Gap General Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for General Manager

Gap General Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
33 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager 

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I loved my time at the gap. The company has a great culture. From volunteering to throwing events for the customer we had fun other than just selling jeans. I was able to move around a lot and create some great exposure for myself.

    Cons

    Hard to make work/life balance work for yourself. Schedule was all over the place. And days were long.

    Gap2019-08-03
  2. "Tough place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Product is good, closing stores that are under performing

    Cons

    Credit card push, running out of basics, not understanding their markets. Cold weather is not the same everywhere

    Advice to Management

    If you constantly push something in a market you will lose customers with the high pressure. Produce quality products and allow people to see them.

    Gap2019-08-02
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Selinsgrove, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary, scheduling, people, product, and values

    Cons

    Work/life balance, leadership, management/employee retention

    Gap2019-07-22

    Gap Response

    August 8, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. We care deeply about the well-being of our employees, both in and out of the workplace. We share comments like yours as we continue to improve the employee experience for all.

  4. "Good company...fast paced...competing priorities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    work environment, benefits, people, top specialty retailer

    Cons

    downsizing, competing priorities, Old Navy splitting off

    Advice to Management

    simplify work and be less reactive

    Gap2019-05-21
  5. "Stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Destin, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Career growth -Nice clothes -4 weeks vacation

    Cons

    -Poor organization -zero resources to accomplish goals and expectations. -no work life balance - associates make very little money. Hard to retain staff -very old stores and fixtures. Corporate will not fix them. -goals and expectations are enormous -company has abandon gap and only focuses on the other brands. -0 recognition

    Advice to Management

    Listen.......... just listen

    Gap2019-05-31

    Gap Response

    June 18, 2019Company Representative

    We appreciate hearing feedback about your employee experience. We read all of these reviews and take your comments to heart. We are constantly working to improve the employee experience across the company and will share your concerns with relevant teams.

  6. "Feeling Underwhelmed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits , Experience , Growth, Discount

    Cons

    It’s really demotivating that we are the parent brand of Gap Inc and receive the least of everything. The GMs don’t even get celebrated with a GM conference like all of our sister brands.

    Advice to Management

    I don’t know. Do Better. A fun brand turned boring, for both the customer and the staff.

    Gap2019-04-10
  7. "over train"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    training, structure, teamwork, great clothes

    Cons

    hard to grow, company is changing their entire structure, no job security

    Gap2019-03-25
  8. "leader Of others fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits Flexible Culture Advancement Lots of room to grow

    Cons

    Changing environment Lack of payroll Expectations More with less

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees Stop cutting payroll

    Gap2019-02-18

    Gap Response

    February 26, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for your 10+ years of hard work on our team! We appreciate your feedback and will keep these points in mind as we continue our work to improve the employee experience across the company.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employees I hired for my store PTO

    Cons

    Never enough hours Stores closing down constantly Human Resources is good for nothing Product is dull

    Advice to Management

    Better training for human resource managers More payroll to keep store in order for the customer

    Gap2018-12-06

    Gap Response

    December 21, 2018Company Representative

    We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear about your experience. We are constantly working to improve how we staff our stores and are committed to providing ongoing training to help improve our teams across the organization.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible company to work for. No organization and treats people like a number."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great! The company is composed of hard working driven people. Gap is an iconic brand with great products.

    Cons

    Constant warehouse issues, workload on team is unorganized and frantic, focus is more on the bottom line than people. Senior leadership is so disconnected from reality and opposed to making meaningful changes.

    Advice to Management

    Refocus your effort to be more efficient! Changes need to happen faster with technology and there needs to be a effort to take away tasks from store team instead of constantly adding more. Your people are undervalued and overworked. You will continue to loose people because they are not a focus at all.

    Gap2018-12-05

    Gap Response

    December 21, 2018Company Representative

    Thanks for taking time to share your feedback. We believe in setting all of our employees up for success, whether they work in-store, at HQ, at a distribution center, or anywhere else in our organization. We take this feedback to heart and are committed to offering plenty of resources ...

    Show More
Found 84 reviews