Extra Space Storage "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Extra Space Storage Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1007 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Extra Space Storage CEO Joe Margolis
Joe Margolis
429 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work- life balance: family is important(in 115 reviews)

  • "We are closed on Sundays which makes a perfect family day(in 45 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons this job is the best(in 27 reviews)

  • "It’s cult minded everyone steps on each other to get ahead dms and upper management suck no help(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Live On Site- Store Manager in Derry, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, a company that cares about their employees, great benefits.

    Cons

    Working Saturdays, no overtime and not every holiday off.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-20
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Bloomfield, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a great work life balance! The District Manager is always there to help if you need anything or have issues. Out of the few other storage companies I have worked with, Extra Space is by far the best when it comes to concern for the customer and goes the extra mile for the customer.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on listening to your employees and providing outstanding customer service.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-18
  3. "A genuinely good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Bloomfield, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay (Received a $1.5 dollar raise switching to this company in the same business and market) Robust training through a dedicated trainer, videos, and written procedures. Straightforward and simple job Professional workplace Solid work-life balance

    Cons

    Experience varies drastically between which DM or DTL you work under Miscommunications are not uncommon - be willing to adapt/take initiative

    Advice to Management

    Having a new trainee evaluated by a different DTL before leaving training will allow for differences in style/priorities to be addressed early.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-18
  4. "ESS Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facility Service Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work / life balance, competitive salary, employee recognition, having all of the tools necessary to perform our jobs.

    Cons

    I have no Cons here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-18
  5. "Bureaucratic Corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time

    Pros

    Decent office with a cool view. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    No culture whatsoever. Too much oversight and permission needed from upper management over the smallest decisions. No office perks besides a coffee machine.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-27
  6. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. I like who I work with. Good focus of work tasks. Competitive Salary.

    Cons

    It takes too long to accumulate PTO hours. You have to work here 5 years before you can earn at a faster rate. Suggest changing the tenure to 3 years to earn at a faster rate. Insurance is pricey for what you get. HSA is good.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-12
  7. "Great environment/people, subpar compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cottonwood Heights, UT
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life balance is good. If I occasionally (once or twice a month) need to work from home even that is supported. I really like a lot of the people.

    Cons

    The entire compensation package is mediocre at best. This may simply be the perspective of a software engineer in a company that refuses to accept the reality that they are a tech company more than a real estate company, but the fact remains. Jobs I held before this offered more pay, literally twice as much PTO, and better health benefits that costed less. This creates an interesting paradigm. On the one hand, the fact...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve pay, benefits, and (or at the very least) PTO or it's only a matter of time before your most valuable assets are enticed away by better offers.

    Extra Space Storage2019-06-13
  8. "They will teach you to run a business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, decent PTO, work-life balance

    Cons

    Depending on where you work, the customers are shady. Also you will be occasionally shopped

    Advice to Management

    Limit the amount of shops. I got shopped 3 times this month, it takes away time from things that are important to do,

    Extra Space Storage2019-05-29
  9. "Great company culture and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Property Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love the flexibility and work/life balance that Extra Space provides!

    Cons

    Not as much room for growth within the accounting department.

    Extra Space Storage2019-05-08
  10. "Really enjoy working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant Manager in Cottonwood Heights, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Extra Space Storage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love the work life balance that is here at Extra Space. Everyone here is friendly. 2 weeks for paternity. Great corporate parties. Modern corporate office. Company continues to have a lot of growth.

    Cons

    I wish the health insurance was better here. Would like to have more retention of employees in this department by offering more competitive pay and benefits.

    Extra Space Storage2019-05-07
Found 1007 reviews