Extra Space Storage Division Learning Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Division Learning Manager

Extra Space Storage Reviews

Updated 24 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Extra Space Storage CEO Joe Margolis
Joe Margolis
491 Ratings
  1. "Extra Space is a great place to work! The culture is fabulous."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Na-Duar
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You get a sense that upper management recognizes the importance of and the contributions made by its employees. Solid opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    I can't think of any significant cons. Perhaps the rapid growth of the company is contributing to a reduction in that family feel that Extra Space once had.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to demonstrate your appreciation for your employees and recognize their value.

    Extra Space Storage2017-08-19
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, hours are set and Sundays off. Friendly staff and very helpful. Close stores to each other so helpful for training and helping each other out when short handed.

    Cons

    Working outside during weather Working alone some

    Extra Space Storage2020-01-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Be thorough when accepting employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours are awesome, job duties are easy, work environment is fun

    Cons

    Communication is not seamless and transparent, upper management does not want to handle issues that employees are unsuccessful at resolving, training is different at each site, but is supposed to be the same, there is favoritism, and what is promised to employees (upon hire and throughout career) is not upheld if not put in writing.

    Advice to Management

    Work on communication with store managers, district manager, and associate managers, ensure that training has same at each site so when managers cover different sites, all employees know the fundamentals of the duties that are to be done, provide more training for conflict resolution so that employees feel comfortable coming to work and performing said duties, make sure that DTL's and DM's treat each employee the same, and if something is promised to an employee, put it in writing.

    Show More
    Extra Space Storage2020-01-19
  4. "Great place too work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage

    Pros

    Everything! They work with you to make sure you get training you need. They care about you and they pay with living wages. You get the time off you need. Upper management cares

    Cons

    There are no cons for this job.

    Extra Space Storage2020-01-03
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Do Not Come In Expecting Opportunity Growth From The Ground Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage

    Pros

    A fast paced environment with little down time. A workplace with many goals to achieve and to track with a workplace balance that is exceptional.

    Cons

    Field employees are rarely given their chance to move forward in this company causing them to lose internal talent. A talent drain with field employees has been extensive across the board with few high performers, causing the company to charge far more than the market value of units and goods to make up for the talent drain of their field employees. The only reason it's top 90 of 100 companies in the US on Glassdoor, is that it asks its employees to review the company positively in exchange for gift card chances. I would not recommend this job to friends or family members as they over manage their expectations of employees and pay below the industry average. For an example if your slightly overweight, you will be looked down upon and be told that you need to meet the company image. You can take your complaint to HR but they will do nothing if you have nothing in writing. If you get too old, in a corporate position, they try to push you out even if you perform to a high standard, which is around 50. They'll hire district managers that cause multi million dollar class action lawsuits and fire an entire district worth of employees without just cause but keep them in line to be senior district managers. Any other workplace would remove these people but Extra Space Storage embraces them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop overmanaging your expectations and embrace the people that work for your company.

    Extra Space Storage2019-12-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service is secondary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits and adequate training

    Cons

    Laborious, work every Saturday , and you can be changed between stores based in need

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you let all applicants know that it is mainly a property management job as in maintenance and janitorial work and customer service is secondary.

    Extra Space Storage2019-12-18
  7. Helpful (4)

    "No Care. No integrity. Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Onsite Manager in Santa Ana, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Onsite apartment if you are lucky.

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive Traveling all over because the turn over is so high they can’t keep employees. They brag about their core values being about caring and appreciation, but will fire you while still on Workmans comp so you can’t get another job. Even though you dedicated 3 years of your life and wanted to retire from ESS. They couldn’t wait 4 weeks for me to come back to work. Meanwhile no one is applying and staff is stretched so thin people are barely surviving. They will set employees up for failure by shopping them. If you don’t do things exactly perfect then you get shamed for not being a robot. The only people making money is the CEO and president.. who like to brag about their new sports car at staff meetings. Then demean employees because we don’t want to rent to drug addicts. Raises are a joke! .20? In this economy? Are you joking? Also they fired me and kicked me and my family out of the onsite apartment a week before Christmas. Real caring place right? Class action lawsuit just got finalized because they refuse to staff offices correctly so people get their breaks.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting this company as a caring and appreciating place. If you don’t have that many employees in the first place, don’t fire any who have a desire to come back. Pay your people. If an employee shows they are working hard to recover from a injury caused by you the employer, give them time off to go to doctors appointments and therapy. Don’t drop the ball and them blame then employee. We are only doing what we can. You are the managers above us, take time to Actually get things right, instead of figuring out you messed up and then force someone out of their homes.

    Show More
    Extra Space Storage2020-01-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Work here if you like being broke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stable work hours, it's not a difficult job

    Cons

    Horrible pay, high sales expectations with little incentive, cheap company, required travel from sites

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people, this company makes Millions in net profit and pays nickels and dimes. Stop being so cheap

    Extra Space Storage2020-01-07
  9. "Could Have Had A Career Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Every day provided something different!

    Cons

    Management, Pay, Treatment of Employees. It is difficult to express in words the complete and total lack of care and consideration from upper management who were all safe inside their office building while we dealt with the weight of the company. The sales process was egregious, forcing managers to make overpriced sales, and coercing insurance sales. There were so many shady business practices, I felt dirty working there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Become a people focused business instead of a cash grab. Please stop treating your employees like they're expendable. Job postings also need to be corrected to better match qualifications, and be able to position employees to better fit their capabilities. Oh, and stop forcing merchandise sales. No one wants to buy your overpriced items.

    Extra Space Storage2020-01-06
  10. "Hard work, dedication, and integrity pay off here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee At Store Support Center in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management at Extra Space is the best I've ever seen. They genuinely care about the staff and want us to feel fulfilled and challenged. My manager always gives me sound, educated advice but allows me to work through issues or come up with ideas for improvement on my own when appropriate. I always feel supported and empowered by my manager. One of the best things about working for Extra Space Storage is that I know the things I do matter. If I accept challenge and change with a positive attitude, work with integrity, and consistently do my best every day, it is noticed and it matters. If I were to resist challenge or change, have a poor attitude, avoid getting my job done, or act with anything less than impeccable integrity, that would also be noticed and would also matter. Depending on a person's own work ethic, they may or may not like working here for those reasons. You also need to be able to understand and carry out your work and be willing to continue to learn and improve.

    Show More

    Cons

    There really aren't any. Extra Space is a fantastic company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and thank you for doing it.

    Extra Space Storage2019-11-27
Found 1079 reviews