First Niagara Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

First Niagara Bank Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 200 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
First Niagara Bank CEO Beth Mooney (no image)
Beth Mooney
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent job culture, superior environment, smart work-life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • "Great place great people in all locations(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "No complaints regarding FNB, but lots of issues after Key Bank conversion(in 15 reviews)

  • "First Niagara Bank will be only a memory(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at First Niagara Bank full-time

    Pros

    Loved it there. It was a great place to work

    Cons

    Some information from management didn’t get to employees easily

    First Niagara Bank2019-06-06
  2. "Treated you like a person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Buffalo, NY

    I worked at First Niagara Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    incentive driven sales goals, decent group of managers, and other employees at lower level were great to get to know

    Cons

    no much time off phone, had to incorporate sales pitch even when you could tell customers did not want to waste their time and wanted simple answers like what their current balance is

    First Niagara Bank2019-05-11
  3. "Not my ideal career path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Relationship Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at First Niagara Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Micromanagement and lack of appreciation for employees.

    First Niagara Bank2019-03-28
  4. "Not a bad job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Head Teller 

    I have been working at First Niagara Bank full-time

    Pros

    job is easy, branch is usually slow

    Cons

    pay is not good and customers can be mean

    First Niagara Bank2019-03-03
  5. "Good pay and benefits, job, was essentially telemarketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Representative in Denton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Niagara Bank full-time

    Pros

    PTO, health insurance, regular workweek, you can get moved from teller to desk pretty easily, which garners a small increase in pay

    Cons

    Hard to move up to management; job is essentially telemarketing; everything is micromanaged. I had personal check-in and corrections despite being the top performer in the region.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on improving and checking in on the employees who are not contributing; if someone is performing above and beyond, then micromanagement to sell more shouts corporate greed instead of helping your customer get the products they need. This is not good for a company claiming to be non-profit.

    First Niagara Bank2019-01-30
  6. "System Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Amherst, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at First Niagara Bank for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fewer systems and complexity to navigate

    Cons

    Lots of red tape to get anything done

    Advice to Management

    Na

    First Niagara Bank2018-12-01
  7. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at First Niagara Bank full-time

    Pros

    Very committed to our customers Large enough to deliver top notch capabilities Small enough to be nimble - responding to the marketplace and customer demand

    Cons

    Did not have the brand recognition with some major vendors/suppliers so occasionally did not get their "A" team servicing us

    First Niagara Bank2018-09-14
  8. "Great Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at First Niagara Bank part-time

    Pros

    Great Company to work for! Awesome incentives

    Cons

    Long hours and understaffed at time

    First Niagara Bank2018-08-28
  9. "Great company to work for from 2014-2017"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at First Niagara Bank full-time

    Pros

    They offer a relaxed work place

    Cons

    Some multi site managers only focused on how one branch was doing

    First Niagara Bank2018-04-26
  10. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at First Niagara Bank full-time

    Pros

    They are a community focused bank

    Cons

    Nothing to add at this time

    First Niagara Bank2018-03-30
Found 200 reviews