Expand Executive Search Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 28 reviews

4.1
70%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Expand Executive Search Managing Director Samantha Maxwell-Reed (no image)
Samantha Maxwell-Reed
23 Ratings
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    They have the best of intentions but don't hesitate to be ruthless

    Jul 19, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Brighton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    inclusive flexible friendly ambitious quality driven

    Cons

    lack of and/or continuously changing strategy disparity between leadership

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    "Work Hard, Play Hard"

    May 10, 2021 - Head of Technical Services in Brighton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you're above target or exceeding expectation, you have access to all these benefits: - Unlimited Holiday - Annual Company Holiday (Ibiza this year) - Quarterly Honors Club - Quarterly Bonus - Christmas Shut Down - Flexible Working - Work from home 3/4 days a week

    Cons

    - You have to walk up 3 flights of stairs to get to our office

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Business

    May 5, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Brighton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team, great incentives, good socials

    Cons

    working multiple time zones can be tough but the flexibility is there

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Typical South East recruitment shop with the same wideboy culture and thinly veiled prejudices.

    May 5, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Brighton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote working. Goodie boxes sent seasonally. Central Location

    Cons

    Typical wideboy recruitment company, prejudice and chronic disrespect to those who don't fit into certain boxes. Nothing you haven't seen before, just annoying that they try to project an image of being something different. Love the five star reviews written at workplace gunpoint. To be fair you can probably do worse, just don't be fooled. It's a micro-version of Frank, Hayes etc. with more flexibility. If that sounds like it would suit you give them a spin.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Terrible

    Aug 12, 2020 - Consultant in Brighton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good team members while i worked there

    Cons

    No opportunity for promotion, bad managers

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company!

    Jan 16, 2020 - Senior Consultant in Brighton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing team spirit Ability to succeed Brilliant Manager, who really cares that you do well Great culture Flexible working amazing people

    Cons

    You need to have the drive to succeed.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Expand Executive Search Response

    Group MD

    Thank you for your kind feedback,,

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great people, Great Environment and all round Great company to work for

    Jan 15, 2020 - Consultant in Brighton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is on the same page and want to succeed. With this comes great motivation and support from your peers. Incentives and Flexible working also very motivating to achieve more.

    Cons

    - Travelling in but not the company's issue

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Expand Executive Search Response

    Group MD

    Thank you for your kind comments.

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work with lots of opportunities, ability to earn great money, and have fun whilst doing it!

    Dec 17, 2019 - Consultant in Brighton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - A cool, modern office in central Brighton, close to lots of great lunch spots - A fun place to work with regular incentives, team events, lunches... - Good benefits offered - Snacks, coffee etc. encouraging work/life balance and wellbeing - Flexible working and holiday. Great place for experienced recruiters who want autonomy and flexibility, especially those with families - Good commission scheme, no threshold, encourages overachievement - A great team who are very supportive and collaborative for a 360 environment. People regularly sharing ideas and candidates etc. - A place you can feel valued with regular feedback surveys that management actually takes on board - Lee is a great manager who was very supportive and gives everyone the time of day and opportunity to be successful. He's great at his job and a Director who is still billing regularly. He has great relationships with clients and candidates - There's some very successful people there to learn from. People are creative and have great ideas. Dan particularly was great to work with, very helpful and welcoming - Samantha is very fair, caring, and supportive

    Cons

    - There were some underperforming and unmotivated people when I worked there who may have been responsible for the unfair and unsavoury reviews. - Quite a small team and a male heavy environment. Probably better suited for experienced recruiters rather than those that want structured training and a lot direction

    1 person found this review helpful

    Expand Executive Search Response

    Group MD

    Thank you for your kind comments. You are so right, we had been conscious for some time that our diversity has been poor. Over the last year we have worked hard to drive inclusion and now have 11 women across our team of 27, with a much better representation of our global community!

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Let me clear something up...

    Jun 10, 2019 - Consultant in Brighton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at expand is not just a job, you are not just a billing machine, you are valued in every way. Its not boiler room, dungeon recruitment, there are no "lies" to candidates and the management team are open and honest about the company direction to the point that, on many levels, the team is involved in one way or another. You are well looked after with free team lunches, amazing commission structure, fantastic incentives, well-being allowances, unlimited holiday entitlement and flexibility to have a life around work. The management team believe in you and praise and support is constantly there whether you are hitting target or not. Recruitment isn't for everyone, I'm sure you can see that by the people who have left and written scathing reviews! It certainly says more about those individuals than it does about the company and management team!

    Cons

    For me personally there aren't any cons and I think its very sad that some people who have left the company have written such fabricated negative reviews. I'm 100% sure that Samantha and the rest of the management team would welcome anyone into the office with open arms to see exactly how things are done here!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Expand Executive Search Response

    Group MD

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, it's great to hear that you feel valued and supported. It is the fantastic people within expand that make us the team we are.. glad you are enjoying your time with us!

  10. 1.0
    Current Employee

    awful

    Apr 23, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    one or two of the people there were nice. The others were central casting pointy shoe, cheap suit recruitment

    Cons

    as above - most colleagues were snakes. Quite a feat to assemble such a group of people. Old school IT recruitment of the worst kind. Putting fake ads up on the job boards, calling candidates to find out the names of hiring managers. Then call up those hiring manager to pitch in your candidates. Seriously - it's 2019!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Expand Executive Search Response

    Group MD

    We value glass door here at expand, it gives prospective candidates and people who are interested in our business the opportunity to peer through the window at the good and the not so good. We know that our clients value our services as they continue to return to us time after time to partner on their recruitment needs. That said like all business’s we sometimes get recruitment wrong and not all the people we hire to work for us make the grade. Sometimes the culture fit is not there. We will review our own selection process in light of your comments, thank you. Looks like this is one of our mistakes but we certainly don’t recruit in IT, use job boards or wear pointy shoes! If you would like to find out more about what it’s really like to work here drop us a line but only as long as you are comfortable wearing your nike air max and leave those pointy shoes at home.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Popular Careers with Expand Executive Search Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Expand Executive Search? Share Your Experiences

Expand Executive Search logo
or