FMC Technologies Product Design Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

FMC Technologies Product Design Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
57%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
FMC Technologies CEO John T. Gremp
John T. Gremp
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "An overall experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Design Engineer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FMC Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The design based job. The work is recognised.

    Cons

    The overall job salary is low

    FMC Technologies2012-10-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Product design engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Design Engineer in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FMC Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work timings young workplace, interact with multiple regions, may involve travel abroad for short durations and subsidised canteen facilities for employees

    Cons

    Satellite engineering centre that doesn't receive competent engineering work and employees are made to sign bonds after joining if given any travel opportunities abroad.

    Continue reading
    FMC Technologies2015-12-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to learn..but pathetic culture!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Design Engineer in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good expouser if you get opportunity to go onsite..

    Cons

    height of favoritism..nepotism..crappy culture..unprofessional people and dictatorship!

    Continue reading
    FMC Technologies2012-07-21
  4. "Pretty OK Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Design Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. 1-1/2 month AWS is very rare. Bonus payouts were OK. Company transport was nice. Interesting work, if you like poring over procedures, specs and drawings all day. There are some rather strange people in the higher echelons of management who never connected with us and said some questionable things, and they never could understand why we weren't happy. However, some mid tier managers and seniors were very helpful and I believe they genuinely wanted to grow people, so they were a good counterbalance.

    Cons

    There was a crisis after the market downturn in 2015 (retrenchment, too) and I don't think it was well handled on all levels of management. Production could also have been more systematic.

    Continue reading
    FMC Technologies2019-01-29
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Downward spiral continues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Product Design Engineer in Kongsberg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at FMC Technologies for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay Some great people to work with all across the world. In good times, budgeting is there for project needs.

    Cons

    This merger with Technip seems to have been negotiated by John Kerry - there is no upside for FMC employees that we can see, except maybe golden parachutes for executives. We can't seem to escape a history of racial and anti-gay lawsuits. Recent hires for leadership roles are either retreads from our other businesses, or are unneeded castoffs from other companies in the industry who jumped to FMC to revive a dead career. Reputation inside the company for having a completely incompetent and untrustworthy HR team.

    Continue reading
    FMC Technologies2016-05-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Product Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Product Design Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FMC Technologies for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment. Challenging work.

    Cons

    Old, inefficient and stringent processes.

    FMC Technologies2015-10-21
  7. "Cliquey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Design Engineer in Stephenville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of training. If you're new to the Oil & Gas industry, this is THE place to start. Lots of experienced engineers do not hesitate to train you and get you upto speed in a short amount of time. The database system; including SAP, part reports, teamcenter UG interface and overall Engineering infrastructure is one of the easiest to work with. When market share is in FMC's favor, workplace can be absolutely fun. You also have the freedom to travel to sites and learn as much as you desire. Also very customer oriented company.

    Cons

    Nepotism and cliquish behavior in certain departments (outside technical) that you'd rely on to get work done. Their managers too fall in the same category; if you dare say a word concerning that issue, you'd be seen as a trouble maker. Limited engineering resources in areas other than subsea. Surface tech could use a whole reboot with money and resources allocated to exceed in performance.

    Continue reading
    FMC Technologies2015-08-10
  8. "Great place to start off as fresh graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Design Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FMC Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and worklife balance

    Cons

    Department management problem in terms of managing people resources causes irregularity on sourcing people to projects

    Continue reading
    FMC Technologies2013-10-01
  9. " Designing and optimizing oil and gas drilling equipments such as Christmas Trees, Wellheads."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Product Design Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FMC Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good office Working Environment with design background

    Cons

    Not much exposure to offshore like installation and service

    FMC Technologies2013-02-27
  10. Helpful (6)

    "FMC Technologies, Dunfermline is not open for people from different backgrounds. You can feel insecurity during the work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Design Engineer in Dunfermline, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FMC Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good shop floor people - good pay good company with 25 % bad people - who are racist, not approachable

    Cons

    DIRTY politics - I had too loose my job because of the management and mainly becuase i was from non scottish background. People wont give you opportunity if you are from minority. Being English (White) I had many problems settling down. The people in Engineering are unfreindly and not welcoming. Me and my asian gf both had to loose the jobs because of some cheap comments people made on the personalities. Management failed to transfer our jobs to england or any other place.

    Continue reading
    FMC Technologies2012-12-02
Found 12 reviews