Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1118 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Flight Centre Travel Group CEO Graham "Skroo" Turner
Graham "Skroo" Turner
580 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work hard/play hard - if you like that(in 57 reviews)

  • "Employee benefits ranging from health and wellbeing support to financial advice and travel perks(in 54 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Finance manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee engagement and recognition like reward, incentive, global gathering events etc

    Cons

    Transport services are not available

    Flight Centre Travel Group2018-12-02
  2. "Professional/work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Clerk in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional, work life balance, learning opportunities

    Cons

    8hrs+ working hours / full time but contract

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-11
  3. "Fun place to work, brilliant for sales experience and broadening worldwide travel knowledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Travel Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Brilliant fun, lovely people to work with, and so interesting to broaden geographical and cultural knowledge

    Cons

    Stressful when busy and meeting customer expectations. Heavy focus on sales and meeting monthly targets, but incentives and team motivation are used.

    Advice to Management

    Would be useful to encourage all consultants to focus on high attention to details as well as fast paced working and sales techniques.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-08
  4. "Don’t expect it to be easy. Need to be a good sales person to be successful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and lots of support, some good perks for consultants who perform well

    Cons

    It can depend on the store you are placed in as to how much enquiry and commission there is to be made. Pay is no good unless you are a high performer as it’s mainly commission based

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-02
  5. "Low Salary and long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues and team spirit.

    Cons

    Long hours and little support from managers.

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-12
  6. "Low pay but fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant 

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work. Will be rewarded for hard work. Opportunity to travel

    Cons

    To focused on numbers. Targets hard to achieve. Low pay unless you sell a crazy amount

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-11
  7. "Great place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time

    Pros

    Talented sales people can teach you a lot. You really become close with the consultants you work with

    Cons

    Although you learn a lot, it is stressful and not the most lucrative sales job

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-07
  8. "Travel consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Travel Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great for customer relations experience

    Cons

    Pay is low and work load is high

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-06
  9. "Social Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Consultant 

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Monthly Buzz nights free drinks and dinner * 2 Annual balls formal and dress up * Fun team and staff

    Cons

    * Pay is low depending on store locations commissions are low * long hours * Weekend work * Can be very stressful in a busy store

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-10-03
  10. "Work Hard, Play Harder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Rockingham
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flight Centre Travel Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If your a natural sales person who enjoys fast paced and competitive workplaces then this is your perfect job. Its hard work and at times extremely long hours but if you put in the effort the incentives are incredible. Weekly in store drinks, monthly awards nights with meals and drinks, annual balls and global awards..... and the opportunity to travel the world!

    Cons

    Base Salary is minimal. Commission structure is harsh so a slow month you wouldn't make enough to pay the mortgage but a great month can bring home 10k easy

    Advice to Management

    Consider more jobshare/ casual / non commission based roles. I loved working with Flight Centre/ Escape Travel, in the 4yrs I worked there I attended 2 globals. I would of loved to return after maternity leave but in a less intensive position. A lunch cover role during busy times, data entry for other consultants, meet and greet role.... just and idea...

    Flight Centre Travel Group2019-09-14

    Flight Centre Travel Group Response

    September 30, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to give a balanced review of your experience working at Flight Centre. We wish you the best with your future and hope that our paths may cross again some time.

Found 1118 reviews