Freddie Mac Reviews

Updated 4 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Freddie Mac CEO David Brickman
David Brickman
37 Ratings
  1. "Great benefits"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Developer 

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    Good environment and good compensation

    Cons

    Legacy system and old technology stack

    Freddie Mac Response

    April 21, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We’re proud to offer industry-leading benefits to support employees’ total well-being, so we appreciate you mentioning our competitive compensation and positive, inclusive environment. Thanks for being a part of our team.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Freddie review"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Development Manager in McLean, VA

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay and flexible work life balance

    Cons

    Some of the processes needs improvements

    Freddie Mac Response

    April 21, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We’re glad that you mentioned our competitive compensation and commitment to well-being as we pride ourselves in offering industry-leading benefits. We encourage you to reach out to your manager with your ideas for process improvements. Thank you for your continued contributions.


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Solutions Architect"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect Tech Lead Senior in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance in Freddie

    Cons

    not much visibility in to directions within teams

    Freddie Mac Response

    April 21, 2020HR Communications

    We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for highlighting our commitment to our employees’ total well-being, which is a priority for us. We wish you the best in the future.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not too great"

    3.0
    Former Employee - QA Automation Engineer in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    Has a great working environment, people are great over there!

    Cons

    Managers or anyone on top makes themselves really isolated than the workers

    Freddie Mac Response

    March 24, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We’re proud of our inclusive, welcoming environment and are glad you enjoyed working with the outstanding team at Freddie Mac. We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best in your next endeavor.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good Place to work, but still has corporate America tendencies"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, Benefits, and time off. 401K is very competitive and there's an additional deposit once a year. There are plenty of other perks to working at FreddieMac such as child/elder care expenses and commuter benefits. The work is well distributed among team members for the most part

    Cons

    work life balance is rough, many folks are sending emails at 3 or 4 AM. Company politics is alive and well and management can be slow to accept change from the bottom up.

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    March 3, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We’re proud of our comprehensive benefits and are glad to hear you’re taking advantage of our child/elder care support and commuter assistance. It’s our goal to ensure all facets of our culture support employee well-being. Feedback like this allows us to keep improving, so thank you. We’re lucky to have you on our team.

  6. "Modern Delivery"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    Modern Delivery, Nice Organization, nice Benefits

    Cons

    Mindset, culture, technology, mgmt

    Freddie Mac Response

    March 24, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you highlighting our benefits package and digital transformation, known as Modern Delivery. Both are key initiatives we are proud of at Freddie Mac. Thank you again for your review and for your continued support of our important mission.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Support Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn new technologies Good benefits Competitive salary Great work environment and facilities Management keeps workforce well informed

    Cons

    Can be a little bureaucratic but getting better m

    Freddie Mac Response

    March 10, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for highlighting our positive work environment, industry-leading benefits and the opportunities for growth here. We appreciate your taking the time to provide us with feedback and are grateful for your years of service to Freddie Mac.

  8. "Product Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and colleagues. Very collegial. Fair compensation and excellent opportunities for professional growth!

    Cons

    Lot of bureaucracy. Firm has a hard time terminating poor performers.

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    March 3, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your feedback. We are fully focused on supporting employees’ total well-being, so we’re glad that you mentioned our compensation and benefits, our inclusive culture and the many opportunities for growth here. We appreciate your feedback on ways to improve. Thank you for your continued contributions.

  9. "Good Work Life Balance"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance if you manage it. Flexible work available.

    Cons

    Adapting "modern delivery" which seems to be moving away from flexible work arrangements, at least for some period of time.

    Freddie Mac Response

    March 3, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for highlighting our flexible work arrangements. We know that a positive work environment is key to employees’ total well-being, and it’s our priority to ensure our technology supports workforce efficiency and flexibility. Thank you for your continued contributions and for your support of our important mission.

  10. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People around are nice and one of the best places to work

    Cons

    .... ....... ... .... .. .. ..

    Freddie Mac Response

    February 25, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We're proud of our inclusive culture and are glad to hear that you've experienced it first-hand. We wish you the best in your next endeavor.

Found 968 reviews