Extra Space Storage Assistant Site Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Extra Space Storage Assistant Site Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Extra Space Storage CEO Joe Margolis
Joe Margolis
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great community and people to work for with fair compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Site Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to set your own task load during the day and the coworkers are all top notch and nice

    Cons

    Micromanaging has become a little more prevalent than it used to be. As a publicly traded company, there seems to be a greater and greater drive to increase profit through gilding the lily.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2019-07-11
  2. "Fantastic Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Site Manager in Annapolis, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The training is so detailed. The company has great work life balance and truly wants everyone to succeed and has great growth opportunity as they life to hire internally.

    Cons

    Needs a better pay and benefits package. ie stock options, tuition reimbursement for site level

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2018-10-04
  3. "Best Job Yet!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Site Manager in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent training and great support from supervisors, district managers, and other stores - Small company feel with big company perks - Lots of opportunities to grow and continue challenging yourself, personally and professionally - Great program for promotion, easy to get on track to work your way up, if you desire to do so - Every possible metric is tracked, so you will get credit for the good work you do, and it keeps those in leadership honest...a company with a lot of integrity! - Competitions and opportunities for giftcards and bonuses every month! - Great hours and decent benefits - Store managers often have on-site apartment included as part of benefits and compensation (if that site has one). - Lots of variety in your workday...it is never boring!

    Cons

    - PTO accrual is pretty slow, so taking days off may be unpaid, depending on when you need them. - They have a lot of locations...but they're not everywhere in the US yet! I relocated and wished I could transfer within the company.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2018-08-13
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Extra Space has us do reviews to keep the rating High!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Site Manager in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    9:30-6pm work day Guaranteed 2 days off Easy work when you have 2 people Each day is basically the same No long lines or super busy days Lots of time to talk with fellow team members and guests

    Cons

    The rating above is BS we are asked by the company to do reveiws annually to improve our rating here! Promotions or Growth opportunities given based on how long you’ve worked here, not because of your ability. Company not hiring staff effectively. Important Emails and Texts ignored. Sometimes you need help NOW but left to just figure it out for yourself. Training program Sucks Most managers in Richmond shouldn't have jobs, yet we won’t hire new people. (As if we have some sort of high standards) Scheduling: Many are with little or no help while some stores have people getting paid to sit and talk to each other. We could simply split the staff across the district and fix staffing issues No staff

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2018-02-09
  5. Helpful (2)

    "I'm a happy camper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Site Manager in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always something to do, great pay, great benefits. This business is pretty much a family, in that you always have someone to turn to for help.

    Cons

    I don't like working Saturday's during the summer but hey, I get off at 5:30, still time for fun.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2016-08-11
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Site Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere to work in, wonderful coworkers. Very helpful and aways there for you if need be. You are able to work in and outside and it's great pay, great everything in my opinion.

    Cons

    Personally I don't feel there is anything bad I could possibly say about this company. They take care of their own as family!

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2016-04-07
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Ok if used to retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Site Manager in Marietta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you have always worked retail and enjoy the industry the job is good since you will work set hours each week. For retail work the wages are better then most jobs.

    Cons

    If you have a family Saturdays are shot and flexibility with time is very limited. You will clean and clean and clean...

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2016-03-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Site Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Site Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been here almost a year and after having such bad luck with jobs I am happy to say I LOVE MY JOB! The hours are great and love having Sundays off. I really enjoy everyone I work with they are always happy to help. We are a big family here and all stay connected. I really enjoy the customer service side. There is never a slow time, we always have customers or projects going on. We do at least one event a year as a district, I have even met the CEO! I would recommend this job to anyone who is hard working and really enjoys people. You will have a ton of stories to share during your time with Extra Space storage. I also really like that we are expanding so quickly, there is always opportunity popping up to move up.

    Cons

    Only thing I could complain on is cleaning... but it varies from store to store. It really is not too bad in most stores, but this is something you are made aware of before taking the job so you already know what you are signing up for. A lot of times I enjoy it, makes the day go by faster. Plus they do everything they can to make your job easier for you. They really do care.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2016-02-17
  9. "They take care of their people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Site Manager in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The managers here work as a team. I have multiple people I can turn to for assistance even when my own supervisor is off or away. People here want assistants to become managers in their own right, and help develop skills quickly. The bonus plan is very good, and I can definitely see how hard work benefits myself and the company.

    Cons

    Cars are required to work here, in order to be able to cover other sites. District Training Leads are often required to travel locally for one to five days at a time. There are a few managers near me who are less than completely forthright and helpful.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2016-02-16
  10. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Site Manager in Norman, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a place where you literally get the best of both worlds, you can work outside and get dirty or you can work in the office. Therefore the chances of getting burned out are slim to none, I like the change up. It is also extremely easy to contact your upper management with ANY questions you may have. I love the open door policy my DM has, he is always there when I need him. Extremely employee centric, I am a super competative person and we always have some sort of competition going on within our district.

    Cons

    Benefits are on the expensive side. Getting off at 6pm not much life time left.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2016-02-15
Found 10 reviews