Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Reviews

Updated 25 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center President And Director Thomas J. Lynch Jr.
Thomas J. Lynch Jr.
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "FHCRC provides a healthy work-life balance and laid-back academia culture(in 42 reviews)

  • "Good benefits for entry level employees(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "The pay is what you would expect for a non-profit(in 26 reviews)

  • "Low pay with no opportunities for advancement(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

    Pros

    I loved the environment and the division I worked in. Everyone was helpful and invested in me building my career. Great place for young researchers to start off at!

    Cons

    Hard to move outside of division. Everything is very very siloed.

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2017-08-25
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Project Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Proactive Leadership, career development opportunities, great employer

    Cons

    Non-profit salaries may be lower than other industries

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2020-03-25
  3. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager 

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smartest people on planet solving challenging problems to advance science to cure cancer. Self drive, empathy and sense of urgency is present through out the organization.

    Cons

    Processes are slow when compared to industry standards. Siloed functions.

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2020-03-19
  4. "Great organization, limited opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall, the Hutch is a fantastic place to work. Incredible benefits, e.g. onsite clinic with PT and doctor and 7% 401K match. Awesome, smart folks doing great science makes it feel like a real community and provides a strong sense of fulfillment.

    Cons

    The structure of academic research is such that each lab operates as its own small business, which means limited opportunities for growth. Especially for non-PhDs, there are not many avenues to move up in seniority or responsibility.

    Continue reading
    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2020-03-18
  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Security Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people and the mission are the best!

    Cons

    Leadership lack of knowledge and direction

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2020-02-24
  6. "Women’s Health Initiative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    An amazing study with hard-working, smart, compassionate employees. Fred Hutch offers terrific benefits.

    Cons

    Pay is at non-profit level.

    Continue reading
    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2020-02-22
  7. "data coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Data Coordinator 

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time

    Pros

    It's good to fit into the culture.

    Cons

    pay is not that competitive but it's okay

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2020-02-21
  8. "Interesting work, to the bone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Technician II 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to work with very accomplished scientists, leads to PhD programs if that is your interest. Plenty of networking opportunities, a fun place to work depending on your lab.

    Cons

    Some PIs take advantage of your salary status (true in science in general, I know). Routinely working 60-80 hours/wk which ends up being less than minimum wage in Seattle. You have to LOVE the work. Some PIs are very malignant, get honest advice from current lab members before signing up for a two year commitment.

    Continue reading
    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2020-03-04
  9. "Great learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center part-time

    Pros

    Great for learning and networking.

    Cons

    Your experience depends entirely on your PI.

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2020-02-17
  10. "Fred Hutch Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, flexible, healthy food in the cafeteria

    Cons

    Expensive area to live, lower pay, few bus route options

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2020-02-12
Found 423 reviews