Freddie Mac Director Reviews

Updated 22 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Freddie Mac CEO David Brickman
David Brickman
3 Ratings
  1. "Great work life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, and work contributes to providing affordability/stability to housing market.

    Cons

    Company is presently under conservatorship, future uncertain.

    Freddie Mac Response

    May 29, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting our flexible work arrangements and important housing mission. We’re proud of the team at Freddie Mac, and we’re continuously working to ensure that our business remains strong, stable and well-positioned for the future. Thank you again for your review and for your years of service to Freddie Mac.

  2. "Great company but bureaucratic IT and Finance organizations"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great new CEO, good mission, good benefits

    Cons

    IT and Finance are inefficient and bureacratic

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    April 21, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review and for highlighting our senior leadership and comprehensive benefits package at Freddie Mac. We also appreciate your feedback on our digital transformation. We are continuously refining our approach to support the company’s success and look forward to rolling out many exciting updates in the coming months. Thank you for your years of service and for your support of our important mission.


  3. Helpful (6)

    "Great People but be prepared for a higher level of politics"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Operations 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    Great People Management makes an effort to listen to employees

    Cons

    Corporate politics were at level 11

    Freddie Mac Response

    October 18, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We work hard to provide our employees more in return and appreciate your feedback. We wish you luck in your next endeavor.

  4. Helpful (5)

    "Good People - Bad management"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Director 

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    Nice co workers and benefits

    Cons

    poor leadership, too much internal politics

    Freddie Mac Response

    September 24, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your feedback and highlighting our inclusive environment and comprehensive benefits as the total well-being of our employees is a priority. At all levels, it's important to continue to grow, that's why we offer manager training to our senior leaders so they can be at their best in managing and supporting their teams. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and wish you the best in your next endeavor.

  5. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Company has been undergoing a cultural shift and technological modernization. - Leadership is streamlining processes. - Coming out of conservatorship will force a drive to be more competitive - Benefits are very good

    Cons

    - Opportunities to move up are rare - Coming out of conservatorship will present challenges

    Freddie Mac Response

    September 19, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your review and letting us know that we’re on the right track. We’re continuously working to build a better Freddie Mac and reviews like these show us it’s working. If you're looking to advance, we encourage you to explore the comprehensive mix of online and in-person learning opportunities at Freddie Mac and speak with your manager about the next step in your career journey.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Focus on work life balance

    Cons

    Some mid level managers do not support the cultural change/employee engagement initiatives

    Freddie Mac Response

    August 12, 2019HR Communications

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Thank you for highlighting our focus on work-life balance as the total well-being of our employees is a priority for us. At all levels, it’s important to grow and that’s why we provide learning opportunities to our managers so that can be at their best in leading and supporting their teams.

  7. "A lot of layers"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance. Solid benefits. Can move around to other areas of company

    Cons

    Can be bureaucratic and political.

    Freddie Mac Response

    July 3, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We’re glad that you mentioned our benefits and work-life balance as we pride ourselves in offering industry-best benefits. We wish you luck in your next endeavor.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "29 Great Years and Counting"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Business Management in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance; top notch benefits; support for personal development; diverse. I started as an Executive Secretary in January 1990 and am now a Business Management Director

    Cons

    Personal experience can be different based on division

    Freddie Mac Response

    April 17, 2019Content Strategist

    We love hearing feedback like this and appreciate you sharing your great experience with us. Thank you for your years of service to Freddie Mac and our mission!

  9. Helpful (3)

    "It was a good run..."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Freddie Mac can be a great place to work - you can move around the company and build your skills easily. Tons of very smart, very friendly people. The food is great, onsite doctor, fitness, etc. Lots of development opportunities to take advantage of... pay is very good. Exciting to be in the housing industry right now - so much going on! You could get to work on history making projects - like single security, etc.

    Cons

    As with many companies - it matters who your manager is. There are many lousy managers at Freddie Mac. And - because people are so nice at Freddie? The managers of the lousy managers are too nice to hold them accountable for being lousy managers. Also, the senior leadership teams in some of the divisions do not get along (turf wars). This creates difficulties for the people underneath them that really just want get the work done. There is a ton of bureaucracy... they keep trying to fix it - but, until they are ready to hold leaders accountable for the actual value whole teams are adding (and when they aren't adding value redeploy them to do something valuable) - people are going to continue to come up with redundant, over-engineered processes to validate their existence.

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    February 6, 2019Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We work hard to make sure all employees feel heard and take the feedback provided seriously.

  10. Helpful (7)

    "Passive Aggressive environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay & benefits. Some really great people who are not utilized to their fullest extent

    Cons

    - very little transparency from senior management - extremely passive-aggressive environment - they wait until after the meeting where they agreed to disagree, but won't tell you directly across all 4 divisions. - weak leadership in risk management - too many senior management with individual goals that interfere with overall objectives.

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    November 30, 2018Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. At all levels, it's important to continue to grow, that's why we offer executive coaching to our senior leaders so they can be at their best.

Found 79 reviews