Gap Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Gap Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
59 Ratings
  1. "U"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Money, some health benefits

    Cons

    Work life balance, expectations too high given resources and time, not enough training given to new employees

    Advice to Management

    Company has changed for worse, don't treat people like they used to

    Gap2019-11-05
  2. "Just ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Brand Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time

    Pros

    I love the clothes and brand.

    Cons

    Hard to hit unreachable goals.

    Advice to Management

    Stay positive!

    Gap2019-10-12
  3. "A circus with no help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was ok to start

    Cons

    No help from higher up with. Unreasonable deadlines and deliverables.

    Advice to Management

    Support your first line employees

    Gap2019-10-10
  4. "Horrible place. Don’t do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Allen Park, MI
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was decent. That’s about it.

    Cons

    Barely trains. Staff was horrible. Non stop gossiping. Manager that was supposed to be training me was too annoyed to actually train. Her and others there would talk bad about everyone else. Turn over has been horrible. This is why they can’t keep an assistant. Store was messy, tried sweeping up since they haven’t trained me to do much else and she said to save that for that cashiers yet the cashiers didn’t sweep... either. I’d just run far from this place. Or at least this location.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring young kids, stop hiring friends, add some guys to break up the drama.

    Gap2019-11-07
  5. "More like 2.5 stars than 3 stars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working culture is okay. People are usually friendly, they value teamwork. You get an employee discount and if you have a spouse or a common-law partner, they get their own discount card as well. Tech support line is always there and they are usually very knowledgeable.

    Cons

    Yes, you get employee discount but often time it's same as the sale price anyways or even worse than just buying things as a customer so it's not really a perk. The upper management team is not willing to accept the truth; that their products(fit, design, quality)suck, overall. Why launch 1000 new products every season if you are going to end up selling it at -40% + -50% price?? Why not make less and invest some... money for higher quality? Endless extra xx% off sale, 45 days for refund, "Do whatever to make the customer happy" attitude but managers take all the blames for higher return rates and lower margins. Fair enough. Endless lists of meaningless meetings for managers and the store is always short-handed. No clear direction from the upper management team results in way too casual work culture & no respect from the employees

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The whole company is splitting anyways and Gap is a sinking ship anyway but please make any reason for people to go to the Gap store and shop there because I would shop online or elsewhere rather than paying $100 for Gap jeans.

    Gap2019-09-29
  6. "Pretty Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fun environment, great team mates, awesome benefits and discounts

    Cons

    Too much pressure to sell credit cards. The better you are at selling them, the more hours you get

    Gap2019-09-06
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager 

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I loved my time at the gap. The company has a great culture. From volunteering to throwing events for the customer we had fun other than just selling jeans. I was able to move around a lot and create some great exposure for myself.

    Cons

    Hard to make work/life balance work for yourself. Schedule was all over the place. And days were long.

    Gap2019-08-03
  8. "Fun but not a career..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The atmosphere is fun and customers love to spend money!

    Cons

    Sales and loyalty are pushed daily by upper management.

    Gap2019-08-16
  9. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people, pay, variety of jobs to do and learn

    Cons

    Weekends and holidays (any retail job tho)

    Gap2019-07-26
  10. "The Present Gap Inc."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Discount at Gap, Gap Outlet, Old Navy, Old Navy, (at the moment, until they split from Gap. About a year away) Banana Republic, Banana Republic Outlet. Sometimes (depending on manager) you are able to be flexible with your schedule.

    Cons

    Long hours, unrealistic goals, large workloads, understaffed, low level communication. Never good enough.

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic. Give realistic goals, be more transparent, communicate with all, and listen to the employees. If it says you have an open door policy, let’s actually have one. Do not make promises you can not, or will not be keeping. Smile sometimes.

    Gap2019-07-11
Found 187 reviews