Cover image for Fractal
Logo

Fractal

Engaged Employer

Fractal

Add a Review

Fractal Employee Reviews about "middle management"

Updated 17 Nov 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,404 of over 1K reviews
4.0
85% Recommend to a Friend
Fractal CEO Srikanth Velamakanni
95% Approve of CEO

Found 81 of over 1K reviews

4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Fractal CEO Srikanth Velamakanni
Srikanth Velamakanni
1,007 Ratings
Pros
  • "Leadership values work life balance & are very approachable(in 110 reviews)

  • "Flexibility at work environment and work from home(in 60 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work Life Balance is sometimes hampered(in 52 reviews)

  • "Middle management not that good(in 83 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Fractal

    Join the conversation on

    Consulting India

    273.4K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/consulting-india/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Fractal~270403
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "middle management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work!

      20 Jan 2021 - Big Data Engineer in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, highly advanced team, good place for growth, Collaborative environment, WFH encouraged

      Cons

      Depending on teams, middle management issues comes up at times, but manageable

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Place to Work

      17 Nov 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1- Good work life Balance 2- Great and supportive team. 3- Stake holders are great

      Cons

      1-Middle management can be improved.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Join the Fractal team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not that great

      16 Sep 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work culture Supportive people Good leave policy

      Cons

      No work life balance Not great working opportunities - very less learning for a begginer person Middle management needs to improve a lot, good people but bad management

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great work life balance

      28 Aug 2021 - Business Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance Open office culture

      Cons

      Middle management is not very good

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company but depends on project

      11 May 2021 - Consultant in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great share of benefits, compensation and flexible timing

      Cons

      Worst middle management No guidance for reportees No action taken on employee concerns

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Bad experience

      10 May 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Senior management is reachable 2. Flexible working hours and remote/wfh option 3. CEO Shrikant is really of caring nature and empathetic with employees and regularly connects with them

      Cons

      1. Fractal has started to hire locally in US - you may have to wait forever if you wish to get onsite opportunity, you may end of working late night in India office or home taking client calls 2. Middle management is unskilled - limited technical abilities, unprofessional - come up with their own rules knowing no one can challenge them and love micromanagement - they won’t give you your own space. Lots of them are still learning on the job and does not have strong technical abilities to guide the delivery team and to mentor the juniors 3. Appraisal process is 1. flawed - performance evaluation is not objective/clear and 2. biased - usually manager's favorites or person with executive presence gets the promotion 3. Not transparent enough 4. Most of the projects are Excel /PPT/data pull/ Reporting based maintenance project. Not a place for those who really want to do something innovative in AI to advance in their career. 5. High attrition rate in recent times due to the 'typical service company' culture and limited learning opportunities. CTO himself is leaving the company! 6. Fractal was a very good company few years back but now loosing values and focusing aggressively on growth and less about the employees. 7. Fractal's actual revenue was more than the predefined yearly target in the lockdown period, in fact they acquired a small company recently - at the same time they chose not to give full increments/bonus to employees with pandemic excuse.

      17 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A company started with a great agenda and promise, but is slowly getting eaten by viruses of its own creation

      2 Apr 2021 - Engagement Manager in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great mission and vision from the founders. - Highly inspirational and motivational leadership quality shown by two remaining founders of the company. - Although very low in volume, but some projects are excellent in nature for folks to work on pure analytics, data science and data engineering fields. - Extremely flexible work environment, where the company always puts trust on its employees - flexible work timing, uncounted leaves, work from home facilities, etc. - Some of the people (read very very few) in the higher management are pure gold, having just sufficient knowledge of cutting edge technologies, basic concepts of math and statistics, etc. This surely helps those freshers a lot. - Client-based projects with a significant portion of focus going into serving clients at the highest level. This provides a great opportunity to showcase talents and skills. - Great onsite opportunities for even junior folks.

