FRHI Hotels & Resorts "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

FRHI Hotels & Resorts Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 106 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
FRHI Hotels & Resorts CEO William R. Fatt
William R. Fatt
33 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be a challenge in hospitality(in 6 reviews)

  • "Market positioning has changed since Accor took over(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Catering Sales Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    - Good environment and culture ; - Good career opportunities - Compensations and benefits

    Cons

    - Work / Life balance - Lack of support

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2018-10-08
  2. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-Life balance, company culture, benefits

    Cons

    Pay, pay, pay, pay, pay.

    Advice to Management

    Higher salares

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2018-02-16
  3. "Good reputation with incompetent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dynamic work experiences, most of employees are genuinely caring and helpful. Gracious benefits. Opportunity of relocation. Leadership training opportunities. Travel opportunities.

    Cons

    Incompetent management. High turn over. Great hourly wage but low salary with unrealistic expectations. Politics. Entitlement issue from inexperienced young management. No Work-life balance. No proactive feedback from management. Double standards.

    Advice to Management

    None. They never cared to listen for improvement. They need major restructuring with proper management team with professional business experiences.

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2017-08-04
  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful people Great perks (hotel deals) Excellent opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be a challenge in hospitality.

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2016-12-14
  5. "Zero stars if I could"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Honestly.... none. Some of the team were amazing people, and I made some solid friendships during my brief but miserable time working for Fairmont.

    Cons

    The worst and most demeaning job I have ever had. Where to even begin? Forget about work life balance. I was paid a $40,000 salary, which was already poor to begin with given my responsibilities, but that was based on the expectation I would be working 8 hours a day, 40 hours a week. Well. I was regularly expected to be at work for 12 straight hours, on most days. Since there was no overtime offered for managers,... that meant I was forced to give these people 4 hours of my work and sweat every day for free. I'd regularly be at work from 5:45AM - 6:45PM. Oftentimes without a lunch break. Speaking of lunch... This was a hotel. They had immense quantities of good quality food around. But the staff cafeteria was a sad hole in the basement, furnished with discarded pieces from around the hotel. The quality of the food was outrageously bad. Stale pasta, greasy cuts of "meat" that were more sinew and bone than anything else, all swimming in oily sauce. Oh and regular staff had to pay $5 for this. I was yelled at every single day by my boss, often in front of people. It was a soul crushing, dispiriting, miserable experience I would not wish on anyone. Fairmont talks a big game about what a great company they are to work for. It's a lie. Unpaid training happens regularly. Abuse from above is constant. Ya the the employee discount at Fairmont properties around the world seems like a great deal. Until you realize you will never have the time to travel. If you're thinking of working for these slave drivers, RUN AWAY. As a parting example, in the past year 4 people came and went in my old position. What a vote of confidence!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect your middle management and your staff. Treat people like human beings. Understand that driving someone into the dirt so that they quit in 6 months and you hire another innocent before ruining them as well is not a sustainable strategy.

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2016-07-30
  6. "Senior Tax Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth, Great Team, Work Life Balance

    Cons

    None .None .None .None .None .

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2016-04-07
  7. "Awesome Co-Op term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Analytics Intern in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts

    Pros

    Nice open office space on the 34th floor overlooking Toronto, amazing coffee machines. Supervisor is nice and experienced in working with Co-ops. Great work-life balance

    Cons

    Gets spikes in workload before major holidays ( in marketing analytics) but otherwise the workload is relatively light.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Great place for Co-op

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2016-01-20
  8. "Great hospitality company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Marketing & Communications 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fabulous hotels (esp. on Raffles side), great leaders, opportunities for growth. I loved the fact that you are encouraged to be proactive and creative, and come up with project proposals. The company is really growing too, with interesting international opportunities coming up in the next 1-2 years.

    Cons

    Work-life balance (but that's hospitality for you) and slow HR: build your own career moves

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2014-11-26
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great hotel company, very reputed in the industry - Great work life balance

    Cons

    - Change takes such a long time due to lack of urgency from the senior leadership team - Too top heavy organization

    Advice to Management

    - Act fast

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2014-09-10
  10. "Good company to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Analyst in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FRHI Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not very hectic schedule. Work life balance

    Cons

    However work is not much challenging

    Advice to Management

    Not much contro in Singapore. Most decisions are taken at Canada HQ

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2013-07-03
Found 106 reviews