Extra Space Storage "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Extra Space Storage Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1007 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Extra Space Storage CEO Joe Margolis
Joe Margolis
429 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work- life balance: family is important(in 115 reviews)

  • "We are closed on Sundays which makes a perfect family day(in 45 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons this job is the best(in 27 reviews)

  • "It’s cult minded everyone steps on each other to get ahead dms and upper management suck no help(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Extra Space is a great place to work! The culture is fabulous."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Manager in Na-Duar
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You get a sense that upper management recognizes the importance of and the contributions made by its employees. Solid opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    I can't think of any significant cons. Perhaps the rapid growth of the company is contributing to a reduction in that family feel that Extra Space once had.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to demonstrate your appreciation for your employees and recognize their value.

    Extra Space Storage2017-08-19
  2. "Bureaucratic Corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time

    Pros

    Decent office with a cool view. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    No culture whatsoever. Too much oversight and permission needed from upper management over the smallest decisions. No office perks besides a coffee machine.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-27
  3. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Union, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary, hours, schedule, benefits, customers

    Cons

    They way upper management treats staff and they never take responsibility for issues.

    Extra Space Storage2019-05-22
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours and benifits flexibility in work schedule

    Cons

    It’s cult minded everyone steps on each other to get ahead dms and upper management suck no help

    Advice to Management

    Train your dms to no be so overwhelming and stop nit picking all the little things

    Extra Space Storage2019-02-14
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Assistant Site Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage part-time

    Pros

    -If you’re someone coming from a traditional retail environment, scheduling is a lot better overall. Most districts complete their schedules 30 days in advance. Most people have a designated off day that rarely changes every week in addition to Sundays off. You won’t have to worry about working a bunch of days in a row without an off day because this position is hourly and the company doesn’t want to pay out a lot of...

    Show More

    Cons

    These are some of my personal cons, but overall Extra Space Storage is not a bad place to work at all. -No extra help: If you’re running a high occupancy facility or a new facility, the likelihood of having extra help is higher than a property that is lower occupied. Needless to say, there are times that highly occupied facilities are single covered too. If you’re running a property by yourself, you have to work with...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Be engaging to all of your team members/site managers and not just the ones that make you look good. -Consider making sure that ALL facilities are adequately staffed.

    Extra Space Storage2018-12-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Way to go Extra Space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Portsmouth, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been with the company for 3 months now. I really enjoy getting up in the morning and going to work. The communications between manager and upper management is very impressive. There training is awesome , they give you the tools to do your job. There is always something new everyday to do. Great place to work and further your experience in a new position.

    Cons

    If you like sitting down all the time this is not for you.

    Extra Space Storage2018-09-26
  7. "Provides Employees with Tools for Success!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best part about working for Extra Space Storage that I haven't experienced anywhere else is the amount of support I've received from upper management. They value their employees and want them to succeed. If you don't have the tools you need to succeed right from the start, make a case for it. They are happy to listen and work with you to get you where you need to be so you can perform your duties effectively and...

    Show More

    Cons

    Benefits are good but could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for supporting your employees and providing them with the tools to succeed!

    Extra Space Storage2018-09-27
  8. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time

    Pros

    Work-life balance, employees live core values, great work space, upper management is personable.

    Cons

    Health insurance premiums are high.

    Extra Space Storage2018-09-27
  9. "A Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time

    Pros

    Upper Management, Bonuses, Benefits, Training

    Cons

    dental benefits, not a lot of holidays off

    Advice to Management

    More Holidays Off, Better salaries, Hours of work-start earlier and leave earlier.

    Extra Space Storage2018-09-26
  10. "Really Appreciate Our Hard Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time

    Pros

    All levels of upper management listen to your ideas and really encourage you to do your best. They're always there when you need them. There are great rewards and benefits to working for this company. The hours are fantastic and can be flexible if an unavoidable situation happens.

    Cons

    Assistant managers get bounced around to different stores a lot. They don't have a set store and their commute can be long. Mileage pay out doesn't seem like a lot for our errand runs.

    Extra Space Storage2018-09-25
Found 1007 reviews