Frontier Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Frontier Airlines Reviews

Updated 12 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Frontier Airlines President and CEO Barry Biffle
Barry Biffle
129 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flight Benefits with most US carriers that allow you to fly stand by on virtually every airline(in 90 reviews)

  • "Smaller airline, so more of a family feel with certain flight attendants(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, mediocre benefits package(in 36 reviews)

  • "low-cost carrier attracts difficult passengers(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (96)

    "I wouldn’t trade this job for anything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Frontier Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Flight Attendant union that protests our rights, our rest, settle our grievances and just landed us a new contract. - New Contract raised starting pay to 23.56 per flight hour and by the year 2022 the starting pay will be 25.50 per flight hour. - The ability to pick up trips outside of your assigned base(even as a reserve on your days off) -The ability to work as few as 50 hours a month once you get a line* -6 months maternity leave. - A rapidly growing main line airline that is hiring steadily and quickly, boosting your seniority by almost 80-100 Flight Attendants a month just about EVERY MONTH. -Flight Benefits with most US carriers that allow you to fly stand by on virtually every airline. -International flight benefits with a plethora of Airlines that kick in at 6 months. -No limits to the amount of time you must be with the company to switch bases. No limit to how frequently you can change bases. - Relatively easy job during normal day to day operations. All you have to do is communicate with your crew, do the duties required by your position on that day and be alert about things happening with passengers or the aircraft. -Nice hotels at the layovers and very strict test rules laid out in our contracts about how many hours we can work and how many days we can work in a row. -Extremely easy to manipulate your schedule to get specific days off. -Easy to pick trips up out of base on days off. - A smaller airline with most fellow flight attendants being very kind, cordial, and willing to help and explain things to you if you need it. This also means that you get to build friendships other with flight attendants and pilots because you will often fly with the same person every few months depending on the size of your base.

    Cons

    - Training is VERY quick paced and 95% is emergency, do-or-die, worst-case-scenario focused. By the time you graduate and get onto your first working trip you won’t know little things like which carts go where and where to find extra trash bags. They focus so much on feeding emergency knowledge that everything else has to be picked up while you work, which can be daunting for you first few flights depending on the routes. -As a flight attendant in Vegas you will not fly very much at all on your reserve days . They’ll use you a lot the first month or two but once new hires come in (every other week) you’re just sitting around bored or sitting airport standby for a majority of the month .

    Frontier Airlines2019-05-28
  2. "Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Frontier Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Various growth opportunities and career advancement.

    Cons

    Lacking in employee relations and diversity training.

    Continue reading
    Frontier Airlines2020-03-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "The Starting Line.....Definitely not the finish line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Denver, CO
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Frontier Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The flight benefits are cool if you can find time to use them.

    Cons

    Growth No growth opportunities at this time. The company is constantly trying to pinch a penny and in doing so create more work and definitely more problems. If your looking for a starting point, this is the place to start.... the bottom... the average retention rate is approximately 2 years or less. People are constantly moving and management holds off on hiring for as long as possible. There is not much help and definitely no defined way to do things. Management is kinda soft and easily pushed over. Due to the fact that the hire ups prefer to bring in outside help (specifically from southwest) because a lot of the top people are from Southwest so its like a fraternity. So management kinda looks like they are scared for their jobs. People have been let go or demoted just because the hire ups have someone else they would like to have the position....very scary.... Once you have your position and your salary set, that's it, its locked in, no moving. Except for maybe 3% yearly increase if your lucky. The managers decide how to divide the annual increase and they can cut you short. I've heard they get to keep what they don't give out so... If you come in and intend to stay in a specific position don't expect to move up unless you transfer departments. Like I said no growth. Work Atmosphere In a constantly changing atmosphere, a 24hr operation definitely takes it on some people. A lot of the positions here require you to work every day, weekends included, for operational support. The engineers are on call even after the work day ends, and weekends are included. PLUS they don't get compensated for it. The technical operations side could work for 7 days a week for 15 weeks out of the year and still only receive a salary based on 80hrs a week. The technical operations side of things is constantly changing and extremely fast paced and having to wake up at 3 a.m because someone cant read a manual is awful. Plus management doesn't enforce certain polices from department to department. For example, it's a policy that maintenance is supposed to fill out a form for requesting help from AOG or Engineering but in all my time here I don't ever think I've seen that form submitted, mostly because the form basically helps you solve the problem yourself but maintenance doesn't seem to care. There's not much support among the department due to the fact that its extremely under staffed so everyone is busy all the time and help is far from obtainable. Scheduling a meeting is like pulling teeth just trying to find the right time where everyone can be in attendance. Work Life Balance As stated above if you're in the position where you have to help support it is definitely not a good time. But....If you dont have that problem, then you're probably set. Benefits The flight benefits are with out a doubt the coolest thing about the job. However, If you don't have the time to use them and maybe only fly around once or twice a year they are worthless. If you're young, have no kids, have no pets, and have minimal to low student loans and can afford to stay somewhere then you can definitly make the most out of the flight benefits. As long as you like to travel anywhere in the continental united states, three places in Canada, and a few places in Mexico. If you need good health benefits, a nice 401k, and yearly bonuses.... find somewhere else to work. Seriously... not here. They only match up to 6% salary on 401k and there are no bonuses unless your upper management. The health care is as basic as it gets you have three options HDHP ($50-$80/pay check) , traditional PPO ($80-$120/pay check) , and Premium PPO (a lot/pay check). Vision is free and dental is free, but fees apply.

    Continue reading
    Frontier Airlines2020-03-12
  4. "Stable Airline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frontier Airlines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Top out is 18 years currently

    Continue reading
    Frontier Airlines2020-02-19
  5. "Good Company Good Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Frontier Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people interesting industry, good pay

    Cons

    There are no cons for this position.

    Frontier Airlines2020-02-06
  6. "Ultra Low Cost Carrier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Air Waitress 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Frontier Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a fast growing company.

    Cons

    The point system is unfair

    Frontier Airlines2020-01-30
  7. "Flight attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Frontier Airlines

    Pros

    Fun job just not for me

    Cons

    Not for me being away from home

    Continue reading
    Frontier Airlines2020-01-19
  8. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Interior Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Frontier Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay, fun co workers.

    Cons

    Rude customers, basic issues like computer not on.

    Frontier Airlines2020-01-18
  9. "Really had high hopes but,....the IT Department is pretty terrible to work in here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Frontier Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They don't seem to fire anyone. Some contractors are nice.

    Cons

    No one seems to care. No sense of urgency. Not a lot of creative people solving problems. No clear understanding of the architecture or code base. Everyone runs around looking busy in meetings, but solving none of the real issues. 401k doesn't even start to match for 1 year. Pay is lower for the industry.

    Continue reading
    Frontier Airlines2020-02-13
  10. "Best Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Frontier Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, great leadership and excellent CEO.

    Cons

    This company is not perfect, but in my long experience with other companies and industries, I'm positive that this company is the best by FAR.

    Continue reading
    Frontier Airlines2019-12-19
Found 471 reviews