Extra Space Storage Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Extra Space Storage Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1007 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Extra Space Storage CEO Joe Margolis
Joe Margolis
429 Ratings
  1. "Great work/life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Promote from within. Extra Space Storage invest tons of money in their learning and development dept which really helps me in my development. They are investing in their people's future which is great. Helping me better myself so I can better my future with this great company

    Cons

    I don't have anything negative to say.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing and we will continue growing

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-18
  2. "Fantastic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Staten Island, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the great reasons to work here are that you get to meet new and exciting people every day also your co works become family they make it such a great day to come to work. There are always opportunists to grow in this company as well. Its exciting to be part of a ever growing company like Extra space storage its exciting.

    Cons

    The only con would have to be selling peoples items in auction

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-18
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Bloomfield, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a great work life balance! The District Manager is always there to help if you need anything or have issues. Out of the few other storage companies I have worked with, Extra Space is by far the best when it comes to concern for the customer and goes the extra mile for the customer.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on listening to your employees and providing outstanding customer service.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-18
  4. "The very best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Team Lead in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Immediate growth and family orientated

    Cons

    Still trying to find some

    Advice to Management

    Continue being the best

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-18
  5. "A genuinely good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Bloomfield, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay (Received a $1.5 dollar raise switching to this company in the same business and market) Robust training through a dedicated trainer, videos, and written procedures. Straightforward and simple job Professional workplace Solid work-life balance

    Cons

    Experience varies drastically between which DM or DTL you work under Miscommunications are not uncommon - be willing to adapt/take initiative

    Advice to Management

    Having a new trainee evaluated by a different DTL before leaving training will allow for differences in style/priorities to be addressed early.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-18
  6. "ESS Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facility Service Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work / life balance, competitive salary, employee recognition, having all of the tools necessary to perform our jobs.

    Cons

    I have no Cons here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-18
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Being with Extra Space for approximately 18 years has been a great ride. I've been in the Self-Storage industry for almost 30 years and I have to say that my years with Extra Space have been positive and rewarding, throughout the years the company has helped me continue to develop and grow my knowledge which in return has given me the opportunity to pass that along to others. The companies culture, open line of communication...

    Show More

    Cons

    With anything in life there are going to be growing pains, I wouldn’t necessarily consider the following a Con but instead part of change and growth. As a company we continue to focus on growth and growing our people, this at times can bring a little sadness when those you've developed and worked alongside for years have moved on to bigger and better things within the company. We just need to keep in mind that these...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you are doing, it's proven to work and our people are Happy!

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-19
  8. "Extra Space Review."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Malden, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can say the best thing of working with Extra Space Storage is the great team that we are we work together and we can consider each other as a good big family.

    Cons

    The only thing i can say is the pay i think the manager and the assistant should get pay equal because we due the same job. Just a different name.

    Advice to Management

    Just keep doing the great job you are doing.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was looking for a place where I could be challenged and keep growing in my carrier and I found both here at Extra Space Storage, The culture was also an important part of my decision and I can tell that the principles used to build the culture here are being used to provide a healthy environment for each employee, I look forward to see how the company will continue evolving and improving.

    Cons

    Time off is very limited

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-13
  10. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New Britain, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is closed on Sundays

    Cons

    The overlooking of great employees

    Advice to Management

    Sharp eye on DM's and DTL's that lack train and give filed employees more of a chance

    Extra Space Storage2019-07-22
Found 1007 reviews