Freddie Mac Reviews

Updated 4 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Freddie Mac CEO David Brickman
David Brickman
37 Ratings
  1. "Great comp"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good opp to grow, easy to do internal transfer

    Cons

    Big diff between groups, some group is very busy

    Freddie Mac Response

    February 25, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review and for highlighting the opportunity for growth and advancement at Freddie Mac. We believe that our employees are at their best when they are given the tools to succeed and the opportunity to grow outside of their established comfort zone. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Thanks for being part of our team.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Nice retirement place"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice work life balance here.

    Cons

    Not really much to learn.

    Freddie Mac Response

    March 10, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your positive review and good luck in your next endeavor!


  3. "Good company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Software Developer 

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits And work good

    Cons

    None So far seen here

    Freddie Mac Response

    February 25, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your feedback. We're proud to offer competitive and comprehensive benefits to our employees, as your total well-being is a top priority for us. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review and for being part of our team.

  4. "Solid company and good people. Politics exist and it is key to have a good manager, like every other company."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PM Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people. Can become very comfortable. Solid CEO. Pockets of innovation exist.

    Cons

    New regulator seems to be making exiting conservatorship the top priority (aka be smaller/fewer employees, voluntary early retirement program) and reducing the focus on the mission/affordable housing/competition (aka have a smaller portion of the market, serve as a backstop to the market only, don't do any non-vanilla products and activities --> don't innovative or try to keep up with competitors/the market). Bureaucracy exists quite a bit on certain teams, given conservatorship / heavy involvement by regulator.

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    February 11, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate you taking the time to provide it.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Technology Analyst"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Potential for growth. If you are hard working and show interest, there is lot of opportunity

    Cons

    Stay away from people politics

    Freddie Mac Response

    February 3, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re always looking to create opportunities for growth and development. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and wish you good luck in the future.

  6. "Sr Data Analyst"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Corporate Sales In SAN Mateo 

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    Business and data analysis is thought out

    Cons

    Deep office politics and disorganized hierarchies

    Freddie Mac Response

    February 3, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review and for being part of our team. We appreciate your feedback.

  7. "One of the good ones"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freddie Mac has a really great corporate culture. Our very charter is basically to make housing more affordable so there really is a focus on people. Benefits are good and some positions allow teleworking.

    Cons

    The culture does not always trickle down, officers can and do create little kingdoms where they can dilute the guidance of Corporate. Transparency for internal applications could be better

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    January 22, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review and for highlighting our comprehensive benefits and inclusive culture. We’re working hard to ensure our organization supports all employees. Again, thank you for your feedback and for your support of our important mission.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "good"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Data Analytics 

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work life balance and good benefits

    Cons

    below avg good salary

    Freddie Mac Response

    January 22, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review and for highlighting our focus on supporting employee’s total well-being with flexible work arrangements and comprehensive, industry-leading benefits. We appreciate your taking the time to provide us with feedback and are grateful for your years of service to Freddie Mac.

  9. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Analyst in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Flexibility, Work From Home, Location

    Cons

    Procedures, nothing else to share

    Freddie Mac Response

    January 22, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We enjoy hearing feedback like this, especially when it comes to our comprehensive benefits and flexible work arrangements, which are priorities for us. We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for your continued contributions to Freddie Mac.

  10. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Management 

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work-life balance, great benefits, good pay, decent culture

    Cons

    large company, only have relationships with your direct coworkers

    Freddie Mac Response

    January 22, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your positive review. We’re glad that you mentioned our compensation, focus on work-life integration and culture as we pride ourselves in offering industry-leading benefits and fostering an inclusive environment that welcomes all. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback and wish you good luck in the future.

Found 968 reviews