G-Research Reviews

Updated 1 Apr 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Great work life balance, friendly people, interesting work(in 12 reviews)

  • "A weekend away every year paid for by the company packed with great food, wine and activities to get to know others in the business(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Working from home was previously restricted, will have to see how this is handled after the virus period(in 12 reviews)

  • "Historically the business had more stringent security measures, and some of the traces of that are still around(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Successful firm, great colleagues, maturing quickly

      4 Mar 2021 - Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are awesome. You're rarely the smartest in the room and they're genuinely nice people to have a drink with The problems we are solving are complex and as a firm they are always trying to push the envelope Compensation is top quartile Unlike other reviews here, I think the return to office was well managed. The firm see collaboration as important and wanted to maintain our strength of connection whilst we work remotely by asking for one day a week in the office. They put on transport and if you had concerns around it, it was fine to stay home. We have been fully WFH during lockdowns, unless you want to book a desk in flex space

      Cons

      I hope post-Covid we can retain the flexibility of remote working on occasions as some days you are simply more productive We've grown fast because we are highly ambitious - we are finding our feet as a larger firm and the growing pains associated with maturing can be tricky to navigate

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I feel I work for a company where I am a name not a no.

      15 Mar 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love the people / my team (cant wait to be able to go back in more regularly as I've been wfh since Mar 20 with some opps to go in 1 day a week when I could - which i really enjoyed) Good comp Its a company who moves very fast once it wants to implement something Bright/modern/spacious office layout with lots of tech/standing tables/mtg rooms etc Good social activities (even under current conditions) such as quizzes, mocktails, wine tasting, pizza/sushi making/ games/coffee mornings etc Fantastic amount of IT resources and I particularly like the slack channels they have set up so you get someone helping you quickly or have access to a large group to ask questions to

      Cons

      The only cons I have in the current environment are I miss seeing people f2f I am now spending a fortune on fizzy drinks now I am not in the office getting them for free!!

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It all started so well

      15 Feb 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great teams and staff with a fairly good sense of community and 'all being in the same boat' to a certain level. -Wide ranging technology stack with exposure to exciting and new software and infrastructure -Lower and Middle management have been some of the best I have worked with.

      Cons

      A return to office policy that can only be described as bizarre in the middle of a global pandemic and the country ploughing towards lockdown. Over the past year it feels as if the company has transitioned into a hugely authoritive organisation where it's the employee base vs the executive management team. The company has been hugely productive whilst being remote

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Pretty good

      27 Mar 2021 - Quant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, do some charity donations, good computing tools

      Cons

      Hierarchical, not much help for new starters, weird company setup

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work at

      28 Mar 2021 - Quantitative Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really smart people and great work culture

      Cons

      Not a lot on this front

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Bad COVID-19 response puts workers at risk

      27 Dec 2020 - Software Developer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary, interesting technology, good colleagues.

      Cons

      Senior management insists employees return to the office at least one day a week, even though London and the South East are at tier 4 in response to COVID-19. The company continue to ignore government guidelines on working from home whenever possible, even after employees prove they can work effectively from home. Senior leadership did not say why the decision to return to the office continues as the pandemic gets worse. Senior management is not doing anything to address people’s questions about COVID-19 or returning to the office. Senior management does not seem to care about the health of employees and their families. Senior management has created a culture of silence around the handling of COVID-19, concerns about the virus, and any objections to returning to the office. Avoid working at G-Research if you want to work for a reputable company that respects the health and well-being of its employees.

      Continue reading
      44 people found this review helpful

      G-Research Response

      Marketing Manager

      Thanks for your review. At G-Research, we value our ability to collaborate. In November, staff returned to our COVID-secure office for one day per week, to help them retain some of the benefits of in-person interactions while continuing to work remotely for the majority of the time. We keep this under constant review in line with Government guidance. We know that people have different concerns and personal circumstances and are working on a one-to-one basis to discuss individual situations and provide the right support. If you have any concerns, please reach out to your line manager or HR.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor COVID-19 Response

      5 Jan 2021 - Software Developer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The technology exposure is excellent, with the ability to have a healthy variety of work. Colleagues are fantastically smart and compensation is very competitive compared to similar companies in the industry.

      Cons

      The recent COVID-19 response has been poor, specifically the continued requirement causing the majority of staff to attend the office on a rota basis during Tier 4. While this is allowed due to technicalities it does not feel in the spirit of the guidance, nor appropriate for the situation in the country, when we are perfectly capable of carrying out our jobs in a WFH environment.

      Continue reading
      30 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Truly an amazing company to work for

      1 Mar 2021 - Senior Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Agility, Brilliant minds at work, No politics, Meritocratic and very fair employer

      Cons

      Working from home beyond a point seriously hampers collaboration and innovation. Cannot wait for the end of lock down to get back into work....

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      OK

      1 Apr 2021 - Engineering Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work, decent pay, lots of potential

      Cons

      Inflexible working patterns, cherry picking feedback and ignoring elephants in the room, change is often forced through by making life harder rather than on the merits of the change, benefits are skewed towards parents

      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Interesting projects and good exposure

      2 Feb 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, intelligent and passionate colleagues, interesting diversity in projects, middle management light-touch, supportive and communicative.

      Cons

      Communication from Senior management/ the executive management team could be improved.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 70 Reviews

    Popular Careers with G-Research Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Engineer I
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Engineer II
    Learn About the Job

    Work at G-Research? Share Your Experiences

    G-Research logo
    or