Freddie Mac Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 25 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Freddie Mac CEO David Brickman
David Brickman
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I think once we exit conservatorship, these things will change(in 52 reviews)

  • "Some folks in senior management are REALLY (x2) bad and that affects the culture of the division(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Great benefits, Not-so-good salary"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multifamily Production Associate in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits (tuition reimbursement, student loan assistance, 8.5% 401k, etc.), great work/life balance, lots of opportunities to learn, moving within the company is very possible, management genuinely cares about you as a person

    Cons

    Salary could be much better, switching roles within the company will work against you in terms of salary, salaries are dramatically higher for the same role if you're an external hire, how the company loses talent

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    July 7, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review and for highlighting our industry-leading benefits, growth opportunities and leadership. We work hard to provide our employees with tools to help them achieve total well-being, and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your continued contributions and for being a part of our team.

  2. "Great work life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, and work contributes to providing affordability/stability to housing market.

    Cons

    Company is presently under conservatorship, future uncertain.

    Freddie Mac Response

    May 29, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting our flexible work arrangements and important housing mission. We’re proud of the team at Freddie Mac, and we’re continuously working to ensure that our business remains strong, stable and well-positioned for the future. Thank you again for your review and for your years of service to Freddie Mac.


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good Pay, So-So Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, interesting work

    Cons

    IT is the tail that wags the dog. Their focus is on making sure they cannot be blamed when things go wrong, not on getting stuff done. So, if you are a business PM who has to work with IT, it can be extremely frustrating. Also, the culture at the firm overall is extremely hierarchical. That can be an issue if your project crosses multiple management chains or levels within your chain. Work/life balance was an issue for me - many late nights and weekends.

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    May 26, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate you taking the time to provide it.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Freddie Mac"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional in Mc Lean, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Work life balance, Salary

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, Red tape, Corporate hierarchy

    Freddie Mac Response

    May 12, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review and for mentioning our comprehensive benefits and compensation package. We appreciate your feedback and your continued contributions.

  5. "Good company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, flexibility, work life balance

    Cons

    Big Corp, politics to get promoted

    Freddie Mac Response

    April 27, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We’re glad you mentioned our comprehensive benefits package and flexible work arrangements. We believe these play a crucial role in helping our employees achieve total well-being. Thanks for being a part of our team and supporting our important mission.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Freddie review"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Development Manager in McLean, VA

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay and flexible work life balance

    Cons

    Some of the processes needs improvements

    Freddie Mac Response

    April 21, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We’re glad that you mentioned our competitive compensation and commitment to well-being as we pride ourselves in offering industry-leading benefits. We encourage you to reach out to your manager with your ideas for process improvements. Thank you for your continued contributions.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Solutions Architect"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect Tech Lead Senior in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance in Freddie

    Cons

    not much visibility in to directions within teams

    Freddie Mac Response

    April 21, 2020HR Communications

    We appreciate your taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for highlighting our commitment to our employees’ total well-being, which is a priority for us. We wish you the best in the future.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good Place to work, but still has corporate America tendencies"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, Benefits, and time off. 401K is very competitive and there's an additional deposit once a year. There are plenty of other perks to working at FreddieMac such as child/elder care expenses and commuter benefits. The work is well distributed among team members for the most part

    Cons

    work life balance is rough, many folks are sending emails at 3 or 4 AM. Company politics is alive and well and management can be slow to accept change from the bottom up.

    Continue reading

    Freddie Mac Response

    March 3, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your review. We’re proud of our comprehensive benefits and are glad to hear you’re taking advantage of our child/elder care support and commuter assistance. It’s our goal to ensure all facets of our culture support employee well-being. Feedback like this allows us to keep improving, so thank you. We’re lucky to have you on our team.

  9. "Good Work Life Balance"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance if you manage it. Flexible work available.

    Cons

    Adapting "modern delivery" which seems to be moving away from flexible work arrangements, at least for some period of time.

    Freddie Mac Response

    March 3, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for highlighting our flexible work arrangements. We know that a positive work environment is key to employees’ total well-being, and it’s our priority to ensure our technology supports workforce efficiency and flexibility. Thank you for your continued contributions and for your support of our important mission.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Nice retirement place"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Freddie Mac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice work life balance here.

    Cons

    Not really much to learn.

    Freddie Mac Response

    March 10, 2020HR Communications

    Thank you for your positive review and good luck in your next endeavor!

Found 235 reviews