Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 378 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Gary Gilliland
94 Ratings
Pros
  • "Wonderful benefits, passionate staff, great work-life balance(in 38 reviews)

  • "Nice place to work, good benefits, a lot of opportunities for training(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lower salaries because it’s non-profit, so lose some people to industry(in 21 reviews)

  • "Much lower pay than you'd expect, even for a part-time position and definitely much lower than it should be for Seattle's skyrocketing cost of living(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

    Pros

    I loved the environment and the division I worked in. Everyone was helpful and invested in me building my career. Great place for young researchers to start off at!

    Cons

    Hard to move outside of division. Everything is very very siloed.

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2017-08-25
  2. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Technician in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I love the Hutch. Great people, gorgeous place, and lots of great seminars. Beer hour was fun.

    Cons

    I left because the pay was too low. I found something with better pay.

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-04-25
  3. "Great culture at the Hutch!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

      I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      people, benefits, flexible hours, career growth opportunities

      Cons

      nonprofit, so pay isn't as high as other places in seattle

      Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-04-22
    • "great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Research Associate 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great benefits if you are part of the "faculty", not as good (still good) if you are classified as "staff". Great, smart people to work with. Relaxed atmosphere

      Cons

      Difficult to grow out of a given post. Salaries can be low considering how expensive Seattle is.

      Advice to Management

      Certain benefits (like Paid maternity leave) should be a most in a company like the Hutch.

      Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-04-22
    • "Great place to work and science!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Systems Specialist 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great place to work and science!

      Cons

      Currently none at the moment.

      Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-04-15
    • "Great People"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Fantastic people, relaxed culture, great science & research.

      Cons

      Salary and benefits are not competitive for Seattle. Opportunities for advancement can be limited.

      Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-04-14
    • "Great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Program Manager 

        I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time

        Pros

        Excellent mission Good work life balance Positive work environment

        Cons

        Expensive cafeteria Challenging commute (traffic) Lower compensation than private industry

        Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-04-04
      • "What you see is what you get"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Outreach Specialist in Seattle, WA

        I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center part-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Access to various ongoing trainings and presentations through Fred Hutch.

        Cons

        No room for growth. Maybe one person has gotten another position directly from this position.

        Advice to Management

        More room for advancement for marginalized individuals from impacted communities.

        Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-04-17
      • "Lot's of smart people with a mission, but can be a black hole ...."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Data Scientist 
        Recommends

        I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        There are a lot of smart people here, with very benevolent mission (cure cancer). This is a very academic institution (each lab is it's own entity), with the business/ shared IT resources being more like a traditional business. The academic flavor brings a fair amount of flexibility in terms of your work schedule/ arrangements (dependent on which PI you work for), and the benefits are great!

        Cons

        Because the institution is fairly academic, you can feel a little siloed from others (although that is changing with "The Coop" being a newly created entity to try to bring data scientists/ analysts from across the organization together). Career Progression/ continuing education is pretty much something you have to figure out yourself (there is no clear guidance in this regard, unless you are in a tenure-track lab-PI...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Make it more clear how one might build a career from *every* position, and **train** managers/ PIs to provide mentorship/ career building guidance to their employees.

        Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-03-30
      • "Good Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time

          Pros

          Good 401k option and okay benefits.

          Cons

          Upper management doesn't really listen to your concerns.

          Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-03-29
        Found 378 reviews