Extra Space Storage Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Extra Space Storage Reviews

Updated 3 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Extra Space Storage CEO Joe Margolis
Joe Margolis
506 Ratings
  1. "Only care about bottom line, not field employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None, unless you like being forced to come in and work during a pandemic around people.

    Cons

    CEO said that ESS will be business as usual during COVID-19 pandemic and stores will only close if government mandates it. While salaried managers and office employees get to work from home, those in the field will be cleaning more and expected to show up and potentially be exposed to an extremely contagious virus. They have the gall to say they care about employees yet don't want to help them and their communities with community spread by shutting down for at least a couple of weeks. Unbelievable.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2020-03-17
  2. "Extra Space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture and work life balance.

    Cons

    Sometimes a weed grows in a beautiful garden and if you don't' take care of it, it will take out some beautiful grass as it grows.

    Extra Space Storage2020-02-08
  3. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy work Mid stressful job

    Cons

    Slow growth, pay not great

    Extra Space Storage2020-02-22
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Life/Work Balance. Promote from within. Great communication at all levels. Great culture.

    Cons

    I don't have any issues with the company. Love my job.

    Extra Space Storage2020-02-05
  5. "District Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On Site Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great hours for a retail type place but not a 9-5. Also upper management is very supportive and approachable. The advancement opportunities are plentify, and they even have programs to get you ready for advancement. And they have apartments where you can live in for minimal costs.

    Cons

    Staffing hours are low and when we are short staffed, its hard to get projects and other tasks completed.

    Extra Space Storage2020-02-17
  6. "What In the Cult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -It’s a fairly easy job. -You get to know your customers -If you like being outdoors instead of being cooped up in a stuffy office, this the job for you

    Cons

    -Benefits are expensive -Metrics not obtainable with the call center setting the stores up for failure -Pay is below average in surrounding businesses -if you disagree with a policy and voice your concern they get rid of you -HR complaints aren’t anonymous. They literally share your complaint to the person you have the problem with -there is a ridiculous amount of favoritism at every level. Even if a employee deserves to be held accountable and fired, if they “like” you that’s okay -lack of uniformity when it comes to protocol and procedures -lack of accountability -you feel like you can trust no one

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2020-03-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Run don’t walk away from"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    One thing closed on Sundays

    Cons

    Most of what you do. You are expected to work by yourself pretty much all the time. The company has become a revolving door when it comes to staffing and this add to the working alone. Too goal oriented they have lost all sight of customers and only care about lining their own pockets. Understand that you will have to sell insurance, merchandise, and get (positive) google reviews, all while keeping the entire property clean, following up with delinquent customers, handling customer complaints and question, and renting units all by yourself due to lack of help. I worked for this company for 16 years the last couple of years I could count on 2 hands how many days of double staffing I had working at a site that brought in more then $60000 a month. The DM’s usually come from other company’s and have no idea how Storage works, the company wants to make it more retail but honestly is more realest like, we have strict laws that we have to follow and most times new dm’s just don’t see how they try to blur those lines. Repair and Maint. is another huge area of concern I worked at a site for over 6 years and it had flooding and wall leaking issue before I worked there and still had it when I left, these was most of the complaints that I had to deal with customers having mold it items ohh I’m sorry mildewed items as the insurance company wanted to to describe it, because mildew is not covered in the insurance that we sell. If you decide to work here o would not plan on long term at 1st you’ll be loved then you will see the true colors.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2020-03-08
  8. "Great Starter Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Team Lead in Paterson, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No special skills required. Easy to learn. Not a stressful job.

    Cons

    Not easy to move up. No real career advancement.

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2020-02-16
  9. "Really great culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They really do take care of you. They also backup their talk with action. The management team was always willing to help. Loved the culture

    Cons

    Until you become manager of a property be ready to travel between stores.

    Extra Space Storage2020-01-30
  10. "You create your own path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Lead in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been with Extra Space almost 5 years and can say hardwork and consistancy is key!

    Cons

    Lack of growth opportunities unless willing to relocate

    Continue reading
    Extra Space Storage2020-02-11
Found 1100 reviews