European Investment Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

European Investment Bank Reviews

Updated 8 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
68%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
European Investment Bank President Dr. Werner Hoyer (no image)
Dr. Werner Hoyer
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The pay is not quite sufficient to live in Luxembourg(in 13 reviews)

  • "High risk of loosing employability as all roles are too EIB focused(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The potential of the organisation is unexploited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is an European institution so you can have good work/life balance and high salaries and allowances compared to the work you do. Easy to make connections, and there are a lot of social activities. The mission of the bank is very good.

    Cons

    It is very difficult to progress, and networking is way more important than merit. Extremely bureaucratic and political. People like to talk too much of themselves and their results but they do not work to get things done.

    European Investment Bank2020-01-08
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good employer, interesting work projects

    Cons

    Work life balance getting bad

    European Investment Bank2019-10-25
  3. "Make sure to apply to the "adequate" functional level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    job stability, tax exempt salary, holidays

    Cons

    quota based career management, weak internal communication , not exactly a meritocracy.

    Advice to Management

    Professional independent directors should become part of the organisation's management, in-house director level positions (and above) should be limited to one 5 years fixed term contract with no possibility of renewal.

    European Investment Bank2019-10-25
  4. "a very positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    allowance sufficient to enjoy your time in Luxembourg, great environment, many opportunities to learn more

    Cons

    sometimes it's not the most dynamic place in the world

    European Investment Bank2019-09-23
  5. "TRAINEESHIP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice place to be and to start a career

    Cons

    trainees do not get much training the approach is learning by doing . The allowance is low for Luxembourg life costs

    European Investment Bank2019-07-19
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Room for Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    Multicultural environment, good facilities, good benefits.

    Cons

    Slow, bureaucratic, very little career development possibilities for support staff.

    European Investment Bank2019-06-23
  7. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time

    Pros

    good working hours, great colleagues

    Cons

    not many downsides i can think of

    European Investment Bank2019-06-12
  8. "Great place to work slow progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Officer in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at European Investment Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits. Interesting job. Great peers.

    Cons

    Slow career progression. Luxembourg city is a bit boring.

    Advice to Management

    Increase lending outside Europe. Limit burocracy. Let the young take on responsibility.

    European Investment Bank2019-05-26
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Luxembourg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environmment to work , work-life balance

    Cons

    Red tape, absence of motivation

    European Investment Bank2019-05-29
  10. "Qualified tasks in a nice working environment surrounded by highly experienced employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee in Luxembourg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at European Investment Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meaningful task Good contact with supervisor and the colleagues at my division Spacious office Social Possibility to buy lunch within the building to a reasonable price Possibility to do different sports and leisure activities within the building Create contacts with experienced people within my career field

    Cons

    Too low salary. Should be 2000 euros instead of 1500 euros. As it is now it is hard to go around on the money we get, due to high rents (750-850 euros for a room) and high living costs. Also, most of the trainees have a relatively high study and working experience for their age, for which they deserve a higher salary. Most trainees are doing qualified work, full time. No possibility to do any flex hours. As a trainee you have, according to the rules of HR, no possibility to do any flex hours. We have to work exactly 8 hours a day. This makes us feel quite limited and the feeling that we’re not really trusted. We are after all relatively experienced for being newly graduated and are able to plan our work well.

    Show More
    European Investment Bank2019-05-14
Found 86 reviews