FactSet Software Engineer II Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

FactSet Software Engineer II Reviews

Updated Feb 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Phil Snow
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer II in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FactSet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best work-life balance Good compensation Decent benefits Good management Nice appraisal cycle. Value for the work and ratings.

    Cons

    Nothing to think about. Technology at some teams could be more recent.

    FactSet2017-06-09
  2. "Work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FactSet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good kick-start company for starters Excellent work-life balance No strict timings Flexible holidays (best thing)

    Cons

    Monotonous job after a while Expect partial behavior from few team leads towards certain employees

    FactSet2019-02-15
  3. "Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FactSet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. You are not pushed to complete things as fast as possible. Work happens at your pace until there is something important. 2. There is always someone to help you if you are struck. Not knowing things is not looking down upon, you will be asked to learn it. 3. Salary is good for the work we do. 4. Oncall is interesting. 5. Work from home. 6. Global culture.

    Cons

    Once we learn the tricks of the trade there is a lean learning curve.

    Advice to Management

    None

    FactSet2017-09-05
  4. "Good for industry starters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer II in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FactSet

    Pros

    Independent of the team, the work life balance is good. An opportunity to take time, learn and build software. A good place for industry starters. Pay is at par with the major companies. Nice benefits like subsidized food and free cabs.

    Cons

    Lacks professionalism. Learning curve saturates over a period of time. Old technologies.

    FactSet2016-01-30
  5. "software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer II in Hyderābād
    Recommends

    I worked at FactSet

    Pros

    Wonderful experience, awesome work-life balance, not much work pressure at all, free food, cab, best place to stay long term

    Cons

    management is friendly, I can not remember any

    FactSet2015-07-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not For People Who Are Technology Enthusiasts or CS Grads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer II in Hyderābād
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FactSet for more than a year

    Pros

    1) Good benefits but can give more(More LTA, Sodexo coupons, Gym Reimbursements etc) 2) Some great leaders in the org you can really look up to 3) You can always find time to play 4) Work from home

    Cons

    I must mention first that what happens with you in a company is much more strongly tied to the team you work with rather than the entire company especially if the company is very big. 1) The engineers don't have a lot of say. Things run the way they already are. Less innovation. More support work. Less development work. 2) Things move really slow. Months are spent in discussing the specs. 3) Very few people...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management indulges in offering different CTCs to guys from different colleges who end up working on the same project in the same team. I don't approve of this. Please don't discriminate. Work on the HR policies. They are so company centric that any employee ends up feeling at loss. They have the worst HR policies.

    FactSet2015-06-11
  7. "Love the work life balance here :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FactSet

    Pros

    Everyone here is so friendly and supporting. One can learn a lot from this company

    Cons

    .

    FactSet2015-01-05
  8. "Great first job experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Software Engineer-II 

      I worked at FactSet full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great Benefits,Good training program,Great people to work with

      Cons

      Sleepless nights and thinking if your code will pass code review and break everything.

      FactSet2019-02-09
    • "Very relaxed and friendly company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer II in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at FactSet full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Free lunch Mon-Thur Very approachable people Working from home is possible

      Cons

      Slow code turnaround Lower pay for the sector No details regarding expected growth for a person

      FactSet2018-01-29
    • Helpful (4)

      "Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer II in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at FactSet full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Free lunch Monday - Thursday - Snacks in the office - Nice environment, the culture with other employees at my level is what is keeping me here - Old tech stack, but moving to new technologies. - Good work life balance, can work from home.

      Cons

      - Little career progression, all opportunities go to those in the american offices - It's supposed to be a "global" company, but it's really an american company with offices elsewhere in the world - A medium sized company struggling to transition into a large company. This is evident from hiring freezes and budget cuts (fruit was downgraded recently). - Paid well as a graduate, but underpaid compared to competitors...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      To make this company "a career destination for the best and brightest" you really need to move opportunities outside of the american offices, and pay a competitive salary. We're vastly underpaid compared to our american colleagues. The lack of career oppportunities and low salary is the reason why everyone leaves between one and five years. Not many stay to be long term employees. Over the last year or so, the startup...

      Show More
      FactSet2017-05-22
    Found 21 reviews