Experience Works Employee Reviews about "ew"

Updated 27 Oct 2016

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
54%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Experience Works Co-Acting CEO, VP Operations, and Assistant Secretary Sally Boofer (no image)
Sally Boofer
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Services to older workers in hard to serve communities(in 9 reviews)

  • "I liked making contact's with other non-profit programs(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "of Labor would support EW more than it does(in 4 reviews)

  • "Many times you are placed in a receptionist or janitorial position with no means of advancement(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "ew"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Is This for Me"

    4.0
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Participant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Experience Works

    Pros

    Experience Works is a federally funded program that places people age 55 or better in non-profits in order to up-date skills and gain future employment. Minimum wage is paid for the work done at the non-profits. Well, I found work and work I really liked through this program. I was paid minimum wage at my position and was happy to get it. Part of the agreement of this program is that the participants will receive training in areas needed and EW does provide some training primarily through computer programs that participants do on their own. This works well.

    Cons

    Where they fell short, I felt, was in doing evaluations which, although promised, didn't happen and in assessing progress, strengths and weaknesses of participants. You're more or less on your own in that regard although those "services" stated to be part of the process. They also fall short in recognizing possible contributions participants might make and instead direct you to their website and their programs alone if you inquire about opportunities and contributions you might be able to make. For example, although I found non-profits I wanted to work with, I was told I could only work with approved organizations and I, nor anyone else as far as I knew, wasn't allowed to make any effort to sign up new organizations either as a trained employee or on their own. Doing so,contracting new organizations, could have expanded what is fundamentally a very good program and also provided non-profits with an inexpensive and experienced work force. Other than the above complaint, if you qualify for Experience Works, and want to take part, you'll certainly learn a little and maybe a lot, meet some good people and come out the other end doing better.

    Continue reading
    Experience Works2016-10-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Bad Reviewers Misguided"

    5.0
    Manager in Arlington, VA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Experience Works

    Pros

    When employed at Experience Works, I have nothing bad to say for the years prior to ousted corrupt regime. And as corrupt as the management was, 95% of the staff should be commended for trying to withstand all that was going wrong. The remaining 5% were part of the problem and almost all have been dealt with appropriately. I am confident that the current CEO, Board of Directors and leadership will work hard at rebuilding a great organization with a valued mission and loyal staff. As they say, it will get worse before it gets better. Well, wishing all at EW better days ahead, remain steadfast and determined. Regarding naysayers and those that wish the current organization ill will, move on with your own life. Perhaps you too were part of the problem and perhaps you spreading ugly rumors is just that! I doubt anyone who truly knows EW as it's former self would have any doubt to the current managements intent on having EW thrive again. I also doubt anyone who has worked for EW 6 years plus would not agree with me. Hiding behind anonymity...shameful!

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say besides I wish the Dept. of Labor would support EW more than it does.

    Continue reading
    Experience Works2016-04-22
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Proud of the changes! Our 51st year will be the best!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marienville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Experience Works full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been with Experience Works for 15 years, and I can honestly say I am proud of this organization on so many levels. First, I am proud of our mission--to improve the lives of older workers--though we operate with very little money and very many obstacles to our success. I am proud of our staff, most of whom are conscientious, optimistic and unselfish. I am proud of our record of performance--last year we helped more older workers than ever before. But mostly I am proud of our NEW leadership who are working very hard to undue the damage that has recently been done by individuals who tried to hurt this organization and undermine our mission. Their selfishness and negativity threatened to destroy the impoverished seniors we are determined to help. I have to admit, EW has gone through some growing pains lately. That will happen when selfish individuals have misguided agendas to promote themselves by denigrating the organization. But after 50 years of experience and success helping low income older workers overcome their own barriers to success, we have proven that we can overcome all barriers to our own success. I believe that EW's 51st year will be our best because, just like our name says: Experience Works!

    Cons

    Like all organizations who are trying to help low income clients with multiple barriers to self-sufficiency, we struggle to keep funding. We struggle to recruit staff who are willing to work hard for a cause they believe in when we can't afford to pay them what they are worth. We struggle to find the time in a day to do all that we need to do, because so many people are depending on us. And we struggle to keep employee morale up, when times are tough and people find it so easy to get angry and lash out.

    Continue reading
    Experience Works2016-03-14
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Prospective employees enter at your own risk"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Experience Works full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The SCSEP was created to help older workers to develop Job skills. Older workers love the program for the most part.

    Cons

    Upper Management is not transparent. They will hire new people making upwards of 100k while simultaneously laying off and furlough seasoned staff. DOL need to cut all of the benefits to Experience Works to give the money to a real program with proven results like AARP. The era of 2014 and 2015 was the only time EW was performing 6 of 6 performance measures while being ran by the 'corrupt leadership' The new CEO and Chairman of the board came into EW last July with OIG and members of DOL thinking it was a large scale embezzlement operation going on within the realms of upper management when in fact it was just a lot of misguided over spending on the participant portion of the program. That in turn made the finance department have to work long hard hours while being unappreciated and yelled at. Because of the actions of the new CEO and chairman of the board EW budget was slashed dramatically as it should have been since they clearly can not run a high performing organization. Do not work for this organization if you want a long standing, quality position.

    Continue reading
    Experience Works2016-04-26
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Doing without!!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dev in Richmond, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Experience Works full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Experience Works used to be a great place to work. Competitive salary for where I live but now not so much.

    Cons

    The previous CEO left EW in a financial mess. The current staff are being punished for her wrong doing. Needed supplies, paper, toner, toilet paper, papertowels, and hand soap stay in short supply. With the previous management spending like water from a faucet, supply orders need "12" people's approval to send in one order or pay one bill. The current staff suffer the consequences for the actions of a few and continue to suffer as the funding to each grantor now has a cap and EWs funding is cut 40.6% keeping any one grantor from getting too big for their britches. This is to prevent what happened with the previous administration from happening again. Everything is a secret. There is no transparency even though that has been promised on more than one occasion.

    Continue reading
    Experience Works2016-03-23
  6. "Good program for older people with reservations"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Labor in Medford, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Experience Works part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The agencies are great to work for.

    Cons

    Only part-time, abusive EW staff/program coordinators.

    Continue reading
    Experience Works2014-11-09
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Disappointing organization that didn't respect me."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Farm Laborer in Santa Rosa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Experience Works part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office training. Many opportunities exist to learn office skills and personal skills both at the EW site and at home. Emploees can increase their skill levels and update their training in many areas of office technology.

    Cons

    Lies, harassment, disrespect, and lacking in confidence of my abilities. I was constantly called to follow up on extremely low paying temporary jobs. No job leads were permanent. I was sent leads for a migrant crew worker, a greenhouse cold weather position, and a house/yard cleaning job. After threat of termination, I wrote an exit letter which they ignored. They finally terminated me when I ignored their recertification notices.

    Continue reading
    Experience Works2014-03-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews