Freddie Mac Employee Reviews about "conservatorship"

Updated 22 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Freddie Mac CEO David Brickman
David Brickman
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I think once we exit conservatorship, these things will change(in 52 reviews)

  • "Some folks in senior management are REALLY (x2) bad and that affects the culture of the division(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "conservatorship"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great work life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, and work contributes to providing affordability/stability to housing market.

    Cons

    Company is presently under conservatorship, future uncertain.

    Freddie Mac Response

    May 29, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting our flexible work arrangements and important housing mission. We’re proud of the team at Freddie Mac, and we’re continuously working to ensure that our business remains strong, stable and well-positioned for the future. Thank you again for your review and for your years of service to Freddie Mac.

  2. "Great Place to Be"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team structure. Very detailed oriented and smart people work here. The managers have a laid back management style, and are great to work with. Awesome benefits. Amazing corporate culture.

    Cons

    Since Freddie is a big company, there are certain procedures that are a little too corporate. I think once we exit conservatorship, these things will change.

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    May 7, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for review and for mentioning our leadership, benefits and culture. Making sure our leadership is at their best is a top priority and an important part of providing a positive, inclusive environment for our employees. We appreciate your feedback and your continued support of our important mission.


  3. "Solid company and good people. Politics exist and it is key to have a good manager, like every other company."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PM Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people. Can become very comfortable. Solid CEO. Pockets of innovation exist.

    Cons

    New regulator seems to be making exiting conservatorship the top priority (aka be smaller/fewer employees, voluntary early retirement program) and reducing the focus on the mission/affordable housing/competition (aka have a smaller portion of the market, serve as a backstop to the market only, don't do any non-vanilla products and activities --> don't innovative or try to keep up with competitors/the market). Bureaucracy exists quite a bit on certain teams, given conservatorship / heavy involvement by regulator.

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    February 11, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate you taking the time to provide it.

  4. Helpful (7)

    "Ok company to work if you just need a job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Functional Analyst in McLean, VA
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits.. 15 days vacation from day one.. Nice facilities - Gym, cafeteria.. Early release on important holidays, all summer early release on Fridays

    Cons

    1. Below market standard pay. 2. Older folks not receptive to change and strong office politics. 3. Desk space have shrinked over time with no personal space at all. 4. Lot of confusion and re-structuring due to conservatorship decision

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    December 10, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for mentioning our vacation time and the many amenities on our campus. We’re proud of our comprehensive benefits package at Freddie Mac, and we’re working hard to ensure our culture, workspace and organizational structure are modern, competitive and well-positioned for the company’s future. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and wish you the best of luck.

  5. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Company has been undergoing a cultural shift and technological modernization. - Leadership is streamlining processes. - Coming out of conservatorship will force a drive to be more competitive - Benefits are very good

    Cons

    - Opportunities to move up are rare - Coming out of conservatorship will present challenges

    Freddie Mac Response

    September 19, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for your review and letting us know that we’re on the right track. We’re continuously working to build a better Freddie Mac and reviews like these show us it’s working. If you're looking to advance, we encourage you to explore the comprehensive mix of online and in-person learning opportunities at Freddie Mac and speak with your manager about the next step in your career journey.

  6. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    Mission, colleagues, leadership, benefits, culture

    Cons

    Uncertainty with conservatorship, but it will work out

    Freddie Mac Response

    September 10, 2019HR Communications

    Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. We're proud of the team and inclusive culture at this company—thank you for being part of it.

  7. "Good Employer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and Work life balance

    Cons

    Heavily regulated by government and is in conservatorship.

    Freddie Mac Response

    February 6, 2019Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We work hard to provide our employees more in return, and that includes competitive compensation and total well-being offerings.

  8. "Finance analyst"

    5.0
     

    I have been working at Freddie Mac

    Pros

    Work life balance, opportunities to rotate within the company

    Cons

    Not central area, currently under conservatorship

    Freddie Mac Response

    November 20, 2018Talent Community Manager

    We are glad that you are experiencing our commitment to work-life balance first hand. We also think it’s important to offer opportunities for our employees to improve the depth and breadth of their experience – so thank you for pointing out that we offer the opportunity to grow. We appreciate your feedback.

  9. "Great People/Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multifamily Senior Analyst in Tyson's Corner, Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -You have the ability to learn A LOT. Both within the day-to-day and utilizing courses provided to the company -Upward mobility potential -Most people are smart and eager to better the company -Structured analyst program -Driven and innovative leadership that cares about employees -Work/Life balance (yet people work hard when needed)

    Cons

    -Conservatorship can sometimes hinder business potential and change -Sometimes it feels exposure to other departments/teams is limited

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    October 30, 2018Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear that you are finding the opportunity to grow as this is an important focus for us at Freddie Mac. We appreciate your review.

  10. "A great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are committed to the mission, even in conservatorship, and everyone seems to take pride in their work.

    Cons

    Conservatorship means that you lack some of the perks that you have at other independently-run financial institutions, a d more regulation to deal with.

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    October 3, 2018Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for your review and for your service to Freddie Mac. We’re working hard on building a better Freddie Mac and reviews like these show us it’s working.

Found 52 reviews