Gap Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Gap Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 175 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
54 Ratings
  1. "Overall Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Sick pay and Vacation.

    Cons

    Company lacks consistency in role structure and clarity.

    Advice to Management

    Make clearer decisions regarding big changes on a store level and ensure enough training and time is provided to help those changes along.

    Gap2019-06-07
  2. "Review of job satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in New York, NY

      I worked at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Fun, lots of great clothing, happy customers

      Cons

      Lots of work, low pay

      Gap2019-05-22
    • "Has gone downhill....:"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      great employees, benefits and PTO time

      Cons

      - No payroll, way high of expectations and no time/hours to complete - Restructuring eliminated a lot of talented, loyal people - Pay scale isn’t fair , employees who have been with the company a long time are being paid less than new hires with minimal experience - Product allocation is poor. Don’t send stores more product than we can hold , or product we already have way too much of.

      Advice to Management

      Everything has been very disorganized as of lately . It has become a very stressful and negative environment. Please value your employees and their hard work.

      Gap2019-05-11

      Gap Response

      May 23, 2019Company Representative

      We are sorry to hear about your experience on our team. We read all of these reviews and take your feedback to heart. We share comments like yours with relevant teams who are working hard to promote positive change across the company.

    • Helpful (1)

      "CULT Mentality"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Not a single pro about this company.

      Cons

      1. Our Store Managers didn't do anything. They would pass everything off to the assistants and sit in the office on their phones talking to other store managers or pretending to do "office work". Many of them are in their positions only due to seniority and not because they are actually qualified or inspiring leaders. 2. Whoever is allocating labour hours given to stores to run is delusional. You never get enough hours...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Every time we had a visit from corporate, the stores would get funded MAJOR extra hours to make themselves look PERFECT. This is the biggest mistake. When upper level management would come to our stores and see these perfectly folded, overly staffed almost magazine looking stores they weren't getting the REAL day to day experience their customers do. If you want to see what your stores REALLY look like, come...

      Show More
      Gap2019-05-25

      Gap Response

      June 18, 2019Company Representative

      We are disappointed to hear this and appreciate your thorough and thoughtful feedback. We take your comments to heart and will share your concerns with relevant teams who are working to promote positive change across the organization.

    • "Frustrating"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Lafayette, LA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Loved the atmosphere and the people that work there.

      Cons

      Corporate has no idea what they’re doing. They’re changing things all the time without giving the change time to work.

      Gap2019-03-27

      Gap Response

      April 4, 2019Company Representative

      Thank you for sharing your experience. We read all of these reviews and will keep your feedback in mind as we work to drive positive change across the company.

    • Helpful (2)

      "Started out good, but the way it’s headed . . ."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I enjoyed my coworkers, learning about visuals and merchandising, the discount, and some of the product.

      Cons

      The company doesn’t understand who it’s trying to target, the restructure was awful, and upper management is a joke. The amount of checklists and ridiculous expectations is a joke. No work-life balance when managers don’t care.

      Advice to Management

      Learn who your customer is. Upper management doesn’t need to micromanage so much, and the constant emails don’t make sense when you’re supposed to be on the floor. They keep instituting stupid processes that are supposed to streamline things, but actually just bog the employees down.

      Gap2019-03-04

      Gap Response

      March 18, 2019Company Representative

      We are disappointed to hear this. We share feedback like this with relevant teams that are working to drive positive change for all employees across the company. We appreciate that you took the time to post your thoughtful review.

    • "Company does not value hard working employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gap full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Clothing discount between brands, health care and benefits are great.

      Cons

      Over worked. No lack of leadership when it comes to general manager.

      Gap2019-03-28

      Gap Response

      April 4, 2019Company Representative

      We appreciate your feedback and are disappointed to hear about your experience. We will keep these points in mind as we continue our work to improve the experience for all employees across the company.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Decent place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gap full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good benefits and vacation time Easy work just crazy schedule because it is retail.

      Cons

      The schedule wasn’t great but that’s any retail job

      Gap2019-02-13

      Gap Response

      February 26, 2019Company Representative

      We know there are things outside the office important to our employees and we're proud to offer a variety of benefits. We're so glad you listed this as a pro!

    • Helpful (1)

      "Gap"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Gap part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Co-workers can be friendly and fun to work with. Many of the tasks are quick to figure out

      Cons

      Training can be poor. Lack of communication between regional managers and store managers. Added stress from needing to get others to open gap card

      Gap2019-02-07

      Gap Response

      February 26, 2019Company Representative

      We believe in setting all our employees up for success. We take this feedback to heart and are committed to offering plenty of resources to employers to help them improve their skills, regardless of the category they're in.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Personal Experience was Great due to Amazing coworkers/Leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Oshkosh, WI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Relaxed environment, advancing employment opportunities, great coworkers

      Cons

      direction and execution was not always clear from higher management

      Gap2019-01-06

      Gap Response

      January 10, 2019Company Representative

      We love to see you note our career growth opportunities as pros! We are fully committed to the professional development of our employees and are happy to see you experience has reflected this. Thank you for leaving a review.

    Found 175 reviews