FedEx Freight Dockworker Reviews

Updated 30 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
FedEx Freight President and CEO John A. Smith
John A. Smith
1 Rating
  1. "FedEx Freight"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dockworker-Part Time in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FedEx Freight part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, Good Atmosphere, 401k and Pension, Tuition Reimbursement, Great Insurance.

    Cons

    Tend to Over-Hire. Hiring wrong people, etc.

    FedEx Freight2020-03-25
  2. "Overall good place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dockworker in Huber Heights, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FedEx Freight part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good and benefits for part-time employees

    Cons

    Upper management can be frustrating and accountability is so inconsistent

    Continue reading
    FedEx Freight2020-03-30
  3. "People matter here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dockworker-Part Time in Lewisville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FedEx Freight part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture of the North Dallas Inbound team is unmatched. Praise is public, and anytime someone makes a mistake (forgetting to load part of a shipment, etc) your name will be called out over the P.A. by a supervisor, but only in the context of “Hey (name) come see me”. That method of calling people to see a supervisor is also used for routine stuff, so there’s no stigma around having your name called out. Whenever I’ve made a mistake, the supervisor would point out the error, provide a solution (go pull that freight off the trailer [since you’d easily recognize it] and put it in the trailer next door) and there’s an understanding that human error happens and that we’re all just glad we caught the error when it was still easy to fix. There are meaningful incentives for doing good work and staying safe. I don’t know who cooks the burgers for the 30-days injury free cookouts, but whoever does should do that full-time, best burgers anywhere! Mike, “Smitty”, Kieth, Theresa and Adrian are all superb supervisors. One of them brought home-made cookies to share with the entire crew (that had to be an all-day endeavor) and there’s a sincere friendliness behind each “Good Morning!”. The production goals are incredibly realistic but still challenging (don’t expect to hit it every single day), and not every single dock-worker, but the vast majority will pitch in when help is needed. If you have 2,000 pounds of truck parts or large sacks of flour fall over because it wasn’t secured properly during transport, you can always ask for help, but usually if it spills over on the dock or if the toppling over is audible, you don’t even have to ask because you’ll usually have help within a few seconds. While Michael Lancaster (not exactly sure what his job title is) does have a great sense of humor, one time my badge wouldn’t let me through an office door to return a piece of equipment and I said something along the lines of “Oh, I guess I’m not important enough to go in there”. Without missing a beat, he fired back “No, you are important, even if the door isn’t smart enough to recognize it”. Having not made the board of employees hitting a certain number (again, attainable if you work at it) for a couple days like I usually had, this was good to hear.

    Cons

    Like any job, there’s always some little things like a couple employees that think honking more times than someone else gives you the right-of-way, a limited number of employees with trailer-keys can get tedious, and if you’re late, you might be stuck with a forklift with bumpy tires or slow hydros that might make your day unpleasant, but of the dozen or so jobs I’ve worked, this is the first where I come home more energized than when I went. The waiting list to get a full-time position is long, everyone I know that left this job did so in order to get full-time hours elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    FedEx Freight2020-02-14
  4. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dockworker in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FedEx Freight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, uniforms provided twice a year you choose from catalog and boots reimbursements.

    Cons

    If a full time dockworker, limited day shift positions. Part timers get mostly outbound and morning shifts. (currently at my location) Freezing cold in the winter times.

    FedEx Freight2019-11-08
  5. "Terrible company"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Dockworker-Part Time 

    I have been working at FedEx Freight part-time

    Pros

    Above average pay, and great benefits

    Cons

    Treat employees like slaves, they dont care about anything else but getting shipments in and out.

    FedEx Freight2019-11-21
  6. "Not very good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dockworker in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FedEx Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Their pay per hour structure.

    Cons

    Pretty much everything else there.

    FedEx Freight2019-08-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Overall good place to work"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Dockworker 

    I have been working at FedEx Freight part-time

    Pros

    Weekends off Done by 12 Benefits Pay

    Cons

    Part time Working in cold/heat Drivers with attitudes

    FedEx Freight2019-05-07
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good pay, but not many hours/wk (20)"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dockworker in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FedEx Freight part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is very good You get forklift certified Work is not too bad, building/tearing down decking in trailers and loading/unloading freight.

    Cons

    Morning shift started at 5 am, and would only last till 9:30 or 10:00, so most weeks were about 22 hours of work, Tuesday to Saturday. Evening shift is a bit better, start around 4pm and work till 9 or 10. This led to checks being about $300 each week. Room to advance, but you have to put in a lot of time to do so, which means several years to get the next position. Lots of ghetto workers that drive the forklifts like madmen, very unsafe at Houston Jackrabbit Rd location.

    Continue reading
    FedEx Freight2019-03-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fair job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dockworker in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FedEx Freight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is good for the work

    Cons

    Hot in summer. Cold in winter

    Continue reading
    FedEx Freight2019-02-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dockworker in Saint Charles, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FedEx Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, good management, plenty of hours.

    Cons

    Don’t really have any downsides to mention.

    FedEx Freight2019-01-23
Found 80 reviews