FactSet Software Engineer II Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Software Engineer II

FactSet Software Engineer II Reviews

Updated 28 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
97%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
FactSet President and CEO Phil Snow (no image)
Phil Snow
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FactSet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people who are interested in technology Good work life balance Good leave policies Work from home available depending on your role(4 per month) Half Yearly team outing. Approachable senior management

    Cons

    Salary offered is good but people who work here easily get better offers. Lots of people leaving because of this, which is sad.

    Continue reading
    FactSet2019-07-28
  2. "Work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FactSet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good kick-start company for starters Excellent work-life balance No strict timings Flexible holidays (best thing)

    Cons

    Monotonous job after a while Expect partial behavior from few team leads towards certain employees

    FactSet2019-02-15
  3. "Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FactSet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. You are not pushed to complete things as fast as possible. Work happens at your pace until there is something important. 2. There is always someone to help you if you are struck. Not knowing things is not looking down upon, you will be asked to learn it. 3. Salary is good for the work we do. 4. Oncall is interesting. 5. Work from home. 6. Global culture.

    Cons

    Once we learn the tricks of the trade there is a lean learning curve.

    Continue reading
    FactSet2017-09-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer II in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FactSet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best work-life balance Good compensation Decent benefits Good management Nice appraisal cycle. Value for the work and ratings.

    Cons

    Nothing to think about. Technology at some teams could be more recent.

    FactSet2017-06-09
  5. "Good for industry starters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer II in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FactSet

    Pros

    Independent of the team, the work life balance is good. An opportunity to take time, learn and build software. A good place for industry starters. Pay is at par with the major companies. Nice benefits like subsidized food and free cabs.

    Cons

    Lacks professionalism. Learning curve saturates over a period of time. Old technologies.

    FactSet2016-01-30
  6. "software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer II in Hyderābād
    Recommends

    I worked at FactSet

    Pros

    Wonderful experience, awesome work-life balance, not much work pressure at all, free food, cab, best place to stay long term

    Cons

    management is friendly, I can not remember any

    FactSet2015-07-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not For People Who Are Technology Enthusiasts or CS Grads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer II in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FactSet for more than a year

    Pros

    1) Good benefits but can give more(More LTA, Sodexo coupons, Gym Reimbursements etc) 2) Some great leaders in the org you can really look up to 3) You can always find time to play 4) Work from home

    Cons

    I must mention first that what happens with you in a company is much more strongly tied to the team you work with rather than the entire company especially if the company is very big. 1) The engineers don't have a lot of say. Things run the way they already are. Less innovation. More support work. Less development work. 2) Things move really slow. Months are spent in discussing the specs. 3) Very few people from Computer Science Background and those who understand the difference between doing things and doing them optimally. "Get the work done fast and asap" is the cry. 4) No "Code Reviews". Less focus on Unit Testing. 5) Too much hierarchy. You join as Software Engineer I, then you become SE II then SE III and then Senior Software Engineer. Also, there are no strict guidelines that you can follow to change your CPP level. It is your manager's discretion. 6) Too much politics

    Continue reading
    FactSet2015-06-11
  8. "Love the work life balance here :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FactSet

    Pros

    Everyone here is so friendly and supporting. One can learn a lot from this company

    Cons

    .

    FactSet2015-01-05
  9. "Good work life balance and perks at work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FactSet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The peers are extremely helpful and always give their opinions

    Cons

    The immigration team lacks a little in helping candidates and that sometimes cause Visa Issues.

    FactSet2019-07-19
  10. "Great first job experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer-II 

    I worked at FactSet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits,Good training program,Great people to work with

    Cons

    Sleepless nights and thinking if your code will pass code review and break everything.

    FactSet2019-02-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 23 reviews