FireEye Systems Engineer Reviews

Updated 6 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
FireEye CEO/Board Member Kevin Mandia
Kevin Mandia
6 Ratings
  1. "Might be great when good enough would do"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Industry leading intelligence and services. Gold standard in breach response

    Cons

    Marketplace can’t appreciate the excellence. Good enough, is, well, good enough.

    FireEye2020-02-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FireEye full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fantastic company culture, good work-life balance. Huge focus on making all employees feel welcome and appreciated. Great HR initiatives to boost morale. C-level executives are open and transparent with a very clear business strategy. I think the company treats it's employees very well, and as a result everyone seems to have a very positive attitude and is happy to help each other.

    Cons

    Products are priced very high, making them extremely difficult to sell. Some of the tech works very well, but with strong competition at a fraction of the price, very few businesses are able to justify the price tag for something that is only slightly more effective, and in some cases even weaker. Soul destroying to lose almost every deal at the last hurdle because the cost cannot be justified.

    Continue reading
    FireEye2019-10-14
  3. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FireEye full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Good work/life balance -Good benefits: Tuition Reimbursement, Paternity/Maternity leave, unlimited PTO, stocked fridges and snacks

    Cons

    -No 401K matching -Raises were not annually, and if they did happen most times it was just stock that you lose if you get laid off or quit, not an actual increase to your base pay

    FireEye2019-07-17
  4. Helpful (5)

    "A great place to be"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An amazing brand, a CEO that is passionate and gets it. Mandiant is the premier resource for cyber reach response and they do more IR than anyone else. It’s a powerful security story that stands apart from the rest of the competition, as frontline intelligence is fed into protection and detection services. It’s a an industry leading innovation cycle.

    Cons

    None that I can see beyond gap in 401k match. They do a good job of supplementing that with other benefits though.

    Continue reading
    FireEye2018-04-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Leader in Cyber Security"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Systems Engineer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    FireEye is the de-facto leader in defeating the advanced attackers. No other company can make the same claims when it comes to our capabilities. No other company has incident response capabilities like that of Mandiant. It is an exciting place to work if you are truly passionate about cyber security. Great Benefits, no matching 401k, but the Stock Purchase Plan is great and you can make some good interest from it, comparable to a 401k match if used to the max %15 contribution.

    Cons

    Large number of products and services complicate sales process. It is difficult to stay abreast of fluid product changes when there are frequent updates that are not communicated as effectively as they could be. Product road-maps have had a history of slipping, but I am optimistic that they will be adhered to in the future.

    Continue reading
    FireEye2016-12-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Ok for some."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FireEye full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits for US employees was great. My understanding was that the case was not the same for other countries. The teams worked well considering the lack of direction from management.

    Cons

    The organization and management was scattered providing little direction for the groups I was a part of. I often found that priorities changed from day to day and even hour to hour.

    Continue reading
    FireEye2016-10-25
  7. Helpful (32)

    "It used to be so great, now just a sinking ship."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay was pretty good. A lot of really great people, especially the early people, like myself. The technologies are pretty innovative and mostly excellent. Free lunches at HQ. Although, a lot of people here seem to complain about the food.

    Cons

    Leadership completely out of touch with reality. Super Cronyism in the upper ranks. I watched many people who were at the company early on, get pushed out of their positions, so some chum buddies of the VPs could move in. They just kept stacking more and more expensive management on the company to milk it for all it was worth. Former CEO ran a great company into the ground. Did shady things, like making a second IPO and cashed out a significant amount of his own stock, while those of us in early were "blacked out" from Sales until after the stock had dived down. Zero appreciation for those early people that were crucially important to building FEYE into the company it is today. Although I was there for over 4.5 years, and played an integral part in building the company, they decided to lay me off with no option to move into another group and with less severance package than I would have expected, considering my significant contributions to the company. The comp plan for the SE team has been in flux for the last couple years. Deals I've worked on don't even show up in the comp system. I've been getting "recoverable advances" instead of commissions, until they "solidify" the new comp plan. At the last Sales Kick Off, the VPs actually made a joke about the comp plan being so messed up, as if it was a slap in the face to all of us. Here it is months later and still not solid comp plan. Lots of quality talent has left FireEye.

    Continue reading
    FireEye2016-08-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Consulting Sytems Engineer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye

    Pros

    Great Technology and well ahead of the competing products

    Cons

    Mgt direction, my thoughts are that they need to diverse in the portfolio and be more cloud freindly.

    Continue reading
    FireEye2016-08-17
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Fast growing company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FireEye full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great for people who aren't afraid of a challenge. - Competitive compensation plan. - Technology leader in market segment. - The people working at FireEye are some of the best in the security industry.

    Cons

    - Employee turnover, but I guess it's expected with fast growing companies. - Employee training/development was limited only to company technologies/products. - Niche market with increased competition.

    Continue reading
    FireEye2016-03-07
  10. "Be the next Security Avenger!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Milan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FireEye full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team of people, intelligence, technology, fun and professional growth! Work here means to be at the bleeding edge of Security, conscious of helping customers to achieve the state of defence against the ultimate advanced threats that they deserve.

    Cons

    If you're scared of meeting customers, living fast and challenge yourself and your preparation every day you wake up, this is not the place for you!

    Continue reading
    FireEye2015-08-31

    FireEye Response

    September 25, 2015Talent Acquisition Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so grateful for your feedback and are excited to hear you have been enjoying your time at FireEye. Thank you again for your review!

Found 14 reviews