Extra Space Storage Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Extra Space Storage Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1005 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Extra Space Storage CEO Joe Margolis
Joe Margolis
429 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love the PTO and the flexibility we have on requesting days off. The bonus program is decent. I love the Extra Space University that teaches you how to become more business oriented and includes lessons on being more successful in the company. You can also apply the lessons to life outside of ESS. They are always coming up with new ideas to keep you interested and excited to be apart of storage. This company is always...

    Show More

    Cons

    I wouldn't say it's a con but I would like to see a little bit more affordable health insurance. The pay is pretty good but if the health insurance is going to continue at the rate it is. Maybe we could increase our pay so the insurance could be affordable.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, let's continue to encourage each other and our customers. Let's continue to be great in serving our customers and also let's continue to flourish in the storage industry.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
  2. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company really cares about the development of its employees. We have basically bankers hours. Every Sunday off!!! Great team work. Great work environment and room for advancement.

    Cons

    Pay could be better but for what we due everyday it's comparable to other company's. I wish the medical benefits were a little bit cheaper for family plans.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing !!

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Extra Space Storage has the most incredible work/life balance. They value their employees and genuinely want them to have a healthy and happy home life as well as confidence and satisfaction with work.

    Cons

    I do not feel that the health insurance is the best. I wish that it were a little more competitive with others out there. It's not the worst, but certainly not the best either.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with transparency and open lines of communication.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-23
  4. "Fantastic Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Lead in Euless, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Extra Space is a tremendous place to work. Corporate truly seems to care with field employees. Benefits are good and PTO is great.

    Cons

    Pay isn't where is should be for work/level of service expected. Staffing in the field is minimal, due to lower pay scales.

    Advice to Management

    Pay better in order to retain top talent and continuously bring in new team members.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
  5. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Their training program sets you up for success from day one. It is clear as day that they put into us the same they expect from us.

    Cons

    1. My district (not saying that this is company wide) does not allow consecutive days off. 2. We don't open until 9:30am which is a little late in the day considering here in Texas it's already 85+ degrees outside by 10am in the summer time. 3. We only get 30 min lunch breaks.

    Advice to Management

    1. Go back to allowing sm's Monday's or Saturdays as their reg. days off. 2. Open earlier so that those of us in the sunnier states can get outside work done before the heat of the day is upon us. 3. If we opened at 9am, and still close at 6pm, we could get an hour lunch break instead of just 30 min.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
  6. "Great work space!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Georgetown, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great teams, great work environment, fun to be able to travel and meet new people

    Cons

    Can't think of one con

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
  7. "Love My Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Leader in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The ongoing training process helps make us all better at finding solutions for our customers.

    Cons

    Extreme weather can make days long when you are doing projects outside, but we plan around the heat and cold the best we can.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
  8. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Room for growth with this company

    Cons

    More often than not understaffed at my location

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
  9. "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Leader in Garland, TX

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule Great work life balance On site apartment (some positions) 50% computer work 50% physical activity

    Cons

    Job can be a little physical taxing some times but nothing near other jobs I've had. Really not many cons I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep on leading the industry in innovation and constantly adapt to an ever changing retail landscape. Also implement online leases people can fill out to drive more business.

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
  10. "Great Company and Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PTO Accrual, good work/life balance, promoting from within, compensation, and I just love it

    Cons

    Every job has something but here the only thing is the difficult customers but that’s a one off situation

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great culture and things in the company

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-26
Found 1005 reviews