Extra Space Storage District Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for District Manager

Extra Space Storage District Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Extra Space Storage CEO Joe Margolis
Joe Margolis
32 Ratings
  1. "Extra Space is a great place to work! The culture is fabulous."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Na-Duar
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You get a sense that upper management recognizes the importance of and the contributions made by its employees. Solid opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    I can't think of any significant cons. Perhaps the rapid growth of the company is contributing to a reduction in that family feel that Extra Space once had.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to demonstrate your appreciation for your employees and recognize their value.

    Extra Space Storage2017-08-19
  2. "Great Place To Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance and culture are phenomenal!

    Cons

    Sure there are some (what job doesn't?), but nothing major or enough to scare anyone away.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-31
  3. "District Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company lives their values. The teamwork and collaboration at Extra Space is unparalleled.

    Cons

    Nothing at this time, the company is always asking for feedback and works hard to make improvements based on company recommendations.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the employee and customer focus, it makes for happy employees and happy customers!

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-31
  4. "Very good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Development, fair leadership, reasonable levels of autonomy.

    Cons

    Too focused on hiring leaders that lack industry knowledge, trying very hard to centralize operations which limits creativity

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
  5. "Great Place to Work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been with ESS for almost 2 years and there isn't 1 thing I don;t enjoy about my job. The company treats you very well and the people I work with are exceptional. I have never worked for a company that cared so much about me.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons at this time.

    Advice to Management

    I would highly recommend a position with any part of our organization.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-19
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Being with Extra Space for approximately 18 years has been a great ride. I've been in the Self-Storage industry for almost 30 years and I have to say that my years with Extra Space have been positive and rewarding, throughout the years the company has helped me continue to develop and grow my knowledge which in return has given me the opportunity to pass that along to others. The companies culture, open line of communication...

    Show More

    Cons

    With anything in life there are going to be growing pains, I wouldn’t necessarily consider the following a Con but instead part of change and growth. As a company we continue to focus on growth and growing our people, this at times can bring a little sadness when those you've developed and worked alongside for years have moved on to bigger and better things within the company. We just need to keep in mind that these...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you are doing, it's proven to work and our people are Happy!

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-19
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are looking for a company that has built a culture of: Great teamwork Mutual respect Fun environment Promote from within Competitive pay/ benefits Work- life balance: family is important You will love it here! I was with another company for a long time thinking it could not really be any better anywhere else, boy was I wrong. If you are thinking of a career change, do it now, don’t wait! Come to work...

    Show More

    Cons

    I have not found many things I dislike yet- I have been working here six months and I am amazed each day that I am still so excited about working here.

    Extra Space Storage2019-01-28
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A company where teamwork and excellence are emphasized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A growing company that continues to value it's employees and customers. There are no limitations to where you can go no matter you starting point. If you love the idea of working independently, wearing multiple hats (variety of work), and striving to be your very best, Extra Space is a great fit.

    Cons

    The industry as a whole has unique challenges in that stores typically require 1 or 2 employees at any given time. This means employees must be self motivated and driven in order to maximize their time. Extra Space does a great job promoting collaboration and teamwork through multiple touch points (phone, email, visits, team meetings, town halls, etc.).

    Advice to Management

    Continue to promote and focus on the people of the organization at every level. They are the lifeblood of the company.

    Extra Space Storage2019-01-05
  9. "Great company and people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Invests in people at all levels. Great work-life balance. Strong culture and core values. Constantly looking to innovate through technology and industry standards.

    Cons

    Career growth outside of corporate office is limited. Bonus program based off ranking, can work for and against you.

    Advice to Management

    Protect the culture and values that made the company a great place to work. Never lose sight over the most valuable asset, the people!

    Extra Space Storage2018-10-23
  10. "District Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    True Work Life Balance!

    Cons

    Growth is discussed and talent is heavily reviewed however it seems that most of the opportunities are from specific divisions in the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Need to look back in history as to what was making Extra Space not just a great place as it is today but an AMAZING place.

    Extra Space Storage2018-09-30
Found 75 reviews