GQR Global Markets Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 10 Dec 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
GQR Global Markets CEO & Managing Director Steven Talbot (no image)
Steven Talbot
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "GQR is an elite business that allows individuals to grow in their career at a quick pace(in 43 reviews)

  • "Impressive commission structure with high earning potential(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours - this isn't a 9-5 which is normal in the industry(in 42 reviews)

  • "zero work life balance: hours are 8-7 but really, if you leave at 7, you're going to have a problem(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GQR Global Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has an excellent culture and employs great people. Learning & Development team are excellent and passionate about what they do. Earning Potential is huge.

    Cons

    Very typical for the industry, long hours, very target driven, fairly high pressure environment.

  2. Helpful (12)

    "Just another sweatshop"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at GQR Global Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are extremely fun to be around

    Cons

    Extremely long hours for very low pay, No professional development opportunities, Unless you are determined to be a recruiter, stay away!

    Continue reading

    GQR Global Markets Response

    July 22, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We certainly agree that GQR's employees are a fun bunch to be around. In regards to hours, to remain diverse and inclusive of the needs of our people and to best support, the markets and businesses we serve, each of our global offices maintain hours unique to them. However, we strongly champion the idea of working smarter, not harder – so hours may vary from person to person based on their ability to meet or exceed their targets. And, some individuals might feel the need to work outside regular office hours to achieve success. Furthermore, we have invested heavily in leadership training and development opportunities for our employees, resulting in an evolving 11-week program. Additionally, we hired a Head of Learning & Development with 13 years of experience to help expand and develop our various L&D programs. We hope that we have provided some clarity. If you are reading this review and feel you have further questions, please reach out to our talent acquisition team. https://www.gqrgm.com/people?specialism=Talent Acquisition


  3. Helpful (12)

    "Would not recommend"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at GQR Global Markets full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -fun people, fun happy hour parties -depends a lot of your manager- some are great/supportive and others will fire or drive away every employee they bring on

    Cons

    -the internal GQR hiring team pressures the current employees (especially new employees and high performers) to post positive glassdoor reviews so that the bad ones can be covered up/less prominent- so just be wary of that when reading the reviews on this page -very long hours, discouraged from leaving at actual day-end time (7PM) -constant turnover- most are in and out within a year-- a few have long tenure, but they are the exception, not the rule; significantly higher turnover than the average for a recruitment agency or sales role-- there is constant fear of being fired or being put on warning for not performing -heavy drinking culture -interview process is long, but they are not selective- will basically take anyone with a decent education background -lots of office politics/ favoritism -low base salary, bonuses that are not achievable -very tedious job-- phone based, lots of cold calling-- office based, but still do not allow casual dress

    GQR Global Markets Response

    December 17, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. We’d like to highlight that the official office hours for New York are from 8 AM to 6 PM. We offer competitive opportunities at GQR and find that the people who realize the greatest success do not confine themselves to designated office hours. Regarding our culture, we’re always looking for ways to improve and would like to discuss this directly with you. Please reach out to our New York Office Matthew Kent if you are open to it. Regarding your narrative around GQR “Pressuring Current Employees To Leave Glassdoor Review,” we’d like to stress that we do not have the resources or time, in truth, to dedicate to this. We certainly champion feedback – positive and constructive and would not prohibit anyone from sharing their authentic experience. It is a Glassdoor best practice to remind our people that the platform exists, but again, we would never solicit anyone to write a positive review. In regards to compensation, we feel it’s important to stress that you are embarking on a career path when you join our team. We offer exceptional exposure, long-term development and the opportunity for high earnings to those who approach the role with drive and who are opportunistic. If you are looking for a comfortable base, we agree that GQR might not be the best fit for you. If you are looking for the chance to operate autonomously with an uncapped commission structure, GQR most definitely is the place for you. We offer several communication channels – anonymous and open – that we regularly encourage our people to use to solidify our commitment to transparency in the workplace. We can, and do, escalate issues from our feedback channel directly to leadership. We hope that we have provided some clarity. If you are reading this review and feel you have further questions, please reach out to our talent acquisition team. https://www.gqrgm.com/people?specialism=Talent Acquisition

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Tough, but rewarding."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in London, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GQR Global Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have complete control over your business. This comes with huge challenges but by the time you build your business you will learnt 10x what you will learn anywhere else. Huge earning potential. Intelligent and ambitious individuals that are always willing to teach and support 1:1 relationship with Directors Jetsets to global offices and incentives like an all expenses paid trip to Vietnam If you make it through here, you will excel anywhere else in a recruitment capacity.

    Cons

    Long hours but it takes what it takes to build your business. Imagine it as your own start-up. Recruitment has a high turn over. We’ve lost some good contributors to the business but they had been with the business for 3 / 4 years. If you don’t investigate the space you are targeting right you can shoot yourself in the foot. Some people come in with huge ambitions to build out a new market (no one will stop you) and it falls flat on it’s face. Do your homework or join an existing team with an existing market, then spin out to a new market.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Company Review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Specialist in Marina del Rey, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GQR Global Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Sky is the limit -Start-up feel -Employee engagement and activities

    Cons

    -Long hours -Highly pressured atmosphere - a stress inducing work environment

    Continue reading

    GQR Global Markets Response

    December 17, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We certainly agree with you that "Sky is the limit" here at GQR, and is a direct correlation to our value: Ambition, Accountability and Adventure. We're also happy to hear that you enjoyed our work culture engagement activities. Our hours are 8 AM to 5:30 PM. We have made it a strict policy not to require anyone to work beyond designated office hours. However, accountability is a core value of our organization. Some people may feel the need to work outside regular hours for personal reasons with the determination to realize their own ideas of success and understanding of the business.Again, we thank you for your feedback and hope that we have provided some clarity on our culture and methodologies.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GQR Global Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I came here as a grad, I had no clue what I was doing but the Talent Development and training I received got me on track, I had a taught start but my colleagues were supportive, we are all a bunch of young ambitious people. Sometimes it can be hard when things are going badly and you get caught out, the other day I was asked what my life motivation was, what drives me to work my way up. Yes you are put on the spot and yes it may be uncomfortable, but the simple fact that senior management asks these questions to a grad shows deep care for the development of their teams. I have seen people make very large sums - the commission structure is second to none - if you are good I still haven't seen a place where you can earn more over such a small period of time, You get a lot of say in building your strategy - your way of doing things - your vision - build your business Crazy growth curve Small and tight team spirit A room full of driven individuals which I have learnt a lot from.

