the only person you spoke to was your cube-mate. But now, you see AND hear everything coming from the rows of people. You are able to hear all the apple and carrot crunching, along with every conversation. You are able to hear your manager take personal calls from a distraught significant other at home and you can hear the snoring of the person sitting to the left of you. The LS management team (there are 7, including upper management) needs to learn to COMMUNICATE and GET ALONG with each other. They also need to stop playing favorites to certain legal specialists. Favoritism is so high and it's spread to the upper management at this site it's unbearable! Of the many problems this site has, is that among the 5 managers of the Legal Specialist team, they all "manage" differently. So much so that when one manager is out of the office and a legal specialist on their team needs something and they ask another manager, it's not approved because that other manager doesn't allow it. The management team needs to stop allowing Legal Specialists to sleep at their desks while working affidavits and/or doing other assigned SME tasks and fall asleep during on-boarding training. They have this "rule" of no cell phones at any desk but you can walk by almost any manager's desk and they have their cell phones out and/or are engaging on them; if the Legal Specialist team is unaware that the rules don't apply the same for management, that's fine but it would be nice if the management team was upfront about that, another lack of communication. And also stop a certain Legal Specialist (one that I witnessed myself) from Face-timing at her desk - on more than one occasion. In the last 6-8 months, I've had one-on-ones with a member of upper management; the response is "I didn't know that" or "I've never heard that" - so I'm afraid I don't know which to be more scared of, that she really doesn't know or she doesn't care to know. Some things the upper management at the St. Cloud needs to work on are as follows. Again, stop playing favorites. Stop under-utilizing the manager that has worked as a Legal Specialist and worked their way up. This person's knowledge base is something the 4 other managers don't have because they never validated an affidavit. STOP over-utilizing the manager that fights with everyone and who has zero management skills or experience. If this manager doesn't get her way, she cries to her friend on upper management. When it's in regards to a task that a legal specialist questioned and didn't agree the answer given by this manager, and goes on to get second opinion from the on-site attorney or another person from Legal, that legal specialist then gets bullied because the manager whose feelings were hurt, "tattles". At the end of the day, the legal specialist signs these affidavits, NOT the manager whose answer is "it's fine" to process with no additional information. That is NOT okay because if that legal specialist is deposed, you can't answer "my manager said it's fine". Another manager was added to the team mid-2018, the legal specialist team received two "selling" emails about her. The first 2-3 months this new manager did almost nothing. She wandered the "halls" and colored for the Compliance Fair. She did not manage anything. She was hired as a senior manager but all she manages to do is be a glorified hall monitor. She's also the an upper manager's very good friend outside of the company; some speculate that is how she got the job in the first place. When management says, "if not happy here, leave. There will be someone to fill your shoes", That was the cue that this company was failing, fast.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      Encore Capital Group Response

      Encore Capital Group

      Hello, We thank you for taking time to provide this insight to us. We value all employee feedback and are committed to creating a culture where everyone is treated with integrity, respect and fairness. Our most recent employee feedback results show that 88.9% of our STC employees responded positively when asked about their co-workers/team and 83% responded in a positive manner when asked about their manager and leadership. However, there is always room for improvement and we will be addressing the specific issues cited. Thank you again for the feedback, as it helps us make Encore/MCM a better place.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Encore is an amazing place to work.

      24 Mar 2016 - Senior Data Analyst in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance, fun coworkers and smart people. You'll work your butt off when needed, but you'll also have ample time for yourself when things are slower.

      Cons

      Limited transparency into other departments. Sometimes there is poor communication between upper management and individual contributors. They also did away with large awards at year end and switched to a silly app that gives you "points" for doing q good job. I'm not fond of this change.

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Looks Good But Be Careful

      27 Aug 2010 -  in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Encore wants to attract quality employees, and wants to change the bad reputation of their debt collection industry. They try to have decent employee events.

      Cons

      Most of the management team is young and some lack discipline and finesse. Seems to be a high turnover in management too. HR can seem helpful at first but they've turned their back on employees in an instant to please upper management.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Staff Attorney

      14 Jul 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits. Good PTO. Great volunteer opportunities. Alot of people are really nice to work with. They actively try to reward offices with small parties for good work.

      Cons

      Many contract/temporary workers who do not care about what they are doing. Upper management only cares about the money coming in. Wants quality work over quantity.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Encore Capital Group Job Seekers

    Associate(PCT)
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Encore Capital Group? Share Your Experiences

    Encore Capital Group logo
    or