Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center President & Director Gary Gilliland (no image)
Gary Gilliland
110 Ratings
Pros
  • "FHCRC provides a healthy work-life balance and laid-back academia culture(in 42 reviews)

  • "Nice place to work, good benefits, a lot of opportunities for training(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "Private non profit, admin heavy(in 23 reviews)

  • "Low pay with no opportunities for advancement(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

    Pros

    I loved the environment and the division I worked in. Everyone was helpful and invested in me building my career. Great place for young researchers to start off at!

    Cons

    Hard to move outside of division. Everything is very very siloed.

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2017-08-25
  2. "Positive Environment to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great positive energy and Benefits

    Cons

    Projects get tripped up sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Fully staff teams instead of doing a skeleton crew.

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2020-01-16
  3. "great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager 

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great colleagues to work with

    Cons

    nothing really, everyone works well together

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2020-01-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A nice job if you don’t mind following a lot of rules"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cancer Information Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, meaningful work, good benefits, varied job responsibilities

    Cons

    Lots of rules to follow, management isn’t always direct in their communication, few opportunities for advancement

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-12-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "As a tech, vet the labs before joining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Technician in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cutting edge and highly sophisticated research Admirable mission (To cure cancer) highly open and collaborative science (may vary depending on department)

    Cons

    The PI was highly abusive and had unreal expectations Was way to political for anything to get done No advancement opportunities for technicians

    Advice to Management

    Have the PIs take a bi-yearly refresher course on how to manage "real" people and not live their lives like robots and expect the same of their people

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-12-27
  6. "Inspirational Work Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Front row seat to important and inspirational work. The campus is beautiful, fun and feels like a community. Access to amazing speakers and education happening on the campus. Interesting work. Lots of opportunities to move into different roles once you're in the Fred Hutch system.

    Cons

    Fred Hutch does not value non-scientific staff the way it should. The scientists are the rock stars, as they should be, however, administrators and other non-scientific staff make things happen and pave the way for the science to happen through fundraising, PR, operations management, and much more.

    Advice to Management

    Place more value on your non-scientific staff. Show them you know their worth. The science cannot happen without them.

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-11-25
  7. "Animal technician quick view"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Animal Technician 

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time

    Pros

    Relatively stable hours and yearly pay increases. Work independently often.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to expand skills and transition to other positions within the company.

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-12-05
  8. "Great atmosphere and shared Resources. Know your boss."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Researcher in Seattle, WA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fred Hutch provides good health care and an on-site employee clinic. People work reasonable hours.

    Cons

    The salary is not thrilling and researcher salaries are not negotiable. Make sure to know your future boss and colleagues before accepting a position.

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-11-11
  9. "Good experience to find out the ins and outs of a research lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Lab Aide in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance, meaningful work, many extra resources for training.

    Cons

    Can be somewhat clique-ish. Lab members are friendly towards one another but, there are so many labs at FHCRC.

    Advice to Management

    Individuals need real guidance from management. We do real work and sincerely care.

    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-11-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not For Career Technicians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Technician II in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very interesting science Several excellent seminar series Exposure to cutting edge research Some nice employee events Good experience with cutting edge techniques

    Cons

    Disclaimer- Every lab is run independently so the PI's management style is different from lab to lab The lab I have been working in is a large lab (30-40 people) with a lot of projects going. Each post doc (5-6 post docs) works with their technicians pretty independently from the rest of the lab. This set up seems more similar to how an industry lab is structured to me. Also, it seems a very different structure from most other labs. That being said, there has been a large amount of turnover since I have been with the lab (almost a dozen people in a little over a year). The reasons why I will be leaving as well are: Centre wide compensation policy not being followed by the PI (no pay increases unless you threaten to leave for industry) No career development for technicians (you will not be promoted) Very intense days and long hours (pretty regular 50 hour weeks) Poor seating (putting people's "desks" in pretty unfortunate places) In general, the only reason to work at the Hutch as a technician is if you plan on getting experience before going into a PhD program, or if your significant other has a high paying career. Indeed, the lab is split in half by those two categories. The only technicians that have stayed much beyond 2 years have partners that work in tech and can support them with the very poor pay from the Center. You are largely wasting your time working here instead of industry if that is your ultimate goal.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't allow PIs to do whatever they want with their employees just because they bring in a lot of grant money and put out high impact papers (make sure they follow the Center wide policies) Get serious about career development for technicians. It does not make sense for a technician (B.S./M.S. level employee) to stay at the center for more than a year or two. Especially with the ever increasing cost of living in Seattle. As it is, technicians I've worked with get their experience needed to get a job in industry or go to grad school and leave ASAP.

    Show More
    Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center2019-11-17
Found 412 reviews