Ewing Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Ewing Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Ewing CEO Douglas W. York
Douglas W. York
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast growing, forward thinking, family owned company, with lots of opportunities to advance your career(in 16 reviews)

  • "Company vehicle and profit sharing/ 401K a plus(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "The York family cries of low margins and pushes low pay to the branch staff(in 6 reviews)

  • "Low monetary compensation, Can be hard to take time off(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The best job I have ever had, hands down!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family Culture, fun atmosphere, freedom to run it like my own business, great benefits.

    Cons

    Hot during summer w/no A/C in warehouse

    Advice to Management

    Pay more

    Ewing2019-10-10
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ewing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big enough company to get things done, family owned and operated, has maintained great culture

    Cons

    Lots to learn, but it’s worth it

    Advice to Management

    none doing a great job

    Ewing2019-09-27
  3. "Irrigation Warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver/In-store Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ewing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overtime included and paid Full benefits available Very understanding managements and customers

    Cons

    Exposed to the heat or cold Can be a lot of work for the pay, but it's still more than most entry level jobs

    Ewing2019-09-07
  4. "Lots of Upward Mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ewing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Willing to develop low skilled individuals into Management positions. Lots of education offered. Lots of perks that help offset low salary.

    Cons

    Low pay for Managers for what is expected and the amounts of hours put in. Although there are locations throughout the country transferring our of your region is extremely difficult and not encouraged. Force me to find a job elsewhere to get moved out of state.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing but cutback on the private jet and DLC events to pay valued employees a fair salary. This will retain your employees that you've worked so hard to train.

    Ewing2019-08-04
  5. "Good place to get some experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Office in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ewing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Support for professional development and growth.

    Cons

    Bad work-life balance. Lower pay than is standard for most positions in the company. Expensive health insurance packages. Still, I would recommend if it’s an industry you want to work in as a way to get your foot in the door.

    Ewing2019-07-18
  6. "They CLAIM to be family oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Office in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ewing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not the pay Not the timeoff Not the culture Not the CEO

    Cons

    The company as a whole is in decline. Cutting "expenses" (pronounced employees) every month, and expecting those that remain to pick up the slack. Promoting unqualified people into leadership roles, while you cut the more qualified. Ignoring all of the suggestions made about decisions, and going with your gut or with your cronies suggestions continue to move you in the wrong direction.

    Advice to Management

    Understand that you don't actually know everything there is to know... and be willing to LISTEN to advice from people who DO know more about a subject.

    Ewing2019-08-16
  7. "Culture of Caring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time

    Pros

    Fast growing, forward thinking, family owned company, with lots of opportunities to advance your career. Company rewards people that care about each other and the success of the company. 100's of employees that have worked for this company for over 10 years!

    Cons

    You can get sucked in and lose site of work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused on company profitability and never lose the family feel and the ability to care about all of your employees.

    Ewing2019-05-15
  8. "Lots of moving parts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a great company to work for. There are a lot of expansion and will endure through time I feel.

    Cons

    Doesn't focus as much on employees and more on the bottom line but makes poor choices when spending money.

    Ewing2019-05-13
  9. "Looking for the best company in the landscape industry? Look no further!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family owned, flat organization without the office politics, and an awesome culture that celebrates success and knows how to have fun!

    Cons

    Not much... other than an antiquated ERP and no CRM. But I really had to think about cons... as there are not many.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Ewing2018-12-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Ewing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time

    Pros

    Family owned, benefits, opportunity to promote

    Cons

    They don't pay enough for what they expect from you

    Ewing2018-12-01
Found 92 reviews