Framestore Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Framestore Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Framestore Chief Executive Officer William Sargent  (no image)
William Sargent
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people who are very helpful, great projects, great office(in 17 reviews)

  • "Some really great projects, very heavy on Creatures and DMP(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lacks in organisation, team works really long hours(in 19 reviews)

  • "Advertising pipeline is a bit shaky but improving(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Terrific work plagued by poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vfx in New York, NY

    I worked at Framestore full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Being part of a company that does A+ quality work (especially film) with a long history

    Cons

    Where to start? I'll be fair and admit much of this is industry wide and not specifically unique to Framestore: - Zero push back on clients resulting in late hours and unnecessary work that ends up having to be redone because everything is in flux anyway - "Senior" producers = producers. It seems every producer had the designation of "Senior" which is a meaningless title. At one point I had worked with a staff of nearly all Senior producers with no mid-level or juniors. The only purpose of the "Senior" is so it can go on their email signature and clients feel they're talking to someone in charge. After all, what client wants to talk to a junior producer? - Producers in general make no effort to ask questions or learn. - FS had struggled

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest more into your artists and other employees.

    Framestore2020-01-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Mismanaged Mayhem at Framestore LA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - VFX Production Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Framestore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co workers Overtime Pay Snacks Good Location Valet Parking for Staff

    Cons

    Production is Mismanaged Studio Too Small - but they're working on it Impossible to get fair pay Impossible to Move Up, they only hire Producers, not promote them. Pipeline is tough to work with, very inflexible, if we have a good idea that will help everything, pipeline declines requests often claiming its impossible, despite having seen it at other studios.

    Advice to Management

    -Invest in good employees. -When I quit, the manager told me "hope you can keep up at your next job" and "it would be unfair to other coordinators to give you a raise or promote you. " -When I started, it was about 8 months before I even met the manager in person, and that goes for a couple other coordinators. They had the same experience. -Actually do the performance reviews. I asked for and waiting for my review for months. Asked HR to schedule many times, and no dice. I finally requested my peer review surveys, to read over and see if I could improve on anything, they were all glowing reviews. Looks like Management doesn't like to do reviews, because that means they'd have to pay you more or promote you. Why bother making your employees feel good or motivated to stay and do a good job. -Framestore's production department is led by someone who would rather scare lower level employs into staying in bad paying positions, rather than lift them up and encourage them to succeed in their company. It's very sad that the production department lead is run by a woman who has the opportunity to build other career women up, and she chooses to be an enemy instead of a mentor. -Manager also didn't tell anyone that I put in my notice. So the producers who planned to have me on their projects were blind sided when my last day came.

    Show More
    Framestore2020-01-03
  3. "Good and stable place with good support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead FX Technical Director in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at Framestore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    stable, planned, quiet, default, some benefits

    Cons

    slow, too french, not much fun

    Framestore2019-11-29
  4. "Best VFX house in Montreal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compositor in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Framestore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing pipeline, a little weird at the start but you will love it once you get used to. -Some really great projects, very heavy on Creatures and DMP. -They trust the artist 100% if you have a problem or need to push a version they will help. -Documentation for every show, pipeline step, tool, etc. -Overtime is very well planed and minimized -Additional learning including French classes

    Cons

    -Can be a little boring. -A little far (Metro Laurie) -Ambient can be a little dry, most people go to work 9@6 and then go home with their families. -They have 5@7 only once a month.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the great work and maybe bring a little more joy in to Comp and bring together the studio.

    Framestore2019-11-18
  5. "great HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Compositor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Framestore full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good community spiri, creative place to work.

    Cons

    it's big and you can get lost

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing and being creative

    Framestore2019-11-19
  6. "A great place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D Artist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Framestore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people who are very helpful, great projects, great office

    Cons

    Schedules can be tight but that is the nature of the industry

    Framestore2019-11-16
  7. "Lost its soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Framestore full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great team and collegues who became good friends.

    Cons

    Over worked and under payed. Framestore lost what they were about and the culture they spent years building up. Employees are juFramestore has lost its soul. It’s just a big corporate entity where people are just numbers. The company doesn't care about retaining its employees. The tech teams are very under paid and overworked, in terms of tech the team can go anywhere (not just VFX) and Framestore need to be more competitive in terms of salary, workload and training. All though people say there is training, in reality you will be so over worked you will not have time to do training. There seems to be no money in Framestore anymore and if there is it doesn’t filter down to the people doing the work. When Framestore moved to Chancery Lane is when it began it's decline. It's sad to see the company go this way but now it's just another vfx company which has been bought out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to your employees issues.

    Framestore2019-11-30
  8. "friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Compositor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Framestore full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice and chill to work

    Cons

    not more than any vfx company

    Framestore2019-11-12
  9. "good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Director in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at Framestore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great pipeline in VFX industry

    Cons

    pipeline tools used with other DCC applications

    Advice to Management

    listen to artist

    Framestore2019-10-22
  10. "Awesome Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Runner 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Framestore part-time

    Pros

    Great place to work really good environment

    Cons

    Downside was just the workload

    Framestore2019-09-10
Found 135 reviews