Ewing Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Ewing Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 85 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Ewing CEO Douglas W. York
Douglas W. York
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "This is a family owned company, and they want you to succeed(in 15 reviews)

  • "Company vehicle and profit sharing/ 401K a plus(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "The York family cries of low margins and pushes low pay to the branch staff(in 5 reviews)

  • "Low monetary compensation, Can be hard to take time off(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Culture of Caring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time

    Pros

    Fast growing, forward thinking, family owned company, with lots of opportunities to advance your career. Company rewards people that care about each other and the success of the company. 100's of employees that have worked for this company for over 10 years!

    Cons

    You can get sucked in and lose site of work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused on company profitability and never lose the family feel and the ability to care about all of your employees.

    Ewing2019-05-15
  2. "Lots of moving parts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It is a great company to work for. There are a lot of expansion and will endure through time I feel.

      Cons

      Doesn't focus as much on employees and more on the bottom line but makes poor choices when spending money.

      Ewing2019-05-13
    • "Looking for the best company in the landscape industry? Look no further!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Family owned, flat organization without the office politics, and an awesome culture that celebrates success and knows how to have fun!

      Cons

      Not much... other than an antiquated ERP and no CRM. But I really had to think about cons... as there are not many.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you are doing!

      Ewing2018-12-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Ok place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Ewing full-time

      Pros

      There are opportunities to advance and increase one's pay if a person is willing to participate in Ewing's service Professional program and play by their rules only.. Decent benefits.

      Cons

      Low pay to start. Family owned company where nepotism is rampant at the corporate level.

      Ewing2018-12-14

      Ewing Response

      June 4, 2019Director of Employee Development

      Your right!! Nepotism is "rampant" in all areas of Ewing. That is the true sign of "Family" company. Not only is Ewing owned by the York family, but our employees like the work environment so much that they want their families to work here as well. Now that is cool!

    • "WAS a company that treated employees well"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Ewing full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Promotes people from within the company

      Cons

      Used to be a company that treated their employees like family. Too top heavy, no longer care for the employees the way they did before.

      Advice to Management

      Go back to being a company that cares about their people.

      Ewing2018-12-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Ewing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ewing full-time

      Pros

      Family owned, benefits, opportunity to promote

      Cons

      They don't pay enough for what they expect from you

      Ewing2018-12-01
    • "What an Exciting Company to be part of......."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ewing full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Very Successful, Professional, Family & Team oriented company that cares a lot about their employees & their individual success!

      Cons

      Always room for improvement to better yourself as a company

      Advice to Management

      Continue to evaluate processes, sales, & customer service aspects as you currently do so well!

      Ewing2018-09-12
    • "Family Culture /Accountability/ Respect"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I have been working full time at Ewing for under 2yrs. After working in this industry for over 25 years, I have found home!!! This company gives you the flexibility & support to perform your job well! Growth opportunities are abundant and your efforts are recognized all the way up the ladder. If your looking for a place to work hard in a rewarding environment. This is the place for you.

      Cons

      None to report at this time

      Ewing2018-09-10
    • Helpful (2)

      "A great place work!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Regional Manager in Sacramento, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I think being here for 21 years says it all. I started in an entry level position 21 years ago, promoted to a branch manager 2 years after that and now onto a regional manager position. The opportunities, advancement and re-location if wanted are limitless. Besides being a fun company to work for, the benefits overall is the real deal. Ewing is all about educating and growing their employees which in turn brings...

      Show More

      Cons

      Some say a lot is asked of our employees but that is why we are an industry leader and the best at what we do.

      Ewing2018-08-30
    • "This Company gets “it”. They’re awesome !"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I’ve been here now for almost 7 years. Been a warehouse driver, counter guy and now branch manager. I’ve read some reviews that are soooo negative, but are really based on that one persons experience. I’m the complete opposite. If you’re willing to work, there are lots of opportunities to grow within Ewing. Especially now that they are expanding. I can name 50 people that feel the same as me. The benefit package is great....

      Show More

      Cons

      It takes time to adjust to the changes they make. And it happens a lot because the company is always moving forward in the right direction. So, even though it’s tough sometimes, I get it.

      Advice to Management

      Communicate with us in advance of changes being made so we don’t have to react so quickly sometimes.

      Ewing2018-09-03
    Found 85 reviews