      Cons

      - Terrible middle management. Basically great power is given to some irresponsible and under-qualified people in this company which nowadays is creating enough nuisance for superb talents to quit within very short period of time (not more than 2 years). - Over time both the founders have started to believe in few heads of the company who are literally ruining the opportunity to achieve their goal, purely by practising unnecessary and unethical concepts like favouritism (maybe nepotism a bit) and lying. - ~85% of projects in this company are pure reporting in nature with little to no scope for any ML or AI tools / techniques to apply. In a highly client-focused company policy, even if there is scope, nobody will bother to convince clients to step up and do something good, as long as steady revenue flow is ensured. - Currently, there is no opportunity for anyone within the company to share his/her point-of-view on anything or share some brilliant idea on innovations without jeopardising his/her own career growth. Believe me, if you want to present some cool idea on how to do the job better in this company now, you first get proofs from the client in written that it was your idea, otherwise your manager is just looking forward to screwing you over. - Somehow both the founders of the company have lost their interests in this company (they have their own side ventures to take care of now!). This has created a black hole within the company which indeed is creating chances for some undeserving people to move up and become (horrible) "decision makers". - The Award System in this company is a pure joke. One day you might get awarded as FractElite (which is extremely proud thing to achieve) and the next day you might get fired because you questioned a "decision maker". - In recent years, a very high percentage of tenured people (employees with 5 years or more experience) have left the company because of lack of respects and growth. A significant portion of these employees were very high achievers at Fractal, but failed to tolerate wrong-doings of those "few" people with great power.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful

      Fractal Response

      Executive Vice-Chairman

      There's a lot you have written here and I am thankful to you for writing the same. I can assure you that Pranay and I have no side businesses. We are 100% working on building Fractal as an institution that will last a 100 years. I spend 60-65 hours each week building Fractal and nothing else. I have monetarily contributed to the creation of Plaksha University, but it is a not for profit institution and my contribution of money doesn't give me any ownership. It is purely philanthropic in nature. Please feel free to speak with me, I am happy to understand this further and work with you on all aspects you have alluded to. Srikanth Velamakanni

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Company with a lot of learning opportunities

      26 Nov 2020 - Consultant in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work culture, colleagues, Perks, learning opportunities

      Cons

      Salary, middle management is bad

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      One of the best places to work

      27 Aug 2020 - Consultant in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. You get to learn a lot 2. Good work-life balance 3. Policies are very employee centric

      Cons

      1. Changing projects is very difficult 2. Middle management is bad. Favoritism causes deserving candidates to lose good opportunities.

      2 people found this review helpful
    11. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      All talk and no play

      10 Sep 2020 - Data Scientist in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only pro is flexibility which is to say that you can work whenever you want, but depending on the project that flexibility may not be something you can avail. Another pro would be the learning goals, but most people just make some one else take the tests for them. So if you truly spend time in learning the skills and pass the assessments then only it is a pro.

      Cons

      - No control on working hours, depending on the project manger you life can be hell. If you try to speak up against the tawdry middle management, then your life will only get difficult. - Spineless HR department whose entire job is to project management and pin the blame on fresher or employees who have little experience. In the eyes of the organisation these are expendable resources - Lack of challenging projects, infrastructure to carry out large scale analytics. For an organisation that boasts itself as a big data and analytics company they have servers which can't even handle GBs of data let alone TBs. These experiences are not my own, I had a good time in the organisation and on my own experience I would rate the organisation pretty well. But I've seen firsthand what the organisation does to other people who are oppressed by middle management and when they finally speak up, they are crushed by the very hand that promises to lend extreme trust and what-not. Given all this I cannot in good faith give a positive outlook for the organisation.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 81 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Fractal Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Fractal? Share Your Experiences

    Fractal logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Fractal Photos

    + Add Photo
    Fractal photo of: We have recognized as one of the “Best places to work in Professional Services Industry” in India by Great Place to Work
    Fractal photo of: Play, work and push towards success. That's Fractal world! #teambonding
    Fractal photo of: When you enjoy what you do, time truly flies by quickly! It's no wonder that life at our three-month-old (new) office, still feels as exciting as our first day here. #lifeatfractal
    Fractal photo of: When you enjoy what you do, time truly flies by quickly! It's no wonder that life at our three-month-old (new) office, still feels as exciting as our first day here. #lifeatfractal
    Fractal photo of: When you enjoy what you do, time truly flies by quickly! It's no wonder that life at our three-month-old (new) office, still feels as exciting as our first day here. #lifeatfractal
    Fractal photo of: When you enjoy what you do, time truly flies by quickly! It's no wonder that life at our three-month-old (new) office, still feels as exciting as our first day here. #lifeatfractal
    Fractal photo of: When you enjoy what you do, time truly flies by quickly! It's no wonder that life at our three-month-old (new) office, still feels as exciting as our first day here. #lifeatfractal
    See All Photos

    Affiliated Companies

    Qure.aiFinalMile ConsultingSenseforth Inc.
    Neal Analytics LLCAnalytics VidhyaEugenie.ai

    Fractal Job Seekers Also Viewed

    Mu Sigma Logo
    Mu Sigma

    3.2

    3,954 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 1,405 Fractal reviews submitted anonymously by Fractal employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Fractal is right for you.