FedEx Freight City Driver Reviews

Updated 4 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
58%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
FedEx Freight President and CEO John A. Smith
John A. Smith
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "An OK Place to Drive For"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Driver in Lewisville, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FedEx Freight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay overtime after 8 hours. Their pay currently starts out at $22.08 for city drivers. There are a lot of career opportunities to move around in the company. Uniforms are provided at no cost every year, unless you want extras.

    Cons

    There is a lot of racism with the dispatchers and supervisors at this location. When you first become a city driver you get less than 8 hours a day, have to work the dock, and sometimes have to do road runs.

    FedEx Freight2016-12-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome I love my job as a city driver."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Driver in Harlingen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FedEx Freight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits along with great pay. Monday thru Friday work schedule with weekend work if you want it.

    Cons

    Seniority is a killer they should go based on work performance.

    FedEx Freight2016-10-12
  3. "City driver"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Driver in Lima, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FedEx Freight full-time

    Pros

    Best job I've ever had! Beats the crap outta factory work. Great pay no weekend work

    Cons

    Insurance could use some tweaking

    FedEx Freight2016-09-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "LTL City Driver"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Driver in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FedEx Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, Close to home

    Cons

    Not very many shift options.

    FedEx Freight2016-08-23
  5. "City Driver"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    City Driver/P&Amp; D/Dock in Concord, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FedEx Freight

    Pros

    Pay is good and Benifits.

    Cons

    You work for it and they make sure of it.

    Continue reading
    FedEx Freight2016-08-20
  6. "driver"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    City Driver in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FedEx Freight

    Pros

    Good pay benefits work environment m-f weekends off

    Cons

    Strict work rules they try to enforce but cant.. but you can get caught when no one else does. Hard to get time off when business levels are high.

    Continue reading
    FedEx Freight2016-07-09
  7. "Management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Driver Sales Associate in Duryea, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at FedEx Freight full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Many opportunities to advance career. Have learned my new skills.

    Cons

    Hours of operations.

    FedEx Freight2016-01-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "City Driver"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    City Driver in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FedEx Freight

    Pros

    Very busy work, days went buy quickly. Great structure!

    Cons

    Different start times daily for low seniority employees.

    Continue reading
    FedEx Freight2015-12-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "City Driver"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - City Driver in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FedEx Freight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, well maintained equipment, good pay, good benefits, a pension plan for a non-union company!

    Cons

    None, if you show up, do your job, remain accident free, you wil have no issues. Drivers do work the dock, like most other freight companies.

    Continue reading
    FedEx Freight2015-11-25
  10. "Overall has been a positive work environment."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Driver in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FedEx Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Comfort and stability of a major corporation. Large network, nice benefits, decent PTO, good insurance. Promotes and hires from within very often.

    Cons

    Somewhat slow moving since its such a large corporation. Some policies and operations are convoluted. It seems like non productive workers aren't addressed enough.

    Continue reading
    FedEx Freight2015-11-26
Found 70 reviews