Freddie Mac Senior Financial Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Freddie Mac Senior Financial Analyst Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
Freddie Mac CEO David Brickman (no image)
David Brickman
0 Ratings
  1. "Really Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice and smart coworkers. Great benefits, especially retirement.

    Cons

    Flat org and too little turnover at the higher levels makes it tough to progress quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Start a more formal grooming/mentorship program.

    Freddie Mac2019-07-05

    Freddie Mac Response

    July 25, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We work hard to provide our employees more in return, including customizable total well-being offerings and the tools to succeed. If you’re looking to advance, we encourage you to take advantage of the many learning opportunities at the company, including mentoring programs that are offered through our employee resource groups.

    Show Less
  2. "Great place to start a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility to grow if you are hungry and willing to innovate to create value.

    Cons

    Old outdated systems and policies, can be an uphill battle to challenge the status quo.

    Advice to Management

    Increase your risk tolerance at the department level to unlock eager employees

    Freddie Mac2018-09-07

    Freddie Mac Response

    September 27, 2018Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review and letting us know that we’re on the right track. We believe that our employees are at their best when they are given the tools to succeed and the opportunity to grow outside of their established comfort zone. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and wish you good luck in the future.

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible managers and an environment that encourages you to change positions if you are not passionate about your current position.

    Cons

    Work flexibility is very dependent on the whims of your VP and not necessarily based on the job needs. Also many complain about the cost of the health care plans.

    Advice to Management

    More consistency between groups in terms of flexible work arrangements.

    Freddie Mac2018-07-04

    Freddie Mac Response

    August 2, 2018Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate hearing from current employees and are glad to hear you're taking advantage of our flexible work environment. We're working to make sure employees have the flexibility they need to perform at their best, and are always looking for new ways to help support our people.

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Stay Clear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Benefits, location, parking, end of day

    Cons

    Management is not supportive, VPs are unapproachable. No one is happy being there and if you don’t want to be part of the “Mean Girls” club, you may want to look for other opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and initiate a 360 feedback program and know that those in a leadership position are anything but leaders. Poorly managed with VPs on a pedestal.

    Freddie Mac2017-10-18
  5. "Great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Woodbridge, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture is very Laid back. They have lots of old people that's been with the company for-ever. Making home affordable

    Cons

    Limited room for advancement . Makes want you to jump ship every day you come to work . Wish they could get out of conservatorship asap

    Advice to Management

    Bring back good bonus

    Freddie Mac2016-11-27
  6. "Analyst-Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Financial Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good food. Good people and smart, top of their game.

    Cons

    Cannot climb in this environment.

    Advice to Management

    This is the 21st Century, time to catch up.

    Freddie Mac2015-09-28
  7. "Enjoyable experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Financial Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac

    Pros

    Freddie Mac is a huge company. I have been able to work in three different roles during my time here. There are always new things to learn and ways to challenge yourself.

    Cons

    Being a part of conservetorship has its downside. Also at times this company can be very shilohed and slow to change.

    Advice to Management

    Management has been improving which is good. I would say they should keep working to get Freddie up to industry standards with regards to technology etc. and also continue facilitate the great work culture.

    Freddie Mac2015-08-26
  8. "Great company, allows gorwth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible hours and excellent traiing

    Cons

    up in air as to what will happen with company

    Freddie Mac2014-07-01
  9. "Overall good experience, however, there is much change and the future is unknown at this time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Financial Analyst 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac

    Pros

    The benefits are wonderful and there is much flexibility with working. Special work arrangements can be made such as teleworking and part-time work depending on the work you do and your deadlines. Good professionals work there and there is great diversity within its employees.

    Cons

    The downside to working at Freddie Mac right now is that the company is in transition with it being under government conservatorship and senior management is not necessarily the group making the decisions and changes. The future of the company is not certain at this time.

    Freddie Mac2011-02-03
  10. "A unique work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Financial Analyst in McLean, VA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac

    Pros

    For the most part, Freddie Mac was low pressure with flexible hours and decent benefits. The onsite cafeterias were reasonably priced.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy. Too many levels of management and plenty of silos.

    Advice to Management

    Cut down on the bureaucracy and do a better job of rewarding top performers.

    Freddie Mac2010-07-31
Found 11 reviews