Epitec Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Epitec Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Epitec CEO Jerry Sheppard
Jerry Sheppard
174 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food every once in a while(in 32 reviews)

  • "Great company that contracts to other great companies(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "Constant worry of being let go for no reason as many have been without notice and they won’t tell you why(in 22 reviews)

  • "Sub-par commission, very HIGH turnover rate, low starting pay, people are often terminated for "no fault"(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great position with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Drafter in Rapid City, SD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Epitec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great company that contracts to other great companies

    Cons

    - Uncertainty when contract ends

    Epitec2019-09-06
  2. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter 

    I have been working at Epitec full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture and solid incentives

    Cons

    None that I can think of currently

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Epitec2019-09-03
  3. "I have been working at Epitec for more than a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epitec full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers, lots of opportunities to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Medical benefits could be expanded.

    Epitec2019-08-19
  4. "Epitec at Blue Cross Infastructure Lead Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Infrastructure Project Manager 

    I have been working at Epitec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of work; multiple projects to manage simultaneously at the client site. The company has decent benefits.

    Cons

    Very political between the departments at teh client site. As a contract worker, you are just a contract worker until the contract runs out.

    Epitec2019-08-08
  5. Helpful (4)

    "An unstable stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Epitec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have the opportunity, as a recruiter and account manager, to travel, receive decent bonuses and incentives. Opportunity to work remote and flexible schedule. Great stepping stone if HR is in your sights. Luckily, after I was terminated from Epitec, I was picked up by a major employer due in large part to my success at Epitec, for that, I do I thank Epitec. Epitec was a rewarding place to work at if/when you... perform well. You can expect some long days but not often. Reimbursements were much appreciated. I would work here again as a fresh graduate but I would not work here after gaining full-time employment elsewhere. They sponsor various outings and non-profits.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sub-par commission, very HIGH turnover rate, low starting pay, people are often terminated for "no fault". Many reviews from current employees have been sparked by middle management requests. Unfortunately, alcohol is strongly encouraged, although not mandatory, in this environment despite prior mishaps and other obvious downfalls including health of your employees. Costly insurance prices, only 2 weeks of vacation... time and 2 sick days. The culture is a party environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Executive leadership was surprisingly personal and I wish I had nothing poor to say regarding the company because of them. However some account managers and associate account managers need significant training on employee retention, reinforcing a stable environment after a termination, and how to assist recruiters in recovering from difficult experiences (contractors terminated-loss of commission and difficult... openings to fill). The training personnel are truly useless, I along with my co-workers discovered how to best utilize the ATS system on our own. Consider long term value of an employee and quit firing people too early in the process of becoming a professional - after all most of your employees are entry-level (fresh grads) and learning - you have lost amazing recruiters because of this or fear of this. Even top performing individuals are afraid of being let-go and solid reassurance could go a long ways. Alcohol is not necessary, especially in the office. Compensate or show more appreciation for those who volunteer at non-profits - set aside time from the work day to volunteer. Volun-told will create resentment towards Epitec and the charity/non-profit. Trash your non-compete clause or become transparent in the interview process of the ramifications. Encourage growth and development even if it isn't within your company, your employees will appreciate it and be more open with you.

    Show More
    Epitec2019-07-29
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Seriously, NEVER ever ever work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Recruiter in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Epitec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food occasionally, if you get a good associate account manager you’ll be happier, you get a good understanding of recruiting and networking opportunities.

    Cons

    Wishing I could do a negative star rating. Everyday you’ll be worried that you’ll be fired, account managers that could care less about your success and only money. Instead of good criticism / teaching moments you’ll be told what you did wrong and they’ll leave it at that. Horrible not realistic pay, they expect so much out of you yet pay you almost worst than a fast food restaurant, they’ll tell you you’ll make xx...,xxx but that’s after you hire 10+ people and if you hit every single goal. The COO, CFO, etc. Only come in to talk about the companies goals - will never learn your name. Very cliquey work place and gossipy. Seriously if you get a job here - start looking for another one immediately.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Support and make your recruiters feel like they actually matter, if someone needs help don’t make them feel stupid, invest in your current employees instead of hiring a new class of recruiters every month. HUGE turnover, I started with about 7 people a couple months ago and now there’s only one person left.

    Epitec2019-07-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good staffing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Epitec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Provide interview helps; have many resources

    Cons

    little benefit, comparatively low pay

    Epitec2019-06-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "java developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Java Developer 

    I have been working at Epitec full-time

    Pros

    better betteron the placing

    Cons

    low pay . no benefits worst culture

    Epitec2019-06-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "An interesting place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Epitec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My coworkers are all awesome as well as most of the account managers. Very little oversight on your work, you wake up and get it done and no one is really hounding you for anything. Metrics all make sense and are easily achievable. The base pay is great but the commission structure is lacking. Innovative on their processes and how they approach recruiting. A lot of really cool tools are being developed which... i think will make a HUGE impact in the modern age of recruiting. Being remote means you are removed from all the office politics which has been amazing and honestly a huge stress relief. The account manager to recruiter ratio is perfect and always feels like you have access to support when needed. Super relaxed position, you will be talking to a lot of really awesome candidates.

    Show More

    Cons

    Training is subpar to say the least. I can see that they were trying to go for the 'sink or swim' approach. But it missed the mark and just comes off as not prepared. A lot of material is 'We will cover this later' and it never gets covered. Most everything is learned once you are fully deployed which is not entirely unexpected but made for some awkward moments when you have to say "I never learned how to do that".... Co workers you had just talked to yesterday morning will suddenly vanish from the scoreboard never to return, which creates a sense of anxiety. Lack of communication on performance or issues. Semi clunky process and system but they are always changing and improving it. Working with hiring managers can be very frustrating sometimes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to innovate, recruiting HAS to change to match technology. A phone call is now not the best way to find candidates. Create better email campaigns, finish up the texting application, and put a higher emphasis on quality candidates.

    Epitec2019-05-31
  10. Helpful (8)

    "RUN FAR, FAR, FAR AWAY!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Epitec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food every once in a while

    Cons

    Don’t even know where to begin.. All 5 star reviews are employees being forced to write by management. Noticeable trend those all came at the same time in November. There is a specific way of doing things and if you don’t do them, no matter how successful you are, you’ll still be given no reason for termination. Company culture is terrible and honestly don’t know how management sleeps at night. Slogan is... “Placing people first” but that definitely doesn’t mean their employees. Constant worry of being let go for no reason as many have been without notice and they won’t tell you why. Insurance is a joke and incredibly expensive. Just overall stay away. If you have to take their offer start looking right away to get out before they let you go because they eventually will. All management, including account management, is fake. Trust no one. Will terminate you to not pay bonuses that are owed. No room for advancement. Upper management thinks they’re President and nothing can touch them. Never once saw the CEO or VP. Commission is terrible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees and understand that people work at different paces. Not everyone does the same thing the exact same way. As long as they’re successful and hitting numbers then it shouldn’t be an issue.

    Epitec2019-06-06
Found 241 reviews