    Cons

    Long hours - this isn't a 9-5 which is normal in the industry High pressure - it can get stressful KPI's can drive you crazy - it's a sales job Can be hard to have a social life on weekdays when starting Starting at 8 am - although this may just be my circadian rhythm

    Continue reading

    GQR Global Markets Response

    October 15, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that our Learning & Development team got you on track when you first started here at GQR and that our ambitious group of people we're able to help get you there as well! We understand that the hours can be long, we strive to foster an environment that is diverse and inclusive of the needs of our people while also considering the markets and organisations we support. To achieve this, we maintain office hours unique to each of our global offices. For the London office, our hours are in fact 8 AM to 6:30 PM. However, we strongly champion the idea of working smarter, not harder – so hours may vary from person to person based on their ability to meet or exceed their targets. And, some individuals might feel the need to work outside regular office hours to achieve success – and we would not deter anyone from realising this. We wish you continued success at GQR! If you have any further questions please feel free to reach out to our TA team https://www.gqrgm.com/people?specialism=Talent Acquisition

  7. Helpful (8)

    "Great company for young professionals!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GQR Global Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Meritocracy -Visibility to leadership -Learning and Development throughout your entire career no matter your level of experience -Opportunity to interact with executives from top global and national organizations -Yearly and quarterly incentive trips -Great compensation structure - high uncapped commission compared to other companies such as Michael Page, Aerotek, etc

    Cons

    -Growing company: operational struggles -High Turnover (normal in the industry) -Long Hours -Very high expectations for performance

    Continue reading

    GQR Global Markets Response

    September 16, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your review! We truly appreciate your honesty and the time it took to share your authentic experience.

  8. Helpful (4)

    "It is not for everyone"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Analyst in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at GQR Global Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A meritocratic system, great people, amazing office culture, great incentives

    Cons

    Long hours, low base pay to start

    Continue reading

    GQR Global Markets Response

    October 9, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Firstly, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We certainly agree with you that GQR is not for everyone, but if you're looking to working autonomously, be challenged, global exposure, office culture and surrounded by people that only want you to do your best, then GQR is most definitely the place for you!

  9. Helpful (8)

    "Amazing place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Life Sciences in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GQR Global Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -The company truly values each employee -Receptive to feedback and change -Incredible compensation -Great visibility and autonomy -Great work/life balance after year 1 -Transparent promotional guidelines and growth trajectory -A highly strategic organization with stellar leadership

    Cons

    -It's a high performing sales environment and not for everyone. (not a con) -Long hours can make work/life balance difficult for new recruiters (you should want to sacrifice this during your first year so you can absorb and develop!)

    Continue reading

    GQR Global Markets Response

    September 16, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your review! We truly appreciate your honesty and the time it took to share your authentic experience.

  10. Helpful (7)

    "Avoid at all costs"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GQR Global Markets full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I literally can’t think of any pros!

    Cons

    Childish environment, arrogant bunch who are sexist, inappropriate and unpleasant to work with. Very long hours and not very good pay. Awful training and extremely poor support system in place

    Continue reading

    GQR Global Markets Response

    August 19, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a candid review. We are committed to creating a comfortable and transparent workplace. And, we are proud of the culture we have built as well as our commitment to further invest in our people, platform and processes to promote collaboration, specialisation and globalisation. We value and consider all feedback and we will continue to find ways to improve. To specifically address the elements of your review, please read on. Hours: We strive to foster an environment that is diverse and inclusive of the needs of our people while also considering the markets and organisations we support. To achieve this, we maintain office hours unique to each of our global offices. For the London office, our hours are in fact 8 AM to 6:30 PM. However, we strongly champion the idea of working smarter, not harder – so hours may vary from person to person based on their ability to meet or exceed their targets. And, some individuals might feel the need to work outside regular office hours to achieve success – and we would not deter anyone from realising this Compensation: We feel it’s important to stress that you are embarking on a career path when you join our team. We offer exceptional exposure, long-term development and the opportunity for high earnings to those who approach the role with drive and who are opportunistic. If you are looking for a comfortable base, we agree that GQR might not be the best fit for you. If you are looking for the chance to operate autonomously with an uncapped commission structure, GQR most definitely is the place for you. Training Program: The L&D Foundation Program is designed to set every employee up for success regardless of experience or prior knowledge of staffing and recruiting businesses and processes. If this was not your experience, we invite you to share your feedback through our internal feedback channel – this can be open or anonymous depending on your preference. Additionally, we recently hired a Head of Learning & Development with 12 years of experience to help expand and develop our L&D training program and team. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that we have provided some clarity on our culture and methodologies. . If you are reading this review and feel you have further questions, we encourage you to please contact one of our talent acquisition specialists. https://www.gqrgm.com/people?specialism=Talent%20Acquisition

Viewing 1 - 10 of 42 English Reviews