Estes Express Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Estes Express Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Estes Express CEO Rob Estes Jr.
Rob Estes Jr.
196 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company starts out with good pay(in 63 reviews)

  • "Great pay, home time, and benefits(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Terrible local/upper management(in 18 reviews)

  • "Freight can fluctuate over the course of a year for Extra board drivers(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Review contracts and freight dimensions to ensure accurate billing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weights and Research in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Estes Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, self-motivated work flow, great conditions

    Cons

    slight learning curve when starting out

    Advice to Management

    continue to push for updates of technology

    Estes Express2019-11-22
  2. "Worthwhile for career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Manager 

    I have been working at Estes Express full-time

    Pros

    Exciting, good pay, good benefits

    Cons

    Not much room to move up

    Estes Express2019-11-05
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operation Manager 

    I have been working at Estes Express full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, good support staff

    Cons

    Nothing too crazy for complaints.

    Estes Express2019-11-04
  4. "Estes review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA

    I have been working at Estes Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management is good depending on who your supervisor is. Good work life balance. Flexibility. No micromanagement

    Cons

    Low pay. Not much official training.

    Estes Express2019-10-28
  5. "Beware of insurance fraud and forgery against its own employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Personnel in West Middlesex, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Estes Express full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay was good, blue collar people were admirable.

    Cons

    Management is deceptive to everyone as to garner a paycheck including goverment agencies and the courts. Will supply the evidence of insurance fraud, willfull negligence and proof this employer will steal employees medical information as to garner a precieved legal advantage. Also can show in court documents and testimony of forged documents entered, purgery, hearing officer acknowlaged a deception on record, their... witnesses recieving profesional misconducts, forging documents then submitting them to court as evidence. Goes on any one person would serve prison time for this conduct. This company refuses to negotiate, its their way or they will bankrupt their own people as to not honor a contract. Have the documents will supply as needed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find a bit of humility and honor simple agreements or contracts.

    Estes Express2019-12-03
  6. "Great company - Poor middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Reporting in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Estes Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great family owned business. Highest regards to the Estes family. Good Christian beliefs that are openly displayed. Excellent pay, great coworkers, relaxed atmosphere.

    Cons

    Some managers shouldn't be in management. Seen a lot in past employment venues but never experienced anything as bad as here. Manager was rude and unprofessional. Constantly talking down about other business coworkers behind their backs. Didn't promote interaction with business personnel unless it went through them. Breaking point was when they mimicked a mentally challenged person through voice and hand... gestures (pretend sign language) and asked me if they needed to slow the question down so I could understand them in a loud and open area. Sorry for the rant. Only con was my manager.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect the team and treat them as professionals. If you find people in management roles that are unfit, either train them to be fit or move them back to a non management position that they may have once been good in.

    Estes Express2019-10-24
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager, Finance and Accounting 

    I worked at Estes Express full-time

    Pros

    A good experience builder and good place to work.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for advancement.

    Estes Express2019-10-08
  8. "Could be worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Dockworker in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Estes Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company, frequent raises. Driver training program for dockworkers.

    Cons

    Bad local management makes any job terrible.

    Estes Express2019-10-18
  9. "The best company I have worked for on 26 years as a CDL driver."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Haul Team Driver in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Estes Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work atmosphere, pay, benefits, stability. Layover drivers sleep in hotels paid for by the company. A busy Extra board driver can make between $70-$100k per year. Team pay at top of scale is $0.74 per mile split. Most team drivers earn over $100k each. City P&D is $55-$75k. Cigna health network. $65 per week for a family. Single driver insurance is covered by the company. Top pay hourly is nearly $29 per... hour for city. $0.675 for scheduled line haul, $0.695 for Extra Board. Generous 401k matching contributions.

    Show More

    Cons

    Equipment availability for city drivers and solo line haul drivers with low seniority. You new guys will not get the best trucks or routes. Estes has been in business for over 85 years. You don't rise up in seniority for the better schedule runs for years. Freight can fluctuate over the course of a year for Extra board drivers. You have to be willing to slug through the grind. Very low turnover at higher... Seniority slots. It is worth dealing with. My team run is 6600 miles a week. I will gross over $120k Eventually I will take a lower mile schedule run after I pay off our house. I have built up enough seniority over 10 years. Newer drivers can get into a team slot easier.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep upgrading the fleet, sell, sell. Sell profitable service.

    Estes Express2019-10-01
  10. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Diesel Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Estes Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, started out at a higher rate than previous shops I have worked at. The healthcare was decent for what it was.

    Cons

    Management doesn’t care about the employees. Safety is not considered at all. No opportunity for upward movement. Hours sucked. You get told what shift you’ll be working and then it changes without any updates.

    Advice to Management

    Become a safety conscious environment. There will very quickly be a serious injury because the lax safety environment. Establish a set shift schedule and notify employees if there are any changes that need to happen. Show employees a clear path of progression.

    Estes Express2019-10-08
Found 361 reviews