FedEx Freight Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

FedEx Freight Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
FedEx Freight President and CEO John A. Smith
John A. Smith
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay for the work performed(in 153 reviews)

  • "Great Pay and learning experience(in 120 reviews)

Cons
  • "Part time hours going to full time(in 59 reviews)

  • "Part-time hours no fulltime position(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Import Operations,Asst Freight Forwarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Import Operations, Assistant Freight Forwarding in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at FedEx Freight full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    To take a important role in business operations to give an efficient and effective solution that would help the organization to achieve the optimised result.

    Cons

    Challenges in day to day working which will make learn new things

    FedEx Freight2016-12-04
  2. "People matter here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dockworker-Part Time in Lewisville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FedEx Freight part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture of the North Dallas Inbound team is unmatched. Praise is public, and anytime someone makes a mistake (forgetting to load part of a shipment, etc) your name will be called out over the P.A. by a supervisor, but only in the context of “Hey (name) come see me”. That method of calling people to see a supervisor is also used for routine stuff, so there’s no stigma around having your name called out. Whenever I’ve made a mistake, the supervisor would point out the error, provide a solution (go pull that freight off the trailer [since you’d easily recognize it] and put it in the trailer next door) and there’s an understanding that human error happens and that we’re all just glad we caught the error when it was still easy to fix. There are meaningful incentives for doing good work and staying safe. I don’t know who cooks the burgers for the 30-days injury free cookouts, but whoever does should do that full-time, best burgers anywhere! Mike, “Smitty”, Kieth, Theresa and Adrian are all superb supervisors. One of them brought home-made cookies to share with the entire crew (that had to be an all-day endeavor) and there’s a sincere friendliness behind each “Good Morning!”. The production goals are incredibly realistic but still challenging (don’t expect to hit it every single day), and not every single dock-worker, but the vast majority will pitch in when help is needed. If you have 2,000 pounds of truck parts or large sacks of flour fall over because it wasn’t secured properly during transport, you can always ask for help, but usually if it spills over on the dock or if the toppling over is audible, you don’t even have to ask because you’ll usually have help within a few seconds. While Michael Lancaster (not exactly sure what his job title is) does have a great sense of humor, one time my badge wouldn’t let me through an office door to return a piece of equipment and I said something along the lines of “Oh, I guess I’m not important enough to go in there”. Without missing a beat, he fired back “No, you are important, even if the door isn’t smart enough to recognize it”. Having not made the board of employees hitting a certain number (again, attainable if you work at it) for a couple days like I usually had, this was good to hear.

    Cons

    Like any job, there’s always some little things like a couple employees that think honking more times than someone else gives you the right-of-way, a limited number of employees with trailer-keys can get tedious, and if you’re late, you might be stuck with a forklift with bumpy tires or slow hydros that might make your day unpleasant, but of the dozen or so jobs I’ve worked, this is the first where I come home more energized than when I went. The waiting list to get a full-time position is long, everyone I know that left this job did so in order to get full-time hours elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    FedEx Freight2020-02-14
  3. "Excellent brand and benefits. Solid customer and growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FedEx Freight full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent brand and benefits. Solid customer and growth.

    Cons

    Only part time dock associates. Part time associates not reliable to report to duty.

    FedEx Freight2020-02-13
  4. "Good benefits and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Associate in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FedEx Freight part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits and salary are great. The health insurance is very reasonably priced and the pay is good for the position.

    Cons

    The job can be very high stressed and fast paced. Many terminals are ran by the good old boy systems. The managers have favorites and they don't hide it. The employees are micro managed. Your job performance is based in a spreadsheet. They hire under qualified people for management

    Continue reading
    FedEx Freight2020-02-15
  5. "Forklift an trucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Doc Associate in Cambridge, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FedEx Freight full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Pay an benefits. Nice drivers!

    Cons

    3am start time. Am overtime daily

    FedEx Freight2020-01-29
  6. "Not worth the stress!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Forest View, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at FedEx Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is Great for mid level management

    Cons

    Upper management, no work/ life balance

    FedEx Freight2020-02-10
  7. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver 

    I have been working at FedEx Freight full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay, ok benefits, good co-workers, well maintained equipment

    Cons

    Work not always steady, which is common in most LTL companies

    FedEx Freight2020-02-10
  8. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - City Driver in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FedEx Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Company to work for

    Cons

    The cab video is helpful plus harmful

    Continue reading
    FedEx Freight2020-01-24
  9. "Good pay, bad work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at FedEx Freight full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you want to get paid competitively and have a steady income, this is the place for you. It is a fortune 500 company that everyone in one shape or form has heard or seen before and from the looks of it isn't going anywhere anytime soon. Pay for additional schooling for PT&FT. Opportunities for growth if you are willing to relocate. Decent healthcare, vision, and dental offered for both PT&FT.

    Cons

    If you are salaried forget about your family. The industry in general not just FedEx is designed to be operating when everyone else is either asleep or working. There is only one shift that you might be able to achieve a decent work/life balance but that one is usually hoarded by one or two people and you will spend your entire career trying to get in that role while having to pass on the actual import stuff that is happening outside of work.

    Continue reading
    FedEx Freight2020-01-23
  10. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver 

    I have been working at FedEx Freight full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is good Benefits are good Home everyday Off weekends Good atmosphere

    Cons

    Usually have to start on nights

    FedEx Freight2020-01-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 976 reviews