Gap Customer Experience Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Gap Customer Experience Manager Reviews

Updated 3 Aug 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
27%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience. Not enough recognition."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Customer Experience Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Having the opportunity to make a change for the company. Being able to grow from a sales associate into a management position within the company.

    Cons

    Poorly screened sales associates. Lack of motivation, enthusiasm and value for the gap brand. Customers not appreciating the company. Poorly trained new hires.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize the value of managers who do the work instead of the time managers have been there. Unreasonable expectations of when to get projects done.

    Gap2017-08-03
  2. "Base level team experience is usually good, but its clear higher management doesn't care much for your time or effort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Customer Experience Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are fair, as its retail life work balance depends on the individual store, if you are passionate about charitable work the company is very supportive

    Cons

    The daily workload can vary widely, you may be putting a promotion out just to change it the next day and then again the day after which can happen every week, pay doesn't match work and effort

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees time better, being dynamic doesn't mean changing at the drop of a hat, some review of your discount policy is warranted

    Gap2017-07-02
  3. "don't throw away great potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Customer Experience Manager in Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The employee discount is wonderful! Best denim in the business (I'll always be biased). Gap really does give you the operational experience that you'll use your entire career in retail. I can't sing the phrases of their operational standards enough! I am detail oriented so the mandatory equalizing audits and fair scheduling practices were something I totally jived with.

    Cons

    The store manager in my particular location was very lazy within her role - and the store suffered for it. Although knowledgeable and tenured, the store productivity and sales dwindled due to her office based leadership. My experience in retail before this had been an "all hands on deck" team mentality - GAP changed that and made me realize that leaders can sometimes be impactful in super negative way. I was in... an under-performing store sales wise that had been a remodel / condensation during their time of rapid closures. This location had been taken from being a stand alone kids / baby store to integrating the adult store into it. They did not change the fixtures or refresh the interior before making this change. Children's fixtures do not support adult merchandise. It felt like we were a throw away for the company. At the time of the integration, they did not allow payroll to support a real all store meeting to aid in blending and training of the two staffs that merged into the one. So essentially I had two confused staffs, product that was unplaceable, and frustrated customers who didn't understand our lack of merchandise and training. I was able to maintain our payroll and credit card standards during my year with gap and increase training and productivity - but there's only so much that you can do with the limited resources thrown forward by the company and your General Manager. I thought that during my time there I would be training the staff on advanced outfitting and styling, but instead I was...teaching them it's mandatory to say "hello" to people walking through the door...? Yikes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice to store management at this location - leave your office. Really work on that sales floor! Our job as leaders is to be the pulse of our store and keep motivation and productivity at a 10. The customers want our help, and the employees deserve our loyalty. Without them, we have nothing. Advice to corporate - when you do these closures / condense stores --- really invest in making the teams and locations... stronger. They should be given a fair chance. Imagine your favorite store merges with its counterpart, you go in and nothing's the same. The employees are confused and checked out, the displays are messy and less impactful. You're going to leave. Stores are already suffering from online sales - now we don't even stand a fair chance in the market because there's Zero investment in your merged locations.

    Show More
    Gap2017-05-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of good, some small changes could help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Customer Experience Manager in Madison, WI

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits for full time employees, great discount at multiple Gap Inc brands+ some good community discounts. Really fantastic people (but that's obviously dependent on location).

    Cons

    Full time employee pay is average (didn't improve with the company wide minimum wage increase), and raises are laughable. High turnover in certain stores. Promotional changes a aren't always well communicated to stores.

    Gap2016-09-14
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good company that maybe has lost it's way.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Customer Experience Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap

    Pros

    They value work life balance, competitive wages if you are in the metro area. Strong company values, Working with a peer group that is hard working and can maneuver change quickly. Best retail company I have ever worked for,

    Cons

    Company is in a transition period that makes running a store tuff due to conflicting information\ direction. Corporate does not seem to relate to field issues at times. Payroll was always an issue...never enough to produce the results we needed to deliver. Probably the same issues most retailers are having right now.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your customers and the leaders in the field. Online is killing the in store market so listen to customers and give them the product that they want...i.e. Basics Not to date myself but Gap use to be all about Jeans, T's and Khakis...What happened?

    Gap2016-06-19
  6. "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Customer Experience Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people...i made some great friends over the years

    Cons

    Very militant style, praise for punishing people not for successes, no work life balance, under paying in industry

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your employees and you won't have such high turn over!

    Gap2016-04-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Customer experience manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time

    Pros

    Works with some really awesome people who will remain lifelong friends.

    Cons

    Do more with less attitude. Payroll was on a sharp downward spiral while workload was on a sharp upward spiral. It was also a glass ceiling. They claim they promote from within, however they consistently hire from outside the company. They find every reason not to promote.

    Advice to Management

    More field support with realistic workload expectations.

    Gap2015-12-29
  8. "Typical Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Customer Experience Manager in DeWitt, MI

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great employee discount at not only Gap but Old Navy and Banana Republic. Tuition reimbursement for Full-time employees.

    Cons

    Hours are always rough especially near the holidays, raises are very small even if you get a good teview, corporate cares more about credit cards than customers.

    Advice to Management

    Take more time to develop emoployees. Invest in a good training standard and stick with it.

    Gap2015-12-31
  9. "Customer Experience Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Experience Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Career progression is very limited

    Gap2015-11-13
  10. "Assistant General Mgr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, Initial onboarding is amazing ! You leave excited to start. They ensure I started right in time to get my health benefits.

    Cons

    Everything else... The company is is shambles. They are cutting position, losing key players and is being kept a float by its lower level retailer. The company is constantly on sale and keeps no integrity to full price! It time to either embrace a pricing model that is reflective of lower pricing or let your product sale it self.

    Gap2015-11-17
Found 38 reviews