Freddie Mac Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Project Manager

Freddie Mac Project Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
Freddie Mac CEO David Brickman (no image)
David Brickman
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "If you want to move or advance it’s difficult."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Upper Marlboro, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, incentives, work is challenging.

    Cons

    Hard to move or explore other opportunities. Applying to other positions is supposed to be confidential but that’s not the case at all.

    Advice to Management

    Allow your team to explore other opportunities. It will help with retention and the knowledge won’t go out the door.

    Freddie Mac2019-07-06

    Freddie Mac Response

    July 25, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We work hard to provide our employees more in return and appreciate your feedback on ways we can improve. We wish you luck in your next endeavor.

  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great salary, amazing benefits, people that care, overall great environment to work in.

    Cons

    Communication can be difficult, there are lots of meetings, finding answers to complex issues can be challenging

    Freddie Mac2019-02-26

    Freddie Mac Response

    March 18, 2019Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We're proud of the team and culture at this company—thank you for being part of it.

  3. Helpful (5)

    "Very little opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good work life balance.

    Cons

    Next to impossible to grow your career. Very flat structure. I've applied for over 30 positions in the past 2 years and no interviews. Managers know who they want to hire before the position is posted.

    Advice to Management

    Pay better. Fannie Mae is beating you on pay and benefits and bonuses. In the current low unemployment rate environment, raise pay. But this time don't raise the pay for everyone below $100k. It was insulting to those of us who make over $100k that they got raises and we did not and we were doing our job just like they were.

    Freddie Mac2018-09-27

    Freddie Mac Response

    October 30, 2018Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We read all our reviews and take them seriously. We're glad to hear you're benefiting from our focus on work-life balance. If you feel that you have been overlooked for an opportunity, please work with your manager to ...

    Show More
  4. "Overall Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Mc Lean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open communication, talented peers, opportunities to learn, good benefits

    Cons

    None so far. Its a good organization to work for.

    Freddie Mac2018-05-18
  5. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - IT Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac for more than a year

    Pros

    Best place to work and good co-workers

    Cons

    Contractors and employees are treated differently

    Advice to Management

    Increase the infrastructure for all employees or allow workers to work from home.

    Freddie Mac2017-08-23
  6. Helpful (3)

    "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Freddie Mac for less than a year

    Pros

    too much politics in the workplace

    Cons

    personal interest, good workplace, work hard

    Freddie Mac2017-05-16
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. May qualify for incentive.

    Cons

    These people are fanatical about pushing the GLBT lifestyle on their workers. It is constant and in your face. Freddie Mac IS NOT a CHRISTIAN FRIENDLY atmosphere and if you do go to work there, expect to be constantly insulted and marginalized if you are a Christian.

    Advice to Management

    Start valuing Christians and stop constantly disrespecting and marginalizing them.

    Freddie Mac2017-05-16
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Great place to END your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac for more than a year

    Pros

    Consistent Schedules No surprises as far as work load Plentiful on-site breakfast/lunch options On-site fitness facility On-Site health clinic On-site shipping office

    Cons

    Limited vacation(2 weeks) and very expensive to purchase vacation days($300/day) Limited career growth opportunities and education. Limited to no growth in technological methods. Never anything cloud based/on-demand etc. Very limited Agile methodology. Communication between management and subordinates is often delayed or non-existent. Promotions rare! Possesses a culture that makes it VERY difficult to work... remotely. Parking is always an issue after 9am. Always significant traffic getting into and out of the facility. Paternity/Maternity Leave LIMITED. Management restructures every 3 years. MANY layers of approvals to get anything done. Breeds a culture that makes it ok to not answer emails/phone calls. Many forced to work side by side on long desks, not even cubicles.

    Show More
    Freddie Mac2017-03-12
  9. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good place to work. salary is same a market

    Cons

    there are no cons at this time

    Freddie Mac2017-02-21
  10. Helpful (19)

    "Down in the gutter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work locations (NATIONWIDE) Good cafeteria Covered Parking. Fills up by 9:00 tuesday to thursday.

    Cons

    All of IT is H1B. TCS, Cognizant, Hexaware, Infosys. All of them Indian. We cannot hire US citizens, we have to use pre-approved body shops and all they send us are cheap H1Bs.

    Advice to Management

    Hire some college graduates from american universities. Maybe leave your office and visit the floors where people have 24 inches of space. I find it ironic that I am sent to culture training sessions that give me handouts to keep yet when I get back to my agile location (there is no desk), I have no where to save anything and it all goes into the trash.

    Freddie Mac2016-10-16
Found 27 reviews